Michaels Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Michaels President and CEO Ashley Buchanan
Ashley Buchanan
248 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee discount friendly staff great management(in 412 reviews)

  • "Regular customers because of craft supplies(in 208 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "flexible hours" even though you'll be hired on as part time and work a 45(in 237 reviews)

  • "Customers cry about coupons all day long(in 181 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Michaels and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Happy People

      Mar 29, 2021 - Store Manager in White Marsh, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment and people! Compensation is very fair

      Cons

      Payroll hours are very low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing First Job

      Apr 27, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing coworkers and managers. I know this will vary location to location, but I had a very good experience - Was allowed to go learn the floor once I became proficient on the cash register. - There is actually room to move up to management within your store. While the store manager changes happened on a corporate level, all the other managers at my store have been promotions of people who already work in the building. So if you stick around long enough you can move into a part time position.

      Cons

      - You don't have any support or authority. The only thing you can do is call your manager, who has about as much support and authority as you do in terms of dealing with a rude customer. They just have the override codes and means to make the register do whatever the customer wants, which happens 9/10 times - Pay. I found out about a year and a half into working that I was making a solid $0.50 less per hour than my coworkers. This hurt because I have been one of the better employees. Make sure you negotiate your salary well upfront when you fill out the application.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working on register and floor

      Apr 29, 2021 - Sales Associate in Clifton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get a good 30% discount on all items excluding clearance and great buy items . You can michaels benefits off the website and buy asking a store manager. You get to choose your availability and they only schedule you according to that time. Good starting job because they hire 16 +. My coworkers at my store are like family to me everyone is nice to work with.

      Cons

      It always super busy at my store and it gets stressful having to work super fast and customers being rude a majority of the time. You also don't get promoted very often. The most you'll get is lead cashier and maybe manager if one leaves. My store in particular is always a mess because of customers. No matter how hard you try to put things away neatly; in 5 mins it will be a mess again. Also there is no security and the break room isn't that nice .

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job, cheap company

      Apr 25, 2021 - Customer Experience Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment, interesting customers, lots to learn, good managers, cool stuff, new hobbies.

      Cons

      My job is to raise certain metrics- one being our “availability of assistance” score on the survey. I thought when I was hired, it meant I would be training our associates on how to help customers better. Well, we don’t actually get associates to work with very often. Typically it is myself on the floor if we are having a slow day, if not I’m stuck ringing people up. It’s clear as day based on the other metrics on the survey (that for some reason don’t matter) that we are performing well at our jobs, but the company doesn’t want to spend money on paying people to work so they hire an entire manager to come up with ways to convince people that they were assisted without actually being available to assist. Customers aren’t dumb. They know that if I am the only person on the floor, and I’m stuck ringing up a line of people at the register, that if I scream the word “assist” at them that doesn’t mean I was available to help. Just give us more people. The last place I was a manager at made half of our sales plan with three times the amount of people paid at higher wages.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t come unless your don’t have other choices.

      Apr 5, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Most of the engineers here are smart. You could learn a lot from them. 2. You could learn a lot given that you have to wear so many hats. 3. You got a lot of say on the tech stack you’re using, cause the management don’t care about tech.

      Cons

      1. CIO is an absolute dictator on how every single product should look or feel. He pretty much micro-managed every team and thought everyone was stupid other than himself. 2. All the existing managers are bootlickers to the CIO. Whoever dare to say no to the CIO either left the company or being isolated from touching any projects. 3. Some of the tech managers don’t even understand the technology needed to build the product. All they will ask is - can you do it and how fast can you get it done? When it comes to meeting, due to not knowing the tech, they sometimes throw you under the bus because they want to make sure their job is secure. 4. No process, no test and no documentation. You’re on your own if you don’t make friends. 5. Things change everyday. There is no set requirement whatsoever. All your hard work is nothing if the CIO doesn’t like it. 6. If they bring up a new requirement today, they expect you to finish it tomorrow. Deadline? There is no deadline, cause you’re supposed to work 24*7. 7. Extremely stressful work atmosphere all the time. CIO will openly embarrass you if you are a nay sayer.

      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good starter job for entering the work force

      Apr 7, 2021 - Customer Service Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to learn, great if you love artistic people

      Cons

      Low pay and not so great benefits. In a manager position you make about $13, but they expect a lot of you with virtually no time to do it, nor the manpower needed to finish the tasks. Because payroll is so tight. For the same amount of work, I was making $18/hr at a different retail store with better benefits, a better discount, and enough teammates to be able to satisfy customer needs while completing tasks. Lots of back and fourth between store managers and corporate and they can’t seem to get on the same page. Promises flexibility when it comes to your schedule but there isn’t really any at all.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Avoid at all costs until the current CEO & CIO are GONE

      May 5, 2021 - Anonymous IT Drone in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work is done indoors - Something to put on your resume

      Cons

      - New leadership has a complete lack of ethics & morals - CEO / CIO have ruined I.T. ( overall company culture has been completely destroyed ) - NO work life balance, expected to be on call and available 24/7 - HUGE exodus in all areas of I.T. that resulted in massive knowledge gaps - Highly experienced and very knowledgeable offshore development teams were replaced by an offshore team in China who appear to have NO experience with retail systems or basic retail concepts. - No communication between the stores, business and IT - No real organizational structure except on paper; everyday is just chaos and fear you will be next to be let go. - Very high turn-over

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 15, 2021 - Sales Associate in Carthage, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The positive workplace environment contributes to putting customers and employees in a great mood. - Good communication from managers to employees of goals and accountability made the workplace even more ideal, not only for store growth but for individual growth as well. - The varying positions, working on the floor or at the counter, made it easy for employees to direct customers to the items requested.

      Cons

      For a couple weeks, following a holiday reorganization of the store, I was placed at the registers and not knowing where things were placed led to a dependability on other team members to help with customer support which made things difficult. Although this may not have happened in most cases. Other than one instance, I couldn't find any problems or cons. It's a really great place to work!

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The environment is nice. My manager was fantastic

      May 7, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think it depends on the store you're at. My coworkers honestly keep me working here.

      Cons

      Pay is the worst part. I work full time hours and get no benefits. I can't get insurance or anything for me and my daughter. She needs braces bad and can't get them. The pressure you get from above as well. They expect so much and pay so poorly. You also have to do everything in your power to say yes to the customers. So many Karen's being smug

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Run away

      Apr 3, 2021 - Software Engineer in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The salary is pretty competitive

      Cons

      - Horrible WLB - They hired a bunch of engineers in China to take advantage of their 996 culture (working from 9 am to 9 pm 6 days a week) and cheap labor. This culture is taking over the technology department at Michaels. - Ridiculous deadlines with ambiguous requests. After each deadline upper management promised that the WLB would be better and processes would be put into place, but they were all lies. - No such thing as being on a team with a manager, product manager and a few engineers using Agile methodologies. You are just thrown at a project and told to code. - Upper management does not understand the importance of proper planning and architecting solutions before implementation. It is all about getting things done as quickly as possible so that upper management can look good and deliver on promises they made to demo the product. - Daily meetings to demo our work and progress to upper management and the CIO. The level of micro-management is insane. There were some weeks where we had to be on a zoom call all day while working so upper management could "see progress".

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,045 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Michaels Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Michaels? Share Your Experiences

    or