Saga Group Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Saga Group CEO Euan Sutherland
Euan Sutherland
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team work, great people and staff discount(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good place to work, work life balance is good(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Complaints are not professionally handled by the senior management team(in 14 reviews)

  • "Numerous redundancies, no job security, staff treated like a number not a person(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Anonymous manager in the company

      Mar 19, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel opportunities and great people

      Cons

      Top tier not on the pulse of employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Saga Group Response

      Recruitment Lead

      Thanks for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Saga and I appreciate the review. Regards, Gary N

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Waste of time

      Jul 8, 2011 - Sales Agent in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      small environment, nice co-workers and not a lot of inter-office politics. decent pay based on amount of employees. could have been a cool place if the boss wasn't all over the place

      Cons

      where should i start? lack of leadership- not consistent. delegate w/o clear direction and impatient. used inappropriate communication with employees. environment not encouraging.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good for you but not your career

      Sep 16, 2016 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary for the area Some people are so nice Work/life balance Staff discounts Staff events

      Cons

      Paranoid management "This is how we've always done it" Outdated processes, structure and ideas Every day is the same Parking

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A mixed bag

      Mar 12, 2021 - Customer Service in Folkestone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pension scheme was quite generous although there were talks of reforming this around the time I left so not sure if it is as good now. Saga is also a recognisable brand in the UK and is good to have on your CV if you're looking to move on in the industry.

      Cons

      When I was there Saga had this very old fashioned approach to heirarchy whereby it was impossible to seek advice from senior management without having to go through someone else. It came across as a bit arrogant; almost as though it was beneath them to be contacted by lesser employees. The atmosphere in Saga was cliquey and prone to a lot of office gossip, unnecessary workplace drama. I'm not sure if this is symptomatic of a lot of employees joining as school leavers and not maturing as they climb the career ladder as this atmosphere permeated from above. It was, at times, toxic. There was also this culture that the Saga way of doing things was some sort of industry gold standard although since I've left and joined my new employer, I've come to see that by comparing Saga's business processes to where I am now, that the Saga way was often inferior and did more to antagonise their customers and staff than help.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good benefits, great colleagues

      Dec 1, 2020 - Senior Information Technology Auditor in Sandgate, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great place to work. Colleagues friendly and supportive. I enjoyed my time working here. A lot of change and restructuring, a willingness to finally move forward technologically and with more modern methods in some areas. Staff turnover high in some areas. There is a degree of the favourites game, but that can happen in many organisations, not to say it is right, but it is common. I would happily work here again. Despite losing a heap of money due to falling share price and share reissues. Would not have left if I had not been made redundant. I still believe in the Saga brand and that their customers are truly valued.

      Cons

      Hours can be long and this can become the norm rather than the odd occurrence. There are some pockets where morale is low and culture is poor, with over bearing managers. Contact centre work was highly stressful and the culture there was poor. Treated like a child, over micromanaged and treated like you were lazy regardless of how hard you worked or how much overtime you did. Additionally, breaks were your responsibility, but you had no control over them, which often meant they were missed. Far more take than give and commission very challenging to actually earn.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Saga Group Response

      Recruitment Lead

      Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your time working here. Regards, Gary

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay

      Apr 25, 2021 - Sales Advisor in Folkestone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary for an easy job

      Cons

      Working from home and boring

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company but a little way to go

      Apr 14, 2021 - Email Developer in Folkestone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and empathy and bonus are generous

      Cons

      Career progression is limited within the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Current employer

      Apr 10, 2021 - Prefer Not to Say in Folkestone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, benefits, location, hours, fun

      Cons

      Corporate, Climbers, Lifers, opaque, posturing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great worklife balance

      Apr 8, 2021 - Scrum Master in Folkestone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working Decent salary Progression possible

      Cons

      Have to be self motivated

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      5***** company to work for

      Feb 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You're considered as a person and not a number! Saga take your feedback onboard and are actively looking to improve process' where they can and do so quickly. They're a very adaptable company and flexible to work for, the hours are good, you work from home which is ideal if you've got a busy life and don't need the wasted hours in the commute. The company cares, it's still got it's family ethos but in a larger organisation. It's brilliant.

      Cons

      None - it's a fantastic company to work for and I love working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Saga Group Response

      Recruitment Lead

      Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are great to read. There has been a lot of changes and I believe we are still true to our values and family ethos so it is good to see that reflected in your review. Many thanks, Gary N.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 198 Reviews

    Work at Saga Group? Share Your Experiences

    Saga Group logo
    or