Oregon Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Oregon Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Steven L. Patterson
18 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Current Full-Time Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been a full-time employee here at OMI for just over a year and I love working here. It is an enjoyable place to come to work each day. Management and leadership make a concentrated, constant effort to improve the daily work life here at OMI all the while striving to improve the operating results of the company. I firmly believe that the company is in good hands and going in the right direction and I'm very glad...

    Show More

    Cons

    The health benefits are the worst I have seen anywhere.

    Advice to Management

    Please improve the health benefits!!!! You are probably going to lose potential & current talent due to the lack of good health coverage for a family.

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-10-15

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    November 1, 2018Vice President of Marketing

    We appreciate the positive feedback regarding the culture and direction of the company. We are continually looking for opportunities to enhance the medical insurance, one important part of our benefits package. Thanks for all you do for Oregon Mutual!

  2. "Great Small Company to Work At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in McMinnville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small company with a family feel, and located in a small town without the traffic and headaches of the big city. Still there are big challenges, and I feel I have been given the opportunity to explore areas in technology that interest me. I like the match on the 401K.

    Cons

    I wish healthcare were less expensive and there was a formal work from home policy. This is a small company, and I understand that the company can't have policies for everything.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving the company forward.

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2019-06-17
  3. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McMinnville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Regional company that cares about it's customers and employees. Executives are truly available and listen to and share with employee's. People are genuinely friendly and are interested in not only the companies success but individual success.

    Cons

    Benefit package is lacking. Health insurance package especially.

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2019-04-09

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    April 10, 2019Vice President of Marketing

    Thanks for your positive feedback. Our values and our culture are reflected in your comments. We are continually looking for ways to improve the benefits package and in particular the health program.

  4. "Good place to work, few tweaks could be great place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in McMinnville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My direct superior listens to my ideas and implements them into his decisions. I genuinely like my boss. The people in my department are nice and helpful. The CEO knows me on a first name basis. He runs meetings himself instead of delegating them to others. I respect him for that.

    Cons

    The commute (no one's fault) by anyone outside of McMinnville is not ideal. It adds 5 additional hours to your work week so you feel like your entire week is centered around the commute through the country.

    Advice to Management

    Employees in other departments have a 4 day work week option, as far as I know I don't. I would take a longer 4 day work week/ 3 days off schedule in a heartbeat as it would cut down on my stress level and provide me more time to take care of my family's needs. The commute and not having the ability to have a 4 day work week is the main factor in determining if I want to be here long term. We also don't have Christmas...

    Show More
    Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-12-07

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    April 9, 2019Vice President of Marketing

    My sincere apologies for missing this review when posted. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and appreciate your advice provided. We are continuously evaluating flexible work schedules as part of our overall workplace experience.

  5. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in McMinnville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Moving to stay focused on getting goals accomplished. Many things need to get done, but focusing on important things is good. For the most part good work life balance. Lots of things that need to be done, but everyone is on board. People are very friendly. Everyone seems to want to see the company succeed. Departments work well with each other - good teamwork. Very good 401K

    Cons

    systems - waited too long to make a change. Understand work is happening, but need it could be faster. Under staffed in several areas

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-11-01

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    November 1, 2018Vice President of Marketing

    Thanks for the kind remarks. We agree that our teams are working together and focused on accomplishing our goals and getting our systems upgraded. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, and for all you do for Oregon Mutual.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Product Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small company where the executives know a majority of the people. Everyone is very friendly and eager to help wherever they can.

    Cons

    Benefits are slightly less than desired

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-06-15

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    August 16, 2018Vice President of Marketing

    My apologies for not responding sooner! Thanks for the positive feedback about Oregon Mutual and the culture. As acknowledged in other posts, we continue to look for ways to make the benefits as desirable as possible. Thanks again!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in McMinnville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OMI is a regional company, decisions are made locally and focused on providing products and services that matter most to our customers. Small sizes gives employees the opportunity to look outside the box to solve problems and have a major impact. The management team is solid and accessible to everyone. Operational results have improved over the last several years based on management decisions and a lot of hard...

    Show More

    Cons

    Mainframe is antiquated. Health benefits are substandard.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on systems upgrades.

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-03-09

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    March 9, 2018Vice President of Marketing

    Thanks for taking the time to post this positive review regarding the company, our leadership team and recent performance. As you know, our systems are being replaced and we are constantly working to improve health benefits, such as the change made for this year. Thanks for all ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employees are recognized for good work. Management is encouraging. VP is active in day to day work, and isn’t a stranger. Not micromanaged. Allowed to make decisions for ourselves. Room for growth within the company. Insurance Education is encouraged and paid for.

    Cons

    Health Benefits for those who have it. No incentive or pay out for those who don’t. Friend groups can be very cliquey. Ability to work from home on occasion.

    Advice to Management

    Love my current management team, my only advice would be to keep up the good work.

    Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-02-16

    Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

    February 16, 2018Vice President of Marketing

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this positive feedback. We strive to live our values and provide an environment for motivated people to succeed. We are continously looking for ways to improve the health benefits and flexible work schedules. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easily accessible management Family feel to company Quarterly Bonus opportunity Open door policy 401k matching Time off benefits Peer relationships

      Cons

      Technology Health insurance for those who get it through OMI, no pay out feature for those who don't No work from home option Location - hard to bring in talent in smaller town - salaries appear lower than market average based on location as well Formal training program lacking

      Advice to Management

      I appreciate how present and receptive you are to open discussion with the department. Recognizing and being recognized by upper management is something that doesn't happen at larger carriers. Keep up the good work :)

      Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-02-21

      Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

      February 22, 2018Vice President of Marketing

      Thanks for taking the time to provide a review and positive feedback. Your acknowledgement of the positive aspects and opportunities for improvement. We are constantly working to improve in the areas mentioned, and these comments are shared with HR and amongst the leadership group. ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (4)

      "Poorly Managed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Underwriter in McMinnville, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Mutual Insurance full-time

      Pros

      I like the people I work with, and there is a real family feel where everyone helps each other. I have learned a lot from my coworkers.

      Cons

      The company plasters values on a board in the lobby, but doesn't live by them. This company is run by the daily whims of its executive management team. There is no longterm strategy that is easily understood. We just received a bonus... but the company hasn't made money in years. Execs say you are empowered but punish people that actually say anything. The company is run by fear. If I didn't want to live in McMinnville,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You're doing a pretty poor job of communicating what you are trying to do. Having a set of values that you post on a board... and acting contrary to those values isn't leadership. Be less concerned about your own ego... and worry more about the future of the company.

      Oregon Mutual Insurance2018-02-15

      Oregon Mutual Insurance Response

      February 19, 2018Vice President of Marketing

      Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate your acknowledgement of the culture that exists here, and the importance of teamwork. We are disappointed by your concerns related to the management of the company and our adherence to our values. As an employee ...

      Show More
    Found 25 reviews