Open Systems Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Open Systems Technologies Reviews

Updated September 19, 2017
66 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Harold Herling
26 Ratings

66 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • fun work environment for mundane job (in 6 reviews)

  • Easy to work for, access to necessary information, pay was fair for type of job (in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • long hours, can be a grind at certain times (in 4 reviews)

  • Their is absolutely NO training provided (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Working for Open Systems Technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I started working for Open Systems about two months ago. I've worked for another recruiting firm for two years prior and I can honestly say that this place is a breath of fresh air for me for several reasons:

    - Amazing coworkers and everyone is super helpful
    - Working with top financial firms in the NYC area
    - No skill set alignment; you get to work on anything and everything you want
    - Brand new office space (start up environment)
    - No 'micromanagement', instead you have leaders that will help motivate and teach you, not constantly breathing down your neck like most recruiting firms
    - Great management. Owners are involved and really take the time to improve the place and its' people

    Cons

    The only con is that for people without any recruiting experience, there is not a solid training structure provided here. With that said- if you're not self-motivated and unwilling to go an extra mile to reach out and ask for help, this place is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    This place is certainly going in the right direction so keep up the good work!

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Aug 28, 2017 – Associate Director

    We are so happy that you are enjoying yourself at OST! And you're absolutely right regarding a solid training structure - but it's being worked on so hopefully that won't be a con for much longer!... More


  2. "Sales Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Open Systems Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Awesome work environment as well as great people to work with. By far the best company I have ever worked for. They put employees first.

    Cons

    I don't have any con's about this employer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – Director

    Thanks so much for your wonderfully kind words. We're so happy that you loved working with us!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There are many reasons to love working at OST. The main one, in my opinion, is that fact that management truly believes in their employees and looks to help them learn and succeed. This emanates from the owners as well as all the MD's. They recently invested quite a bit of money and time into trying to revamp OST both aesthetically and culturally.

    Beyond that, OST gives each employee multiple ways to be successful. If you're hardworking and capable but perhaps not happy in the role you're currently in, OST management will work with you to try and add responsibilities that allow you to explore other careers within the company.

    They provide great benefits - from the generous vacation/sick policy to snacks every week to the ability to work from home as needed.

    Compensation is great - I've never felt underpaid for what I do.

    Cons

    As with every company, there are some growing pains. There are new policies being put in place that not everyone is on board with however, they are being done so with a great long term goal.

    There is a lot of work so long hours do come with the role

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – Director

    Thanks so much for the kind words - we hope to continue to grow and better ourselves!


  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, no micromanaging. Office is new and clean. Nice people. The supplies and equipment are top quality.

    Cons

    There is no formal training program.

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – Director

    Thanks so much for your kind words. And we are trying to formalize a training program for those that want one - it's on the to-do's for next year!


  5. "AMAZING COMPANY CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Really fun group to work with, beautiful office as well as a great location, and best of all there is no micromanagement. You're free to work the way you need to if that's what makes you successful, and if you work hard, you're set up to succeed and make really good money.

    Cons

    Not really a con but if you need hand-holding, this, or any recruiting house isn't the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Aug 28, 2017 – Associate Director

    Yes, OST is definitely all about helping you help yourself but we can definitely improve on our training. Rest assured, that's on its way as well!


  6. "Open Systems 2.0"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter/Account Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Recruiter/Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company has recently undergone a restructure and rebranding that, in my opinion, was much needed. I have been an employee at Open Systems for many years now and while the company has always been successful and quite generous to its employees, the company was starting to lose its spark and days were dull. With all the new hiring and the investment into the office, culture, and brand, company morale is higher than ever. I love being here, I love the employees, the work I do every day, and truly feel cared for by my employers. They have your best interest and are very loyal to their employees. The list of clients they have cannot compete with anyone, and the pay lives up to the reputation that proceeds it. More than that, we all have matching sweatshirts that we all wear in the office, which makes you feel like you're a part of team In an environment that can be so competitive at times.

    Cons

    I am not a huge fan of the 80/20 rule

    Advice to Management

    I love the new culture club meetings we have here. It's really important for everyone to have a safe place to talk about the things we feel the company should participate in and what our goals for the company. Also, I love the events, parties, and happy hours!! Keep up the good work - you are on the right path!

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Aug 28, 2017 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for the kind words. We're really happy with Open Systems 2.0 as well!


  7. "Open Systems Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time

    Pros

    I am writing this review in honor of the changes that the company has endured
    - flexible with vacation days
    - lovely new HR director
    - decent salary
    - nice office
    - nice co-workers
    - fun work environment for mundane job

    Cons

    - not the most exciting job in the world

    Advice to Management

    I always wished for the back office to be more integrated with the front office, but it seems like that is changing so I appreciate you listening to the concerns I expressed.

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Aug 28, 2017 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for the kind words - we love that you're liking our new look. And please continue with providing us feedback!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Such a joke!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Open Systems Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They pay a good commission
    They do have a solid client list
    They pay your medical premium

    Cons

    Nepotism runs rampant - if you're related to the owners or a friend of the family, you can get away with everything - dress code violations, coming in late, leaving early - taking holidays whenever you want

    They used to have unlimited vacations and sick days, but recently took that away and now only have 5 sick days and vacations based on years of service

    Horrible habit of trying to screw over employees and consultants. They try to pay non recruiters as little as possible - they short change so much and

    They have no long term vision or strategy - everything revolves around how can you make me money this very second

    They have some people who have been here forever and are super resistant to change and others who want to change everything including everyone who has worked here.

    I would run away, run far away

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring family. When you make decisions - stick to them instead of changing your mind every few seconds.
    Stop yelling - it makes the office a horrible place to work


  9. "Not a bad place to work but lots of improvement needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1. Recruiters get paid very well - chance to make a lot of money
    2. Freedom to work on what jobs you want to work on
    3. Medical premiums are paid for

    Cons

    1. Cliques/nepotism - You get different perks based on who you work with and who you are related to
    2. Management frequently changes their mind regarding direction of the company
    3. There used to be unlimited vacation/sick days - that has been removed and changed to only 5 sick days and vacation days based on longevity
    4. Work from home is frowned upon - butts in seats mentality

    Advice to Management

    Choose a direction and stick with it. Actually work towards improving the culture of the office vs just giving it lip service

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Associate Director Inbound Recruitment

    We are sorry you feel this way about working at OST. The reason for a change in vacation days and expecting face to face conversations is so we can head in the right direction creating a new culture... More


  10. "Fun 1st Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good company, fun environment. Make your own work happen.

    Cons

    Not a lot of training. A lot of stress

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – Associate Director

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We appreciate the honesty. Having a strong training/on-boarding program is top priority for us and we have already started to implement small initiatives... More


Showing 66 of 83 reviews
Reset Filters