KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Phoenix Operations Group

Engaged Employer

Phoenix Operations Group

Add a Review

Phoenix Operations Group Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 17 reviews

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Phoenix Operations Group President Greg Kamigawachi (no image)
Greg Kamigawachi
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Best benefits around.(in 6 reviews)
  • "The management is genuinely interested in your professional goals and interests, and encourages you to pursue them.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Small contractor that takes care of their people

    Mar 2, 2022 - Systems Integrator in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In the past at other federal defense contractors what you often see is that people are treated as replaceable cogs. Money runs out for a contract and either the person has to find their own replacement work in a company or they get no choice to find different work and have to find a new job. This past year with the tumult of continuing resolutions I've been impressed on how agile Phoenix has been in finding and getting coverage for all their various projects at various locations. They treat people like assets instead of replaceable parts. Benefits are great and even though the company is mostly distributed they try to do things to get people together like a Call of Duty night or charity fundraisers in an area. Looking forward to see what the next year brings.

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Hybrid Work Environment, Import Cause

    Oct 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Phoenix uses a hybrid work model that allows me to work from home with occasional visits to the office.

    Cons

    Phoenix is hyper focused on government and military programs. This may not appeal to everyone, but it is an important cause

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic Small Contractor

    Jun 28, 2021 - Software Engineer in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Phoenix offers employees some of the best benefits in the sector and the small company atmosphere means that managers are extremely approachable and friendly. They also pay slightly above average for the locality.

    Cons

    As a small contracting company that takes on a fair number of subcontracting positions, Phoenix can be at the mercy of some larger companies when it comes to tasking and objectives. If the prime contractor mishandles a contract or doesn't lead from the front, engineers acting in the subcontracting role can suffer from periods of stress and low productivity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Phoenix Operations Group Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for your review - message received and acknowledged! Phoenix has recently invested heavily in prime contract proposals and pursuits. So far in 2021, we’ve been awarded three new prime contracts and we are awaiting several more. Phoenix is (and always will be) focused on mission impact, regardless of contract types. However, we are very proud that our clients and employees have trusted us to lead critical programs as a prime.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with room to grow and learn

    Feb 4, 2021 - Business Development Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers have a ton of experience and knowledge. Everyone helps each other out with projects and proposals. Good work environment with good benefits. Leadership is easy to reach and always willing to listen to employees.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Company I've Worked For

    Jun 16, 2020 - Software Engineer in Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fellow employees are some of the most talented and happy people I've had the pleasure of working with. Phoenix tries and succeeds at doing right by them and everyone stays happy with the company and leadership.

    Cons

    Can't think of ANYTHING to put here!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Feb 6, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Belcamp, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Phoenix has been very accommodating to schedules and commutes. Phoenix is also actively interested in giving back to the community and regularly hosts events to support different charitable groups. Management is responsive and actively tries to make sure employees have what they need.

    Cons

    You're not always in close proximity to other Phoenix personnel so you need to be able to swim on your own.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best place I've ever worked

    Jan 12, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked full-time at Phoenix Operations Group for almost 3 years. During that time the management has helped me further develop my technical skills and have supported me in all my professional and personal development objectives. I can't say enough good things about the management. The company is fairly young and still small. If your looking for a better place to work then here it is. They work hard to get you into positions that are challenging and that align not only with the company objectives but most importantly yours. Also the compensation and benefits are top notch, 10% 401(k) and good medical, etc...

    Cons

    Personally, I've seen no cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Phoenix Operations Group Response

    Recruiter & Founder

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We aim to continue to keep all of our employees challenged and happy in their careers.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Very good company

    May 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Aber Prov Grd, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Phoenix has some of the best benefits I've ever even heard of. You get to spec out your own laptop, your birthday off as a paid holiday, free healthcare, and a giant 401k match. The work is interesting as well; you aren't just a body filling a slot. It's a small company but that is a good thing in this field. Further, the management truly seems to care about your happiness.

    Cons

    Haven't seen any cons yet :)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Phoenix Operations Group Response

    Recruiter & Founder

    We do care about each and every employee and we're glad it shows! Thank you for the review.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Phoenix is the Place to Be[at]

    Feb 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Phoenix is by far the best company I have worked for, both professionally and personally. Leadership is dependable and honest. They go out of their way to ensure that their employees are taken care of as well as on a career path that suits their desires as well as strengths. There are also plenty of growth opportunities in regards to professional development. Amazing company.

    Cons

    Really can't think of any cons as of now.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great so far!

    May 29, 2017 - Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, some are very creative: birthday off, open-source bonuses, recurring referral bonuses, whitepaper bonuses, company-contribution of 10% to 401k, all insurance premiums paid, training & continuing education bonus, custom-built laptop, and PTO.

    Cons

    As a small company, there isn't a lot of administrative / infrastructure support... but the management team is super-responsive whenever I have an issue or question.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Phoenix Operations Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Phoenix Operations Group? Share Your Experiences

or

Phoenix Operations Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Phoenix Track Night
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Company Party 2020
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Company Party 2020
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Company Party 2020
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Company Party 2020
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Company Party 2020
Phoenix Operations Group photo of: Phoenix Employee CPR Training
See All Photos