Mid-Continent Public Library Reviews | Glassdoor

Mid-Continent Public Library Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Mid-Continent Public Library Library Director and CEO Steven Potter (no image)
Steven Potter
7 Ratings
  1. "Library Page"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library

    Pros

    My co-workers were friendly and helped me out a lot as this was my first job in the field.

    Cons

    Adjusting to different shift schedules

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-11-15
  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSAII in Independence, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team to work with, feels like family

    Cons

    Feel like Headquarters does not care seeing as when it snows they get released hours before because it is not safe but all the branches must stay open. They also appear to be doing away with full-time and thus putting too much responsibilities on part-time who are not there to handle those responsibilities effectively.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-11-18
  3. "Great Part-Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Part-Time Customer Service Associate I 

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time

    Pros

    great coworkers, good training with many required and optional training opportunities, helpful management, many resources for continued job learning

    Cons

    unable to make part-time schedule work with full-time job due to library hours on weekdays

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-08-01
  4. "not good for pages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Page 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, decent pay, nice people

    Cons

    disrespected the pages, got looked down on and punished for what other employees considered thriving

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-05-05
  5. "I liked the people but no advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I liked the coworkers for the most part. Management was kind.

    Cons

    They never promoted from within. Some favoritism occurred.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-04-30
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    excellent PTO for full-time employees and great benefits

    Cons

    I don't have any to share

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-04-09
  7. "A great, low stress job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page in Lees Summit, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was the first job I had and while it was just a part time, entry level job I kept through college, I really loved it. I remember in high school, my friends all telling me their horror stories from their jobs in fast food places or retail and I really wanted to avoid that. Working at the library was so nice. The work was easy and the people were really great, the hours were flexible and overall it was a great work environment that I would highly recommend.

    Cons

    If you get numbers or letters mixed up easily, or you don't like repetitive tasks like shelving books, this might not be the job for you.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-03-04
  8. "Great job with limited opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Access Specialist II in Grandview, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, pretty fantastic collection, overall positive workplace culture, especially at my former branch. The pay is fairly decent, and you don’t need an MLIS to work here.

    Cons

    Smaller branches find themselves ignored in favor of bigger, more popular branches in more affluent areas when it comes to receiving updates to infrastructure, staff, materials, etc. Not many opportunities for advancement. Part-time stuff often did not feel listened to by HQ.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-03-02
  9. "Access Specialist at MCPL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Access Specialist II in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They are a very organized company which focuses on employee satisfaction.

    Cons

    Even after being there for 12 years as a part time employee it is hard to get on as full time unless you have a Library Science Masters

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-02-07
  10. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time

    Pros

    Being part-time, they are very flexible on hours, great co-workers.

    Cons

    If part-time, you can only work a limited amount of hours.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-01-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews