ProteinSimple Reviews | Glassdoor

ProteinSimple Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
ProteinSimple CEO Tim Harkness (no image)
Tim Harkness
10 Ratings
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at ProteinSimple full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good people at this company

    Cons

    none to speak of at this time

    ProteinSimple2019-05-30
  2. "Great culture and great teammates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProteinSimple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Results only work policy provides a very hands-off work environment that allows for a good work-life balance. The culture between management and teammates also fosters a sense of unity as it feels like there is no hierarchy between colleagues.

    Cons

    Results only work policy can be a double edged sword.

    ProteinSimple2019-09-06
  3. "It's fine I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Assembler in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProteinSimple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, Management is nice

    Cons

    Tight deadlines, boring work

    ProteinSimple2019-08-14
  4. "Flexible work environment, little personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Applications Scientist 
    Recommends

    I worked at ProteinSimple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology that is fun and exciting to engage current and potential customers with. Very flexible work environment with good perks for remotely working with fabulous headquarters (fun place to visit with recreational areas to catch up with coworkers).

    Cons

    Advertising can sometimes be dumbed down, loosing some of the edge the technology has to offer. Ability to grow was minimal with no emphasis on personal growth or transparency into how to be promoted.

    ProteinSimple2019-06-03
  5. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProteinSimple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress environment mostly No issues getting time off Higher up management is approachable for the most part Lots of directors and atleast one VP are female

    Cons

    No scope for growth especially in consumables People you work with may or may not be super competent, unfortunately for me it was the latter Not compensated according the market rate Very relaxed on specifications, each issue is taken case to case as opposed to a specific predefined set of specifications People have set up their own cliques, for a newbie its hard to befriend people especially in consumables It not the best place to work but its not the worst( i have worked at worse places)

    ProteinSimple2018-11-29
  6. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProteinSimple full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment to work in and people are good. Nice facility and great location.

    Cons

    Pay is not to competitive and the hardest workers don't get recognized.

    Continue reading
    ProteinSimple2018-11-08
  7. "Sales person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ProteinSimple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks and lunches. Nice building. Fun employees. Benefits are real nice. Work / Life balance.

    Cons

    HR was absolutely horrible. I still don't know what happened to my 401(k) money. The main reason I left was the Marketing department. Their dysfunction would affect my work flow and then I'd have to carry the blame for their mistake. Compensation was on the lower end of the spectrum.

    Continue reading
    ProteinSimple2018-10-27
  8. "fast paced work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ProteinSimple full-time

    Pros

    Great building, great people, cool products and marketing

    Cons

    fast paced, work requirement is 24/7

    ProteinSimple2018-07-10
  9. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProteinSimple full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very positive people, great place to work.

    Cons

    Lot of changes. Trying hard to make it happen.

    ProteinSimple2018-02-26
  10. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ProteinSimple full-time

    Pros

    Fun ,collaborative work environment. Cool products.

    Cons

    Could use a little more vision from corporate management in terms of company direction.

    ProteinSimple2017-11-18
Found 34 reviews