OneMain Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

OneMain Financial Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1044 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Doug Shulman
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice package decent place to work good benefits flexible work hours(in 87 reviews)

  • "Ability to work remote/Great benefits package/Collaborative work environment(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your collections targets are based on loans you did not write(in 93 reviews)

  • "Upper management is not professional(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Loan Specialist in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth and advancement Great benefits (Medical, dental, vision and paid maternity leave) Fantastic Leadership Nice level of competition and bonus structure is nice.

    Cons

    Training process needs some improvement.

    OneMain Financial2018-08-15

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 24, 2018Community Manager

    We appreciate your feedback, and we're happy to see your comment regarding advancement opportunities and Benefits. OneMain continues to develop and expand upon training for all levels and departments in the organization. We encourage team members to discuss training opportunities ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best place ever!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Personal Loan Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to move up with compensation Great bonuses Great base pay

    Cons

    Unpredictable long hours Feeling pressure to bring dq in

    Advice to Management

    Make sure everyone is treated equally

    OneMain Financial2018-07-08

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 13, 2018Community Manager

    Thank you for your comment. We strive to reward our team members with fair compensation for the work they do. Regarding your concern about unpredictable hours - Your work life balance is important to us. As this is personal for each individual, we encourage our team members to discuss ...

    Show More
  3. "Overall a good company to work for, can provide stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive, they are trying hard to catch up on technology

    Cons

    There are a lot of re-alignments and re-organizations. I was affected 2 times in 3 years and ultimately was laid off. They have very lofty goals for delinquency.

    Advice to Management

    You really expect a lot of your managers. You talk a good game with work /life balance, but I didn't really have it.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-18
  4. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonus, Benefits, Salary, Clear view of where the company is going.

    Cons

    A lot of policy changes frequently

    OneMain Financial2019-07-04

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoy our Benefits. We hope that you have a great day! - CK

  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Servicing Specialist in Tifton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you are not micro managed you have helpful co co workers calm work environment very understanding management

    Cons

    understaffed corporate does not want to hire addl people

    OneMain Financial2019-07-03

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing! We are happy to hear about your positive experience. -CK

  6. "Personal loan specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Loan Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay is not bad though I should have asked for alittle more. Training on hand and over the phone conferences. Team is great and branch manager is really helpful.

    Cons

    Plenty of things to learn and when they say fast paced it is depending on branch location. Trying to learn everything is not possible but you have to write down what you learn and do it yourself for practice. Customers coming in like 20 minutes before closing. You can’t really tell them to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe more training like the sandbox is okay but it’s not really helpful when filling up an app. I learn more when I actually speak with someone and go over it.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-03

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to help everyone be successful, and we work hard to ensure people perform at their highest level. Thank you for your commitment to our customers. -CK

  7. "Great post college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Loan Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to learn all the components of the loan industry.

    Cons

    No work life balance

    OneMain Financial2019-07-01

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing! We are happy to hear about your positive experience. We encourage team members to discuss their individual work life balance needs with their direct managers or HR Business Partner. - CK

  8. "With the right manager you can excel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Personal Loan Specialist in Conyers, GA

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth Opportunities Opportunities to maximize earnings You get to meet many different people from all walks of life

    Cons

    This is a collections and sales focused position. Work/life balance was non existent if delinquency is high. Company needs come before all personal needs including graduations, family vacations, anniversary celebrations, etc. You were not allowed to schedule PTO the last 7-10 days of the month or during "Customer Appreciation Day/Month."

    Advice to Management

    Conduct regular sit in reviews on all District and Branch Level Management to ensure they are cultivating an environment that represents the company well.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-01

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed meeting many people. In regards to your concern, we encourage our team members to discuss their individual work life balance needs with their direct managers or HR Business Partner. You may send any additional feedback to ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great job if willing to put in work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Marinette, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, bonus if you have good quarter, paid vacation, sick time

    Cons

    Big company means little flexibility , hours can be long.

    Advice to Management

    Remember who puts money in your pocket and who is working the front line everyday

    OneMain Financial2019-06-25

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're happy to see your comment, and we appreciate your commitment to our customers. -CK

  10. "Very little Sr Leadership in Evansville - Big Change from past when REAL decision makers lived and worked in EVV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Cutting edge technology in many areas - Pay & Benefits (Including Vacation) - Casual work environment (too casual)

    Cons

    - Casual Work Environment (Professionalism lacks because of this) - Incompetent Non IT minded middle management (in Non IT Depts) - Shortage of IT resources - Shortage of IT resources - Shortage of IT resources

    Advice to Management

    - Only report accurate, tested, and true numbers to Sr Management in Baltimore. Stop guessing just to fill in the blanks. - Sr Mgmt: Discipline employees that need it. Don't put up with poor incompetent performers, It brings the entire organization down, including powerless Middle Managers as well as team members. - Align Top Management more closely with their assigned responsibilities - Bring back Sr Management...

    Show More
    OneMain Financial2019-06-19

    OneMain Financial Response

    June 28, 2019Community Manager

    We appreciate your review and are glad you enjoy our benefits. Our goal is to provide a positive work experience for all team members regardless of their associated legacy company. To accomplish this, we encourage open communication between team members and management to resolve any ...

    Show More
Found 1044 reviews