Cover image for OneMain Financial
Logo
See All Photos

OneMain Financial

Engaged Employer

OneMain Financial

Add a Review

OneMain Financial Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,852 of over 2K reviews
3.3
55% Recommend to a Friend
69% Approve of CEO

Found 1,852 of over 2K reviews

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
OneMain Financial President and Chief Executive Officer Doug Shulman (no image)
Doug Shulman
442 Ratings

What people are saying about OneMain Financial

Join the conversation on

Finance

3m

a 

Loan Officer

Currently an Assistant Manager at OneMain Financial and dealing with this clientele is draining me. Looking to make a move, possibly into the mortgage industry or something else in financial services. I have my life insurance license but wondering what other qualifications I will need. What have been your experiences in the mortgage industry or would you say to look into other things?I make about 60k and feel as if I am capped out at OMF, what else is out there for me?About 3 yrs in fin services

10

4 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The benefits are good and the dress code is great.(in 213 reviews)
  • "They are flexible with my school and the pay is very good for the flexibility and hours.(in 137 reviews)
  • "the people are great and the politics seem to be at a minimum.(in 73 reviews)
  • "Annual time off is amazing(in 56 reviews)
  • "+ good bonuses depending on performance(in 50 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of OneMain Financial and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Aug 5, 2022 - Loan Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TIme off, want you to do well, support

    Cons

    Raises after you start, collection limitations

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    OneMain Financial Response

    Online Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5-star review. -AS

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Toxic Environment

    Sep 20, 2022 - Branch Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid vacation Paid holidays Diversity between days

    Cons

    This may only be my district, however I feel the need to warn future employees about my experience here, and do want to say I have been with the company over 5 years and it had not always been this way. I have been called on my cell phone on days off and yelled at. I have been pushed not to take time off for FMLA for my 3 year old daughter's surgery I was told I would be written up if I took my 3 year old to her first day of pre k3 and was 45 mins late as a salaried employee that regularly works 47+ hours per week with no break. When I reported a problem with why an employee was leaving, was retaliated against. Feel like I can not report anything for fear of retaliation. They have "anonymous" surveys each year for employee relations, however they allow district managers to see them and break them down by branch. Was told we were changing hours "to empower yourself to run your own branch", and promptly told you must work these hours.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Stable Career/Difficult Goals

    Sep 16, 2022 - Branch Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours, benefits, and technology help this company stand out among its peers. If this is your career, this company is the right place to be. This company is advanced in technology wise and the CEO and leadership have strengthened this companies prospects for years to come.

    Cons

    Branch goals are ever changing and management and senior management are unable to explain why. A conference call recently exposed the lack of clarity around this important topic. This current economic climate is quite unpredictable and I will say that the company and others like it do not know how to establish delinquency targets or sales targets. Automated system approvals that you cannot overwrite. Less than ideal applicants can often times pass the system screenings and get approved.

    1 person found this review helpful

    OneMain Financial Response

    Online Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4-star review. -SG

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    From Loan Specialist to Branch manager

    May 1, 2022 - Branch Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Possability for growth from a lower position to Management in a year on average if you show initiative to learn and work hard to hit your numbers. 2. Support to do your job from tech support, software support, online portals & chat, and close connection to upper level management to have someone to mentor you. 3. As a manager you can organize and run your office as you see fit as long as it's compliant and promoting a positive work atmosphere.

    Cons

    1. Software systems have many quirks that are frustrating and create barriers to do the job quicker and take awhile to learn all the tips and tricks on how not to provoke the software. 2. It is extremely difficult to get fired from this company. While that may seem like a positive thing, when you are a manager and you have a subordinate who makes their fellow teammates and customers offended and uncomfortable, they should be given one chance to change the behavior and if it continues they should be let go, not a year or more of chances to change. From my experience, it can take years of corrective action plans to get that person terminated. 3. It is easy to harm your own work life balance because it never seems there is enough time in the work day to accomplish all the tasks you want to get done. It took me awhile to learn that getting out of work on time is important to a healthy work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Operations Support Coordinator-Legacy Research

    Sep 26, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly. OneMain Financial works really hard on being the best place to work.

    Cons

    I do not have anything bad to say about OneMain Financial as a work place.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    OneMain Financial Response

    Online Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5-star review. -SG

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Opportunities for Growth

    Sep 29, 2022 - Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are opportunities to advance your career and you receive great mentorship.

    Cons

    Their training could be improved

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Move on by

    Oct 2, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are the best to work with.

    Cons

    Where to begin…. Bonus has been drastically cut, medical benefits are terrible, being underinsured will cost you big if you have any medical conditions, it’s near impossible to hit the very high targets, long hours, our clients are hurting financially trying to keep up with inflation and we are calling them six times a day to collect, but turn around on new employees, that should tell ya to move on by.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    sr loan specialist

    Sep 26, 2022 - Sr. Loan Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like the off time.

    Cons

    I wish they would give us a raise.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    OneMain Financial Response

    Online Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4-star review. -SG

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Ok company

    Sep 27, 2022 - Senior Loan Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Keeping afloat through the pandemic. Very flexible.

    Cons

    Forcing employees to do things that is not good for the company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love the people I work with

    Sep 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If your in the right office it is great

    Cons

    Could pay more for the lvl of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    OneMain Financial Response

    Online Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4-star review. -SG

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,852 Reviews
</>Embed

OneMain Financial Reviews FAQs

OneMain Financial has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 1,962 reviews left anonymously by employees. 55% of employees would recommend working at OneMain Financial to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, OneMain Financial employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at OneMain Financial. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

55% of OneMain Financial employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated OneMain Financial 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at OneMain Financial to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be culture, work life balance, management.

Popular Careers with OneMain Financial Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at OneMain Financial? Share Your Experiences

or

OneMain Financial Careers

Cover image for OneMain Financial

Our growing suite of personal loans, credit cards and other products help people borrow responsibly and work toward a brighter future. In...More

  • Career & Learning
  • Culture
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

OneMain Financial

232 days ago

Company News
We announced the launch of Credit Worthy by OneMain Financial, our new national credit education program for high school students. Financial empowerment is a cornerstone of our corporate social responsibility program, and this program is a key feature of how OneMain and EVERFI are working together to lay the foundation for people to make progress to a better financial future.
Shared image - OneMain Financial and EVERFI Bring Financial Education to High School Students Nationwide
OneMain Financial and EVERFI Bring Financial Education to High School Students Nationwide
investor.onemainfinancial.com
See all

OneMain Financial Photos

+ Add Photo
OneMain Financial photo of: Pilsen, IL
OneMain Financial photo of: Nanuet Branch
OneMain Financial photo of: Team Event
OneMain Financial photo of: Volunteer Day
OneMain Financial photo of: Team Event
OneMain Financial photo of: Team Member Appreciation
OneMain Financial photo of: Volunteer Day
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

OneMain Financial Job Seekers Also Viewed

Citi Logo
Citi

3.9

28,173 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,962 OneMain Financial reviews submitted anonymously by OneMain Financial employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if OneMain Financial is right for you.