Optima Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Optima Founder David Hovey
David Hovey
20 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work on the Northshore"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Glencoe, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very clear from day 1 that people live the company's beliefs. Being bold but with empathy, working hard to do the right thing (even when it's hard) and the notion that there is a solution to every problem clearly drive the business and are part of the dialogue every day. Optima is driven by a good rhythm of KPIs and professional development conversations while keeping it simple so work is a focus vs. measurement. It's what you'd expect from a hard-driving, results-oriented company in the loop but up on the Northshore so if you're done with the commute to the city, this culture fits the active worker.

    Cons

    The Glencoe office is a thing of beauty, but we're running out of space.

    Continue reading
    Optima2019-08-07
  2. "HR Nightmare waiting to happen"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Supervisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optima full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced builder, attempting to stay on top of safety.

    Cons

    No bonuses, unrealistic production timelines set for the manpower, direct Supervisor was completely unprofessional, terrible at communicating, unwilling to take responsibility for his short comings and if he didn't like someone or a sub he would do everything to abuse that person or company.

    Continue reading
    Optima2020-03-30
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Anaheim, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Optima full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good sales job Good potential. Good upper managemwnt

    Cons

    No advancement options really

    Optima2019-04-24
  4. "Good place to work and learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Superintendent in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good experience, good environment

    Cons

    No real cons as of yet

    Optima2019-04-16
  5. "Hurry, hurry, hurry! No realistic deadlines."

    3.0
     

    I worked at Optima

    Pros

    Pay and benefits, weeks work in first three days.

    Cons

    Lack of information about the task at hand.

    Continue reading
    Optima2019-02-11
  6. "Modern and Unique"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and team collaboration both in the local offices and between IL and AZ, beautiful surroundings, efforts are acknowledged and rewarded and the Hovey Family is a pleasure to work for.

    Cons

    Room for improvement with the benefits package, especially PTO and 401K.

    Optima2019-01-16
  7. "Great company overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Tech in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and beautiful properties. Architecture is amazing, and it’s definitely a much welcome change of pace as far as working in this field goes.

    Cons

    Cons at Sonoran village would be lower end appliances and not enough info provided to people moving in. Along with too much turnover and not enough time between move outs and move ins. Also micromanaging seems to be the name of the game on a whole new level.

    Continue reading
    Optima2019-01-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "All Facets of the Development Process"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time

    Pros

    Be immersed in all facets of building development. As an architect you will be involved in Land acquisition, Financing, Design, Construction and Post Occupancy. The experience gained at Optima is more comprehensive than any typical architecture firm. Our fast pace sets us apart from our competitors. Compensation is above average in the industry.

    Cons

    Opportunities to lead design of projects is more limited. Working with a lean support staff means doing more things yourself. Smaller privately held company have a less attractive benefits program.

    Continue reading
    Optima2018-12-27

    Optima Response

    January 11, 2019Marketing Director

    This is great feedback, thank you for taking the time to share. We will absolutely keeping working toward these goals.

  9. "Employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A fast growing family owned development company. Huge room for growth as an employee. Ability to be exposed to opportunities not offered at typical architure or general contractor firms.

    Cons

    It is not a highly structured environment. You are expected to be self motivated. Not a con in my opinion but for some this could be.

    Optima2018-12-27

    Optima Response

    January 11, 2019Marketing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to review and for the positive feedback!

  10. "Optima is a great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optima full-time

    Pros

    Well-run company. Optima’s core values are inspiring. Collaboration between team members is encouraged, and critical to the success of the company. Team members get involved with all aspects of a development process: development, design, construction, and property management. Optima has a well-rounded portfolio of high end residential projects with prestigious awards. Overall, a great place to work.

    Cons

    Overtime work can be taxing at times.

    Optima2018-12-26

    Optima Response

    January 11, 2019Marketing Director

    Thank you for the kind words - we love seeing a team that enjoys our unique integration. And thank you for all of your hard work!

Found 36 reviews