Power Design Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
85%
Recommend to a Friend
Power Design CEO Frank Musolino
Frank Musolino
0 Rating
Pros
  • "There is no other company like PDI(in 37 reviews)

  • "Fulfilling work environment with endless opportunities(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "None - Can't say enough good things about PDI(in 23 reviews)

  • "Must be ready for a fast paced work environment(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 11, 2021 - Journeyman Electrician in King of Prussia Post Office, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to manage your piece of the job. The company really reaches out to check on progress and reward programs are cool too.

      Cons

      Chain of command is pretty long which cause 2 problems. 1 , you can't get nothing done internally because it takes too long to get to the right person. 2. The main people don't get to see the jobs. Sometimes jobs have problems and if your company doesn't communicate effectively it becomes bigger plroblems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you had a positive experience with Power Design and enjoyed our recognition programs. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve communication, the SOURCE would love to hear from you! Again, thank you for leaving a review.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad company but terrible management

      Apr 3, 2021 - Foreman in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation is pretty good, they pay more than most non union contractors. I was always able to reach out to upper management with questions and concerns and they were always very responsive, I found that to be true with HR too.

      Cons

      The company is based out of Florida, leaving very little direct oversight on superintendents in other areas and allowing them to get away with murder. My experience with the superintendent I worked for was so bad it inspired me to leave the trade altogether and find a new career. We (the foreman) got no answers, guidance or communication and had to pick up the slack of someone who seemed to almost be working against us. Their was no team, it was him vs. us. The things he was able to get away with due to the lack of oversight was absolutely astonishing, leaving the foreman to pick up the slack.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. While we strive to create an environment of team collaboration, we are always looking to grow and improve. The SOURCE is here to listen, should you wish to reach out directly.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Ask to meet your team!

      Apr 18, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company parties. Almost everyone gets a credit card, and it seems like most charge anything they want on it! A lot of growth if you are good at sucking up! When interviewing I highly recommend meeting the people you’re going to work with. Most will be honest about the departments working environment.

      Cons

      Very few departments have their act together. Too many processes that get in the way of a successful production. Too busy with their image, what matters the most like a successful job is just talked about and not acted on. My department VP sends out condescending emails with empty promises and false hope. Then told us he was going to treat us like a sports team... and benching people is all he meant by that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback – it is very important to us. Teamwork is one of our core values at Power Design, and we want all of our team members to feel valued and welcome. If you would be willing, we encourage you to please reach out directly to the SOURCE to discuss your experience further. We are here to listen.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, terrible CIO

      Mar 2, 2021 - IT Helpdesk Specialist in Saint Petersburg, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has a pretty friendly and high energy atmosphere. Free coffee and sometimes food.

      Cons

      Company parties over bonuses. Management can get away with hell and still be there. Lower pay compaired to same positions at other companies. CIO is manipulative and trys to pit his departments against each other. He has his top developers working insane hours on software the company doesn't need to justify his budget. He let's some of his departments treat others like crap for no reason and he's shown extreme favouritism to employees. This isnt even half of what I've seen him do there. Bottom line: Decent place to work so long as you're not in IT.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Here at PDI, we strive to create a welcoming and professional environment that allows our team members to be successful and feel comfortable expressing any concerns. We encourage you to contact the SOURCE to provide additional feedback – we are here to listen.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Distracting Employees with a Show

      Apr 17, 2021 - Assistant Project Manager in Saint Petersburg, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large Events and Good Food Company will continue to grow

      Cons

      Poor communication and accountability Open nepotism

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We’re glad that you are enjoying some of our #PDILife perks, but we're always looking for ways to improve our processes. Please consider reaching out to the SOURCE directly so we can discuss your PDI experiences further.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Place To Work, But Has A Lot Of Issues Lurking Under the Surface

      Jan 13, 2021 - Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice campus, good location (for office employees), good health care, and nice coworkers.

      Cons

      Many teams and departments operate very inefficiently. The company is trying to grow too fast, and bases their success on measures that don't really reflect the bigger issues going on. Leadership is generally out of touch with the employees. Over the years I've seen many issues with hires not lasting – they will say they hire for the "culture fit" because the "skills are teachable," however more often than not they hire based on superficial factors, rather than qualified candidates. Additionally, many employees who have been with the company for an extended time (6+ years) coast by, at mid-to-upper-level management positions. Seems like leadership will keep people on payroll or in positions of power, even when they're not right for the job.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Hello! Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to hear more about your personal experience at PDI. We encourage you to please reach out to the SOURCE directly to share your thoughts.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      What a great place to work.

      Feb 24, 2021 - Vice President in Saint Petersburg Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pro's are everything! Working for the Permuy family is awesome

      Cons

      There are none! It's the best place to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Thank you for the raving review! We are so happy to hear you've been enjoying your time as part of our #PDIFamily, we're lucky to have you!

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast Pace

      Feb 16, 2021 - Project Manager in Saint Petersburg Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Face pace work environment that gives back to the community. Plenty of advancement opportunity.

      Cons

      Like any job it can be stressful and travel can be hard with the pandemic, but the opportunities are great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Thank you for your review! We’re glad to hear you that you experienced growth opportunities and our work hard, play hard culture while you were with us. We wish you all the best!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company.

      Feb 26, 2021 - Project Finance Analyst in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Industry that is directly impacted by overall regional, national, and global economics.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Thank you for your review! While the construction industry may fluctuate, we're always looking for ways to stay ahead of tough times so we can best support our #PDIFamily.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      MEPLS Specialists

      Feb 4, 2021 - Virtual Designer in Saint Petersburg, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Campus is beautiful, the people are the brightest in the industry and the company strives to make the workplace feel like one big family. Growth is highly encouraged.

      Cons

      For anyone not used to a fast paced and fast growing environment, it could be stressful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Power Design Response

      Communications Strategist

      Thank you for your feedback! Growth is one of our core values - and we strive to ensure our employees have that opportunity. We're so glad that you are loving the #PDILife!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 384 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Power Design Job Seekers

    Project Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Power Design? Share Your Experiences

    Power Design logo
    or