SSM Health Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
SSM Health President and CEO Laura Kaiser
Laura Kaiser
179 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management sometimes cuts corners in short-sighted ways(in 24 reviews)

  • "High turnover and not sure of the future of this business(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SSM Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many incentives for the employees -Gift cards, BBQ, Lunch

    Cons

    Holiday Pay is taken out of your PTO

    SSM Health2020-04-28
  2. "Who your supervisor is makes the job."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SSM Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, no weekends, good benefits.

    Cons

    No over time really, pay is low, office politics.

    Continue reading
    SSM Health2020-05-22
  3. "."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSM Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy, fun, collaborative, respected, life balance

    Cons

    rigid, many different personalities clash

    SSM Health2020-05-21
  4. "Great Benefits - leadership is lacking in some departments"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Account Representative in Mount Vernon, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SSM Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is fair and insurance benefits are excellent. Just revised and the PTO took a hit in lieu of the betterment of other areas. Leadership has great potential and the framework is their for a fantastic work-life balance culture.

    Cons

    I have said many times. Healthcare can not be run on a system of numbers and provide adequate quality care to patients. Southern Illinois needs to do some revising or revisit its leadership training for management. Selection should be fair and should not be based upon whether or not they "fit in with the rest of the management team." It should also not be based upon technical skills. Not everyone is capable of being a leader. I saw a lot of favoritism and a lack of leadership within individual departments. Supervisors were not always available, and much was diverted to team leads. Team leads were promoted based upon skill set and productivity. Most of them lacked people skills.

    Continue reading
    SSM Health2020-05-04
  5. "Not for me.."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Verona, WI
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SSM Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with ability to transfer.

    Cons

    A lot of near bullying from upper coworkers, lots of mess ups with paperwork from upper management/offices. No teamwork.. Seemed they were trying to get me to quit after medical leave.

    SSM Health2020-05-13
  6. "Workplace culture not for everyone"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Department 

    I worked at SSM Health full-time

    Pros

    Longstanding healthcare company - job stability

    Cons

    advancement is based on favoritism

    SSM Health2020-05-04
  7. "CNA @ SSM HEALTH HOSPITAL"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSM Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, decent benefits, overall good mission, no mandatory overtime.

    Cons

    Patient Ratios changing without input from staff, constant understaffing/being pestered to work overtime (we value our free time with our families and friends living life)

    Continue reading
    SSM Health2020-04-18
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Director of Nursing in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at SSM Health full-time

    Pros

    Leadership fantastic. Great growth opportunities

    Cons

    System approach for all initiatives

    SSM Health2020-04-07
  9. "Transforming Healthcare"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSM Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Through our exceptional healthcare services, we reveal the healing presence of God. Employees live this mission every day. Like our founding sisters, we “continue courageously” even when faced with challenges such as COVID.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    SSM Health2020-04-06
  10. "nice"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SSM Health full-time

    Pros

    great place to work really enjoyed it there

    Cons

    it was too far from my house was my only con

    SSM Health2020-02-23
Found 906 reviews