PCTEL Reviews | Glassdoor

PCTEL Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
PCTEL CEO David Neumann
David Neumann
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company affords employees with the flexibility that allows them to achieve their goals and maintain a healthy work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and working culture(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Bloomingdale, IL

    I worked at PCTEL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked with a great team of people willing to work together to do what it takes to get the job done. It was a very collaborative, friendly environment.

    Cons

    Not enough resources to tackle the inflow of projects caused conflicting priorities.

    PCTEL2019-04-18
  2. "Project Management not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCTEL for less than a year

    Pros

    work life balance and flexible hours

    Cons

    lack to understanding to grow the company

    PCTEL2019-03-13
  3. "A Stable Industry Leader with Great Prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomingdale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are committed to the success of the company. They are valued and treated with respect. The company affords employees with the flexibility that allows them to achieve their goals and maintain a healthy work life balance. Changes are happening under the new CEO, with vision and drive. Co-workers are friendly and treat you like family.

    Cons

    Office environment is a little dated.

    Advice to Management

    Cross department collaboration could use some improvement. Team building will help with efficiency.

    PCTEL2018-03-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Uneducated unintelligent coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Bloomingdale, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCTEL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent paycheck, constantly busy, overtime, no uniforms, lockers provided, good Christmas luncheons, Bonus checks at the end of the year.

    Cons

    No one understands anything written or spoken in the American language. Most employees came from another country. Group leader is not friendly, doesn’t know how to manage the line she runs properly and has a terrible way of talking to people and to her boss. Many people are jealous of others and watch what other people are doing when they should be focused on their own work. Cheating on yearly safety training tests (...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire honest and hardworking Americans. Develop group leader training.

    PCTEL2018-03-26

    PCTEL Response

    April 19, 2018VP Corporate Resources & Chief Risk Officer

    At PCTEL, we appreciate the feedback and encourage open communications within the team. PCTEL is an international company and actively promotes diversity and embraces different cultures. At the core of our values is the expectation that everyone is treated with respect and fairness. ...

    Show More
  5. "5G Radio Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time

    Pros

    Company investing aggressively in 5G wireless measurement technology. Exciting new research area for DSP , algorithm, and software defined radio (SDR) professionals.

    Cons

    Some market uncertainty in timing or need for products. Relatively small, nichey market.

    Advice to Management

    Hire the best people. Make more of the right bets. Lead with technology

    PCTEL2018-02-06

    PCTEL Response

    April 16, 2018VP Corporate Resources & Chief Risk Officer

    At PCTEL, we appreciate the feedback and encourage open communications within the team. PCTEL is an international company and actively promotes diversity and embraces different cultures. At the core of our values is the expectation that everyone is treated with respect and fairness. ...

    Show More
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people , great team and great work culture

    Cons

    Small organization but changes happening since new CEO

    PCTEL2018-01-23
  7. "A company with potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time

    Pros

    The company is in a good industry that is growing. It is not too large that if you have a skill and desire you can move to different areas and contribute. Good benefits and working culture.

    Cons

    Employees work well in their own groups, but there isn't always good coordination between groups. would like to see more outside activities for employees to build stronger bonds

    Advice to Management

    spend time on long term strategy. PCTEL has a good work force.

    PCTEL2017-12-29
  8. "By far the best place I've ever worked..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers, strong performing company, very committed to best serving its staff and being an industry leader. Very nice facility, great emphasis on a work-life balance. Management is very skilled in their respective fields, employees genuinely seem to enjoy what they do and the longevity of staff members speaks to the company's core success-based focus : its people

    Cons

    The lunch room has limited vending options and the machines are not updated to allow debit card transactions. There should be more recognition and celebration of employees (e.g. monthly birthday/anniversary company gatherings with cake)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work but never get complacent. Try to innovate ways to truly delve into the strengths of all employees and allow them to flourish all the while feeling invested in for their contributions to the whole.

    PCTEL2017-12-18
  9. "Learning Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time

    Pros

    I've worked for PCTEL for several years and have had the opportunity to work in different areas of the company. This has allowed me to learn many new things and help advance my career

    Cons

    Need to shift some of the focus from tactical to strategic

    Advice to Management

    Given the size of the company it affords young people the ability to learn more in a few years than they might learn at a larger company in a short period of tome. Continue to enhance the learning experience for employees.

    PCTEL2017-12-18
  10. "great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCTEL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and training opportunities .I've been able to learn the business, take classes, and grow my areas of responsibility. Collaborative work environment--lots of smart people who work well together. Exciting work on new technologies, and entering some new markets as well.

    Cons

    Small-to-medium-sized company, so career paths within the company are mixed--but they give you opportunities when they are available and support their long-term employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on new technology opportunities.

    PCTEL2017-12-06
Found 53 reviews