Peebles Reviews | Glassdoor

Peebles Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Peebles CEO Michael Glazer (no image)
Michael Glazer
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frequent sales and additional employee discount days(in 22 reviews)

  • "I was a part time employee so I can't address the benefits offered to full time employees(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management not highly experienced or educated, heavy push to sell magazines and credit cards to the customers to meet weekly minimums(in 16 reviews)

  • "No upper management help AT ALL(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peebles part-time

    Pros

    Great environment .... local community support

    Cons

    Can't move up fast enough

    Continue reading
    Peebles2018-11-05
  2. "Great place but inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peebles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount and co workers are a plus

    Cons

    Inconsistent and too much change

    Peebles2019-08-05
  3. "ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Erie, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peebles full-time

    Pros

    The co-workers are very nice!

    Cons

    Pay is an absolute insult, especially to managers. No upper management help AT ALL! always short staffed. They make policies that if you follow (yes, you read right) you get into trouble, particularly with coupons. If you dont let the customers use multiple coupons (which is against policy) they'll call corporate and complain and you get into trouble! Oh and let's not forget to mention the fact that not only do you get into trouble, you have to call/ write a letter to said customer apologizing for your bad behavior ( for following policy) and along with the apology, you also have to give them a gift card for their inconvenience!! It is the WORST company in the world to work for!!! All they want you to do is open charges and push magazines that NOBODY wants!! Utterly ridiculous company! And the benefits are laughable! I would give this company a big fat zero for stars if it were an option!

    Continue reading
    Peebles2019-08-26
  4. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mount Pleasant, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at Peebles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Pay. Long hours sometimes

    Peebles2019-05-28
  5. "Company is struggling and inefficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peebles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people work with the company. I had a great DM.

    Cons

    They change pricing and signage, have markdowns in every department every single week. The company is trying to cutback financially, but they are streamlining the budget and hours, without dramatically changing task levels.

    Continue reading
    Peebles2019-03-26
  6. "Perfect for entry-level management experience and skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peebles full-time

    Pros

    Experience Skill building Easy room for growth

    Cons

    Like all retail, some stores are disorganized. It all depends on the management team. High turnover in district management

    Continue reading
    Peebles2019-03-04
  7. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Rio Grande, NJ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peebles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Medical benefits and learning opportunity to take elsewhere

    Cons

    Short staffed and company values are not followed through.

    Peebles2019-02-12
  8. "Simple job but work load varies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E-commerce in Front Royal, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peebles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job mainly entails locating, packaging , and shipping merchandise for online customers' orders. Thus the job requirements are generally pretty easy and there is little training required.

    Cons

    The amount of work per day can greatly vary. Some days you could fulfill over 100 orders, mostly depending on sales and holidays, and other days it can be as little as a dozen. This makes the job rather monotonous with the amount of downtime there is between tasks.

    Peebles2019-01-17
  9. "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Bedford, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peebles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Store manager did best she could to overcome corporate craziness and create a decent work enviroment.

    Cons

    Pushed credit, rewards program, and magazines over daily sales. Takes forever to ring someone out because of all the register prompts. Company micromanages everything making it nearly impossible to do your job. Post voids are not allowed or possible, and if you do to many line voids, your looked at as a thief. I can't help it that someone decides they don't want something after its rang. You're constantly threatened with your job of you don't get high numbers (2 credits, 2 style circle, and 1 magazine a day) or have too many voids. Communication is poor between stores and corporate with customers getting sales fliers that the stores never see. How hard would it be to send out a pdf of mailings so stores know what is going on. Decided to do a company wide ho mb e expansion and they gave the stores a week notice and wanted it done yesterday. You know a project of that magnitude was in the works, why wait till the last minute to tell the stores? I lost vacation time because of this move. Coupons, coupons, coupons. They put out a great coupon to bring people into the store only to make 75% of the store excluded from coupons and we have to get yelled out. I got to the point I overrode a lot of coupons. The list can go on and on.

    Continue reading
    Peebles2019-02-04
  10. "STRESSFUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peebles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of one!

    Cons

    Everday was a challenge and everything I did was a challenge.

    Continue reading
    Peebles2018-11-04
Found 121 reviews