PCL Construction Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
PCL Construction President and CEO Dave Filipchuk
Dave Filipchuk
137 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction

    Pros

    Great benefits great hourly pay good crew good management.

    Cons

    Nothing everything was great doing a great job

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2019-10-09

    PCL Construction Response

    October 16, 2019HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your feedback! We're glad you had a great PCL experience.

  2. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Carpenter in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible on hours while attending University

    Cons

    Difficult to advance in the company

    PCL Construction2020-06-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, Let will let you go when things turn bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits here

    Cons

    Slow advancement, extensive politics involved,

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2020-04-16

    PCL Construction Response

    April 20, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thank you for your feedback. If you have any specific details regarding your experience, please feel free to send them to glassdoor@pcl.com so that our California office can look into this further.

  4. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Manager Supervisor in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can become a share holder and they invest in their people

    Cons

    Unfortunately this District is impact end by oil prices which is not very stable

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2020-04-16

    PCL Construction Response

    April 24, 2020Director HRPD, Heavy Industrial

    Thank you for your feedback and perspective. We are also very proud of our employee share ownership program, which has been instrumental in influencing PCL’s entrepreneurial and innovative spirit. I agree with you that diversification is an important factor to consider in our line of business, which is why Heavy Industrial’s current strategic plan includes diversifying and entering new markets. We have been successful in entering other markets and geography and will continue to pursue further market diversification. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at glassdoor@pcl.com if you have any further questions or concerns.

  5. "Great Place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great teams, and exciting work.

    Cons

    Work Life Balance is non-existent.

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2020-04-19

    PCL Construction Response

    April 21, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Don’t care if their people die"

    1.0
     

    I have been working at PCL Construction

    Pros

    Life insurance is 4 times your salary which your family will need when this company kills you. PCL= People Come Last

    Cons

    During COVID 19 they will NOT let their employees work from home. Even when they are exhibiting symptoms of the virus. They do not care for the livelihood of their people. Terrible company. Everyone can die as long as they make money.

    PCL Construction2020-03-21

    PCL Construction Response

    March 25, 2020Vice President, Human Resources and Professional Development

    The type of situation you describe is not aligned to PCL’s commitment to safety and our people. As of March 17, PCL implemented a company-wide work from home strategy, which advises employees to work remotely. Construction continues to be considered an essential service by our governments and as such various positions are not conducive to remote working. Consequentially, PCL does have in place very strict job-site polices which are intended to keep people safe. What you describe is not aligned with our commitment to safety, so I encourage you to provide details via our confidential ethics hotline or reach out to us at glassdoor@pcl.com.

  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They have a lot of good experienced people that are willing to assist or mentor you anytime you need it. They is a great company to develop your career.

    Cons

    Salary is not very competitive

    PCL Construction2020-02-04

    PCL Construction Response

    February 18, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your feedback!

  8. "Great contractor to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, support of a ~$10 billion company but feels like a small company in terms of the people and how you're treated. The company is 100% employee owned which really makes a difference with the atmosphere, everyone is all in and wants to succeed as it only helps to boost the shareholder's profits. The learning and development programs are second to none. If you want to learn or grow as a leader the resources and training are second to none in the industry. They'll pay your way to help you grow as an employee and as a leader in the company. Lots of opportunity to get together with your coworkers outside work too. Opportunities to advance and relocate to other offices are available. You won't be stuck in the same position waiting for the owner's son to move up. If you're a high performer they see this and pave the way for leadership roles.

    Cons

    Too many processes and procedures that create waste and added labor. I understand why they're in place as we are a big company but there are too many forms, processes and procedures and this hampers development and innovation. US operations wants to push the envelope but the Canadians don't understand the PCL name doesn't have the clout that is does in US. Need to get more aggressive on chasing work and allowing offices to make their own decisions. We have lost major projects with large contract values because upper management is too greedy about hitting the bottom line on a fee target. Long hours and a big grind on large highrise projects. This is sort of known industry wide but management sees this and are making improvements to work/life balance for operations folks.

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2020-01-31

    PCL Construction Response

    February 18, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review! You've mentioned some pros to working at PCL that we are very proud of. We also appreciate your constructive feedback and will forward this to your senior management team. Please continue to share your feedback with us using our Glint employee surveys, and feel free to get in touch with your district manager or HRPD team directly if you haven't already done so.

  9. "good safety standards"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall the people are good people.

    Cons

    as with all union work. once a job is done and they don't need you, better be able to land on your feet.

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2020-01-03

    PCL Construction Response

    January 8, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review!

  10. "average place to work at on the road"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder in Enid, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay for the road

    Cons

    way to much politics happening

    Continue reading
    PCL Construction2020-01-08

    PCL Construction Response

    January 27, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your feedback! We invite you to email glassdoor@pcl.com with additional details about your experience so we can look into this further,

Found 490 reviews