RareJob Reviews | Glassdoor

RareJob Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
RareJob CEO Gaku Nakamura (no image)
Gaku Nakamura
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They're quick to impose penalties when their incentives are piso-piso(in 31 reviews)

  • "They offer a low pay for newbies(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a very nice experience.

    Cons

    Too low pay and there are too many staffs

    Advice to Management

    You should atleast make your tutor's pay higher

    RareJob2017-08-05
  2. Helpful (37)

    "This company is Unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work anywhere and anytime all you need is your laptop and a headset

    Cons

    I have been a tutor since 2012 and guess what they blame the tutors for student's mistake. One time a student yelled at me because he cannot understand English and the management didn't do anything about it to correct it. And they file 204's even if it is the student's fault. 204 is a penalty for tutors whenever they committed the following: Tutor sent a request to cancel/close the booked lesson less than two days before the lesson date Tutor clicked the "Absent" button in the Attendance Update page Tutor was not able confirm his or her availability (tutor was not able to click the "Stand-by" button in the Attendance Update page on time) FYI I didn't do any of that. I wrote a trouble report because my student's internet is acting up but guess what they didn't listen or at least read my trouble report. All they did was file a 204. I tried asking them to remove it but they didn't. They are asking me to provide screenshots. The thing is I don't save conversation history because it just adds to the memory of my computer and makes it slow. But starting today I don't care if my computer would be slow and mess with my lessons at least I'll have evidence. And FYI they don't pay very well. They only pay php 50.00 ($1.00) per 25 minutes. So it's really weird why they cannot pay me the 100.00 ($2.00) they owed me for wasting my time trying to reach the students with bad internet connection. Well, I don't really mind the 2 bucks they owed me what I cared about is the number of 204s I incurred because if it reached 5% there is a salary deduction plus a penalty wherein a tutor cannot teach for a week. Imagine the low pay and the salary deduction.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Love your tutors

    RareJob2016-10-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (19)

    "Great system and students but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob

    Pros

    Lovable students and CEO Most materials are very effective Systematic Payroll

    Cons

    Low rate Too many staff but cant help you in time of need Unrealistic mock lesson evaluation ( assessors are not even teachers)

    Advice to Management

    Lessen the number of your staff, increase tutors' rate instead.

    RareJob2016-06-01
  5. Helpful (18)

    "Okay for people in-between jobs, and freelancers, but not for those looking for a career path."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RareJob part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, you can work at home

    Cons

    pay isn't big enough, some policies are very student-biased and unfair to tutors

    Advice to Management

    examine some of your policies, not all of them are friendly to your tutors and does virtually nothing to protect them from possible rudeness or verbal abuse from students

    RareJob2014-02-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Rarejob"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor 

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can plot your schedule anytime. I think they're more lenient when it comes to class cancellations as long you provide necessary proof/documents/etc.

    Cons

    Salary I think the previous management was more generous. The incentives were easier to achieve as well.

    RareJob2019-12-09
  7. "There are Better Companies Out There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They allow a flexible schedule to work around with. With 50php as a starter for every 25 minute lesson, pay is just. In addition, they have generous benefits for hard-working tutors. Again, there are other companies with better pay, better system, and better tutor-care.

    Cons

    It's a Japanese owned company. Unless you are the customer, they don't care about your welfare. The system itself is hard to work around with, and the management does not care about your side of the story for irate students. You can do better than RareJob. Make this your stepping stone, or a part-time thing, but do not make a career with this company. It's not worth it.

    RareJob2019-12-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible time, good tutor support

    Cons

    Low rates even for long term tutors

    RareJob2019-12-02
  9. "Growth oriented and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company offers a lot of opportunities to its employees for growth. Flexi-time, Free lunch and other benefits

    Cons

    None that i can remember

    RareJob2019-11-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob

    Pros

    Open for Growth Company Bonus Performance Bonus Employees are friendly Bosses even the CEO is friendly Free lunch Free lodging Free Shuttle Many activities

    Cons

    Low Salary Increase Slow Promotion Low salary

    Advice to Management

    Improve your promotion scheme

    RareJob2019-11-05
  11. "Bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tutor support is amazing. Answers in seconds

    Cons

    Lesson room is buggy, the overall system is not good

    Advice to Management

    na

    RareJob2019-11-15
Found 189 reviews