PPL Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
25%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
PPL Chairman, President and CEO William H. Spence
William H. Spence
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Those mistakes can range from anything obvious to anything upper management wants to define as an error in order to punish a non-favorite employee(in 11 reviews)

  • "Limited opportunities for promotion/growth unless you live in Allentown (headquarters)(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Cybersecurity in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PPL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm really enjoying my adventure at PPL. The mission of protecting the power grid is one that is easy to get your hands around, thus everyone understands what they are working for and why. Leadership is driving a number of really fun transformation initiatives within the business units and in IT that are extremely valuable for my resume. Last but not least, I really enjoy the work/life balance that the company attempts to provide everyone. I highly recommend considering opportunities at PPL Electric Utilities.

    Cons

    If you've never worked at a Utility, there's a lot to learn, however, the long-term employees are more than happy to share their knowledge. Change seems to be a constant as well, so if you want a boring, mundane opportunity, don't look here.

    PPL2019-06-26
  2. "Great stable and family-friendly company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PPL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PPL is a very nice place to work. I have pride in the fact that I work for a company with such rich history, mostly wonderful people, and a culture that supports work-life balance.

    Cons

    It's a lean organization, so there are not many opportunities for promotion once you hit a certain level. However, senior leadership is aware of this and is actively looking make improvements, such as getting exposure to different groups, etc.

    Continue reading
    PPL2019-12-06
  3. "Good company with bad management"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Allentown, PA

    I worked at PPL full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers who are competent in the area.

    Cons

    Incompetent management with a focus on politics.

    PPL2020-05-16
  4. "went downhill"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PPL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good pay, great for minorities.

    Cons

    poor leadership, no chance to grow.

    Continue reading
    PPL2020-04-26
  5. "Good job for permanent employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hazleton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PPL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay is good for area

    Cons

    Nepotism and too many egos

    Continue reading
    PPL2019-11-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pressure cooker"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 

    I worked at PPL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    Company only cares about stock price. Constant headcount reductions.

    PPL2019-11-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    1.0
     

    I worked at PPL

    Pros

    Money & benefits. The large cafeteria.

    Cons

    Horrible management culture. Avoid at all costs.

    PPL2019-11-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Think Twice"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PPL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good vacation and sick allowance policies. Salary is very good for the Valley.

    Cons

    Constant major reorganizations, on average, every 2-3 years. The bottom dollar is more important to the company than running the company efficiently. A prime example is their IT department which is in the process of outsourcing almost 300 of their 400 software applications. Why? Because it's cheaper -- doesn't matter that the Subject Matter Experts are no longer involved (mostly because they were all eliminated) and their is no more historical knowledge about anything. It doesn't matter that when you now call the Help Desk, the other end has no idea how to fix anything and uses a script to troubleshoot your issue -- you can be on the phone with them, on average 45 minutes for one issue. Quantity and meeting deadlines is more important than quality and doing it right the first time. It's not what you know, it's who you know. Once you hit a higher salary, your days are numbered there. And if you still have your pension, your days are really numbered!

    Continue reading
    PPL2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Your Ideas aren't wanted here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PPL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Decent office - Great coworkers - Reasonable benefits

    Cons

    - Low average pay - Long hours - Constant political drama between departments - Non-engineer leaders pushing unreasonable agenda - No consideration to senior engineer advice or opinions - Have to be a yes-man for any job growth potential - Huge turnovers - Dysfunctional IT and halt of any product support

    Continue reading
    PPL2019-10-20
  10. "Good place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PPL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work, challenging, never the same day twice.

    Cons

    Company split and downsized 90% of department

    PPL2019-08-27
Found 210 reviews
</>Embed