NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS Reviews | Glassdoor

NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
4 Ratings
  1. "Solid company that supports their local communities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing leadership with a long-term approach to the company.

    Cons

    Lower pay than other markets in the country, but very good benefits for Lincoln.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, thanks for all the support!

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2019-01-16
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty good pay, flexible time off, great execs/management

    Cons

    The Earned Time Off system is a little annoying.

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2018-08-01
  3. "Good place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are very friendly natured.

    Cons

    There are not very much cons.

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2018-07-10
  4. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time

    Pros

    Enviornment , type of work, leadership

    Cons

    None currently. Everything is great!

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2018-04-30
  5. "Great Benefits, Positive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NBS has really great management, it is a smaller company that is a part of a much larger company (Nelnet) and the benefits are great. Having been an intern, they were able to help me get through college with good pay and a convenient location. The transition into working full time was really easy and natural. Being an engineer, I work as a member of a smaller squad, and my team leads are really great, they challenge me...

    Show More

    Cons

    The main NBS office is very conveniently located but is also a bit older. The building is a fairly traditional 90s office space and a lot of the employees are in their 30s and 40s and keep their work life pretty separate from their personal life, so sometimes, as a younger person, it can feel a little stuffy, but I've never struggled to get along and connect with people that are my senior. I'm close with my team, that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be mindful that there are distinct differences between some of the different areas in Nelnet that a person can work and it feels like that is something management could be more mindful of. Not all areas in Nelnet are created equal, arbitrarily, despite the job roles being largely the same, and that can kind of suck.

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2018-03-28
  6. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits, located downtown, growing

    Cons

    Nepotism, Low Salaries, not much from for advancement after a certain point.

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2017-07-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Too many calls, not enough staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Manager in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, descent pay. Quarterly wellness bonus of $100 for tracking a certain amount of exercise and healthy eating habits.

    Cons

    Back to back phone calls. The turnover rate is fairly high. They need to staff according to growth so current employees don't have such high stress.

    Advice to Management

    Hire enough staff to leave employees a little time between phone calls. When they're back to back all day everyday it causes too much stress to be conducive to good mental health. You claim to care about it. Here's an action you can take to prove it.

    NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2017-07-07
  8. "Data Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS full-time

      Pros

      Great management that allowed for some freedom.

      Cons

      Long and sometimes daunting hours at your desk doing same tasks.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the freedom.

      NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2017-04-26
    • "Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Account Manager in Lincoln, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nelnet has an awesome corporate climate.

      Cons

      I can't think of any.

      NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2017-04-07
    • "Great Company to work for the long term"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS

      Pros

      Good work life balance Upper management cares about employees Performance driven company - if you are lazy you will hate working here as you will make less money than peers Good Pay Good Benefits Keeps growing Excellent communication Working remote opportunities Learning opportunities Horizontal career growth

      Cons

      Some people are still stuck in the old ways of doing things A few people are politically driven and do not want to change a 20 year old product for the better Very few teams do not want to accept changes and waste company time and resources to get their way and not being progressive thinkers to enhance the product. Very little vertical career growth

      Advice to Management

      Remove progress blockers. A 20 year old product that still looks and functions like it did in the early 90's does nothing but make the company look bad. Push for change for the better to bring certain systems up to date.

      NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS2016-08-02
    Found 24 reviews