Open Systems Technologies 55 Reviews | Glassdoor

Open Systems Technologies Reviews

Updated January 26, 2017
55 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Harold Herling
17 Ratings

55 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • They reward hard work very handsomely and so you have the ability to make quite a bit of money (in 3 reviews)

  • Good commission plan, good starting salary (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • Their is absolutely NO training provided (in 4 reviews)

  • Need improvement in Health Insurance Plans & economic premium (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Life is what you make of it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company culture - casual, and laid back environment, paid healthcare, unlimited vacation days, free treats every month, occasional happy hours.
    The ability to make a lot of money - if you're good at your job, the opportunities are endless here. You can easily make six figures here.
    Autonomy - OST fosters a culture of self motivation and autonomy. You are able to work on what you want, when you want it.
    Support - all 4 MD's sit on the recruiting floor in NYC and provide support and mentoring as needed.
    Career Growth - The only limit to growth and success at OST is your own limitations. Upper management tries their hardest to ensure everyone achieves what they want to

    Cons

    Recruiting is a sales job, so as with any sales career there are your typical cons.
    Hours can be long from time to time
    The casual environment can be hard to get used to

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees and provide them with the ability to explore new ideas and responsibilities

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Nov 7, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We are so glad that you are having a great time at Open Systems. Keep up the great work and we'll be sure to share your advice to senior management.


  2. "Growing Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Open Systems Technologies full-time

    Pros

    There is plenty of room to grow. Productivity is rewarded

    Cons

    At times they can be overly formal


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales
    Former Employee - Sales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Open Systems Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are nice. Managers are chill.

    Cons

    No training what so ever.

    Advice to Management

    Please provide more training

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Nov 28, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate the honesty. We are working to provide more training for new hires going forward.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not the worst place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Open Systems Technologies (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Little micromanaging, great team and employees

    Cons

    no training, no resources and hardly any jobs to fill

    Advice to Management

    GET TO KNOW YOUR CLIENT!!!

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Sep 26, 2016 – Management

    Thanks for your feedback. We agree that our employees are outstanding! And we are working to provide more training for new hires going forward.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Organization"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Tremendous amount of support from management for Account Executives & Recruiters. Solid ATS/CRM. Great 26 year history of success & growth in IT staffing.

    Cons

    A better on-line consultant time-sheet. It's certainly not bad......but can be better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep celebrating the small success and the words of encouragement- its working!

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Aug 22, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback! So happy to hear that you're enjoying your time at Open Systems. And we'll get working on a better consultant time sheet if possible. Keep up the great work! ... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Worked Full Time"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Location was good and coworkers were great

    Cons

    Support was almost non existant

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Aug 17, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us, but do you mind elaborating on what kind of support functions were non-existent? As a company, we strive to ... More


  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great company, great atmosphere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome corporate culture and company and the benefits are great! Upper management recognizes hard work and it reflects in the opportunities for promotions / growth. If you work hard, you will be rewarded here.

    Cons

    There is nothing that immediately comes to mind. If you are looking for a place to coast... then this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! I have worked for a few firms in the past and this is by far the best one that I have ever worked for.

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Jun 27, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback! So happy to hear what a great time you're having at Open Systems. And we agree, hard work is definitely the mantra here. Keep up the great work!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Growth Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies (More than a year)

    Pros

    Growth company with an eye on the future. Excellent ownership team interested in building a nationally recognized, well respected company.

    Cons

    Organizational communication can and should improve.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. A great story in the making.

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Jun 6, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for the feedback! We love that you're having such a great experience working for us, Please know that organization communication is a priority for us, and will be improved in the ... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Professionals"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Highly professional and on top of things

    Cons

    There are some individual recruiters that are just hard to reach

    Advice to Management

    Advise recruiters to remain engaged with their recruits not just when you are trying to get them hired.

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Jun 1, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for letting us know your thoughts. And although we try our best to make sure everything runs smoothly for our consultants, we know sometimes things can slip through the cracks. We will ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Business Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Open Systems Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Transparent in dealings with the client.

    Cons

    Difficult to change clients after you have been assigned to one.
    Do not have much influence in swaying the client.

    Advice to Management

    Meet your consultants on a regular basis.

    Open Systems Technologies Response

    Jun 1, 2016 – Associate Director

    Thanks so much for the feedback! We try to not pull out consultants once placed unless there is truly a mismatch as it results in a difficult situation for all. And although we try our best to make ... More



Showing 55 of 70 reviews
Reset Filters