NantWorks Reviews | Glassdoor

NantWorks Reviews

Updated June 24, 2017
31 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Patrick Soon-Shiong, M.D.
17 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    "Vibrant and dynamic scientific culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time

    Pros

    Modern campus in Culver City. Trendy neighborhood. Well funded R&D. Very smart scientists across diverse disciplines. Diverse portfolio of technologies. Definitely not a "one trick pony" which mitigates risk. Competitive compensation/benefits/vacation seems to motivate workers to arrive early and stay late regularly on their own accord. Some days I almost want to jokingly tell my co-workers, "Hey, you're not an academic post-doc anymore.
     You don't have work 50-60 hours a week." But there's no getting in the way of passionate scientists who are on a mission to cure cancer. When you love your work and feel like you're always just one experiment away from a breakthrough, those long days don't feel like work at all. Especially if you're paid well to do it.

    Cons

    Cross-functional collaborations can be tricky since the Nant companies are spread out among different campuses across the country. But scientists are empowered to be resourceful in order to get things done in creative ways. Construction at the Culver City headquarters might help consolidate some of the great Nant talent into one central location. This is not a fault of the organization. Property is just hard to come buy in Culver City.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the salary/bonus/equity stays competitive. Immuno-oncology opportunities in the Los Angeles area is growing rapidly. It would be a shame if our best workers get poached by competitors as huge amounts of funding continue to pour into the field. Also, get ready to add necessary infrastructure/personnel when we start sending internally discovered drugs into the development pipeline.

    NantWorks Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Sr Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review! We’ll take your advice into consideration!


  2. "Great company with room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company mission to cure cancer-major pro.
    If you work hard, you get noticed and rewarded. Company is certainly trying to increase the perks by adding an equity plan, performance management review with bonus, food trucks, on site carwash and dry cleaning.
    Medical benefits are excellent
    You get to work amongst some of the smartest scientist and doctors
    Modern office space
    Room for growth in most positions

    Cons

    Start ups aren't perfect and turn over is high, but company and HR acknowledge this and are working hard to fix.

    NantWorks Response

    Jun 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for acknowledging the hard work our teams are putting in to try to improve the culture at NantWorks! Your opinion is important and helps us to improve!

  3. "Innovative, Fast-Paced Research in a Supportive Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Cruz, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Research is interesting and plentiful
    - Great work/life balance motivates scientists and engineers to produce quality results
    - Work feels meaningful and impactful
    - Value is placed on both independent and collaborative work

    Cons

    - There seems to be slight disorganization when it comes to infrastructure and IT issues, which can lead to some minor frustration
    - The new employee on-boarding process can be disorganized and slow, leading to delays in getting started

    Advice to Management

    - Streamline hiring and on-boarding to prevent delays and confusion when new employees are getting started

    NantWorks Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Sr Director of HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously evaluating our processes to become more streamlined. As a new associate, our goal is to have your onboarding be a positive experience and for you to... More


  4. "Exciting work on important topics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Cruz, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    As a scientist, I'm truly excited by the type, quantity, and quality of data being generated here for research and for doctors and patients. The company supports a good work/life balance, and is protective of their employees. We have a daily impact on the care of people with cancer.

    Cons

    Not all infrastructure seems to be in place yet; this makes some projects feel a bit hectic.

    Advice to Management

    Increase hiring and get the proper infrastructure in place.

    NantWorks Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Sr Director of HR

    We appreciate your incite! Ultimately, our people are our most important asset, so your opinion matters greatly. We will continue to focus on building up our teams to support the great work taking... More


  5. "Great company for scientists!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Cruz, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Primary focus is on doing great science
    Lots of intellectual freedom
    Motivated and extremely smart co-workers
    A lot of exciting collaborative projects ongoing

    Cons

    Employees must be very self-directed to thrive

    NantWorks Response

    Jun 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    No doubt, being a self-starter and having initiative is key here! Thank you for being a part of it!


  6. "NantWorks, LLC. HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly and professional working environment
    Full benefits: Medical, Dental and Vision & 401K and more!
    HR is helpful & the on-boarding process informative and ADP is easy to navigate.
    Free Coffee & Tea!
    Some Mondays and most Fridays we have food trucks on site.
    Casual Business attire on Fridays you can wear jeans!
    Yearly Performance reviews
    Being part of Nant the leading healthcare technology entities to advance in every one's health is extraordinary!

    Cons

    When we don't have a food truck on Fridays!

    Advice to Management

    Keep being super nice and helpful!

    NantWorks Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Sr Director of HR

    Thank you for your review! As an organization we think our benefits are pretty great too! And the food trucks are a great perk.


  7. "Total Rewards Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Administrative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The Company implemented a Total Rewards Program that is competitive, attractive, and truly motivating. This program aligned incentives across competing priorities and its ecosystem of companies.

    Cons

    The M&A activity makes planning a challenge, yet strategically it creates a competitive advantage.

    Advice to Management

    Drive collaboration as an inherent part of everyone's responsibility.

  8. "Great place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Administrator in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Contracts Administrator in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work very great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Other than the location being so far from everything thing else, not really much cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job like you've been doing.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "No appreciation/trust for good/honest employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NantWorks full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits were great. My coworkers were all smart and personable. I was able to get along with my coworkers because everyone was so nice. Unlimited Vacation. Maternity Leave. Celebrity sightings.

    Cons

    Upper management has too much power but they have no direction. Everything is kept hush hush. Although coworkers are great, there is no culture and everyone is looking out for themselves. Once I get close to someone, they either get let go or get fired. HR is a joke. Newsletter is a joke. They do not take care of their employees. They don't promote from within but will rather hire someone from the outside to do the same job with a lot more pay.

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within. Better training. Need structure. Get rid of incompetent managers.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of Leadership and Communication is Killing Morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NantWorks full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Not much nice to say except that the CEO is a great man and visionary who unfortunately, is often misled by incompetent leaders with no real experience.

    But the workers who are trying to make things happen are great. It's certain people in upper management who make things hard for people in the lower tiers to get things done.

    Cons

    There is a total lack of communication. Unless you have friends in the right places, you never know what is going on, which barely allows you to plan for anything.

    Also, instead of trying to find out problems and solve them, there is a rush to assign blame.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees. Communication is everything. Not everything has to be a secret, and a little trust goes a long way.

    NantWorks Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Sr Director of HR

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Our community here is unique, we bring together people with different backgrounds to work on complex matters. What we’ve set out to accomplish is not an easy... More


Showing 31 of 31 reviews
Reset Filters