KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

PCL Construction

Is this your company?

PCL Construction

Add a Review

PCL Construction Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
PCL Construction President and CEO Dave Filipchuk
Dave Filipchuk
197 Ratings
Pros
  • "This company is 100% employee owned(in 59 reviews)

  • "Employee ownership model is good(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be tough, must love the industry to succeed(in 55 reviews)

  • "Long hours but very rewarding work(in 54 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PCL Construction and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Employee Owned

      May 18, 2021 - Construction Superintendent in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is Employee Owned so benefits there if you buy stock.

      Cons

      Employee Owned so things seem to move slower.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thanks for your review! Please continue sharing your feedback with us via your district's leadership team and our employee surveys.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Beware of positive reviews

      May 14, 2021 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good health insurance. Some truly great co-workers.

      Cons

      Beware of the disproportionate number of positive reviews. HR actively solicits 5 star reviews, while the majority of people that I know that left or were let go (which is a lot lately!) didn’t leave a review because they wanted to leave PCL behind them as quickly as possible or were asked to sign a confidentiality agreement. Some offices are happy places, but many are toxic work environments fueled by a corporate culture fixated on profitability. HR’s primary role is to protect the company legally. As a result, many dysfunctional managers are left unchecked because they are either profitable or a favorite. This is an extremely political company. And for many, it’s not a psychologically safe environment. PCL talks a great game, it’s unfortunate their behavior doesn’t align with it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      Vice President, Human Resources and Professional Development

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. To address your first point, we value transparency and continuous improvement, so we encourage our employees to share their feedback with us on any platform of their choice. We do appreciate all candid feedback, regardless of the ratings, to help us learn and keep PCL a great place to work. PCL has zero tolerance for toxic work environments and I encourage you to reach out to me directly (or via glassdoor@pcl.com) so we can discuss your concerns in greater detail.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No Work/Life Balance, Lots of Office Politics

      May 17, 2021 - Project Engineer in SAS Nagar
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary was good, some fun outings.

      Cons

      - No work life balance. - Tend to turn the other way when it comes to employees that have been with the company longer. - Office politics between the upper management and field management teams are horrendous. - Since the company is Canadian owned, expect that whenever the Canadian team gets involved they take priority. Personally, the Canadian team got involved in my project and started to pick off/move or terminate any of the district employees that disagreed with them. - If a field management employee disagreed with upper management/upper field management then you will be ignored or judged.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thank you for your review – your feedback is important to us so we can learn and make improvements. PCL makes every effort to ensure all employees are respected and treated fairly. We have shared your comments with our California office’s senior leadership team.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to start your career in the construction industry

      Jun 3, 2021 - Field Engineer in SAS Nagar
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits and advantages to be a full-time employee.

      Cons

      Career Growth is slow or depends on the project you work on.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thanks for your review! Your continual feedback is important to us so we can continue to be a great place to work.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      May 31, 2021 - Senior Project Engineer in Mohali, Punjab, Punjab
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, technology, project types and people

      Cons

      The length of time it takes to move up

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thanks for your review! PCL has several programs to support you as you progress in your career. We encourage you to speak to your HRPD manager for more information.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A solid company with great people, good benefits, and long hours.

      May 11, 2021 - Project Engineer II in Honolulu, HI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaging day to day tasks with endless opportunities to learn.

      Cons

      Long hours that lead to burn-out. Unbalanced workloads amongst team members. Corporate deliverables and processes that hinder quality of work while extending working hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Construction careers can be demanding, but they’re also so rewarding and positively contribute to our community. This extra effort ensures that we can deliver quality solutions to our clients while prioritizing safety on our job sites. Your district HRPD manager would be more than happy to address these concerns with you directly.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      top rate company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Virtual Design and Construction Modeler in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PCL is a very supportive employer

      Cons

      I have no complaints whatsoever

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thanks for your review! Please continue sharing your feedback with us through your supervisor, HR team and our employee surveys.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great

      Apr 23, 2021 - Project Manager in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, busy, fast paced, exciting work.

      Cons

      Long working hours, and extremely high expectations of all team members.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thanks for your review! We wish you all the best.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Vaccinations

      May 18, 2021 - Home Office Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No complaints need to learn and understand US laws

      Cons

      Management is trying to force employees to be vaccinated.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      Vice President, Human Resources and Professional Development

      Thank you for the review. Please note that the mandating of vaccination is not a policy or practice of PCL.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 16, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and work culture

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PCL Construction Response

      HR Specialist, North American Headquarters

      Thanks for your review! Please continue sharing your feedback with us via your district leadership team and our employee surveys so that we can continue to be a great place for you to grow your career.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 644 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PCL Construction Job Seekers

    Field Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Construction Project Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at PCL Construction? Share Your Experiences

    or