Saga Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Saga Group Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Saga Group CEO Lance Batchelor (no image)
Lance Batchelor
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Anonymous manager in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Saga Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel opportunities and great people

    Cons

    Top tier not on the pulse of employees

    Saga Group2019-03-19

    Saga Group Response

    April 9, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Thanks for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Saga and I appreciate the review. Regards, Gary N

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good for you but not your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group

    Pros

    Salary for the area Some people are so nice Work/life balance Staff discounts Staff events

    Cons

    Paranoid management "This is how we've always done it" Outdated processes, structure and ideas Every day is the same Parking

    Advice to Management

    Some people know better than you - use them, don't punish them. Stop treating 50+ market like senile, fuddy-duddies.

    Saga Group2016-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Agent in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group

    Pros

    small environment, nice co-workers and not a lot of inter-office politics. decent pay based on amount of employees. could have been a cool place if the boss wasn't all over the place

    Cons

    where should i start? lack of leadership- not consistent. delegate w/o clear direction and impatient. used inappropriate communication with employees. environment not encouraging.

    Advice to Management

    take a few courses in MANAGEMENT. learn how to communicate with employees, talk instead of shouting and downing employees. focus on the business at hand instead of trying to have multiple entities. focus on the one with the greatest potential!

    Saga Group2011-07-09
  4. "Not ad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Broadstairs, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good holiday, great support for mental health

    Cons

    Such a pressured job, get to disciplinary to quickly

    Advice to Management

    Think about your workers feelings

    Saga Group2019-10-05
  5. "Good Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay has recently been reviewed so our contact centre roles are now much improved and very competitive in local market. Balanced approach to reward, engagement, focus and performance. Lots of opportunities across the business, to develop a career within our contact centres, our support areas or a wide variety of other functions.

    Cons

    No specifics that I can think of

    Saga Group2019-08-02

    Saga Group Response

    August 5, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. It was great to read about the career opportunities available at Saga and also the new and improved salaries which put our contact centre roles ahead of the market when it comes to reward. Thanks again, Gary N

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Prepare to work to very high targets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and commission is available

    Cons

    Performance is constantly monitored. A lot of pressure to exceed targets. This role is hard selling.

    Saga Group2019-07-04

    Saga Group Response

    July 31, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to read that you are pleased with the salary and the great commission that is available at Saga. In order to give our customers the best service, we do have to closely monitor the conversations that take place. With all areas of our business, we encourage our team to exceed targets and to continuously improve. If you have any areas that you would like to discuss further I would love to hear from you. As a current employee, you can contact me directly at any time. Regards, Gary N

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "had the good and the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great community of people

    Cons

    penny pinching shareholders means all suffer

    Saga Group2019-07-05

    Saga Group Response

    July 31, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It was good to read that you believe there is a great community of people at Saga. I wholeheartedly agree with you and that is one of the reasons that makes Saga a great place to work. Kind regards, Gary N

  8. Helpful (1)

    "start progressing and it gets stupid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Folkestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    salary, other staff members are ok

    Cons

    terrible shifts, robot managers, constantly changing shifts working most weekends or lates, if you do well they up your targets making it nearly impossible to progreee further. many other frustrations

    Saga Group2019-07-04

    Saga Group Response

    July 31, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave a review. I'm glad to read that you think our salaries are good and the team around you are pros. As a current employee, I would really appreciate it if you could contact me so I can learn more about the areas of frustration you mention. kind regards, Gary N

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, not such a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary is good, meet some amazing people

    Cons

    High stress, so many different plates to juggle feels like 6ou are always chasing your tail.

    Saga Group2019-07-01

    Saga Group Response

    July 31, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and it was great to read that you are meeting some amazing people at Saga. Positive information like this is really useful to candidates looking to join Saga. As a current employee, I would welcome you contacting me so I can learn more about your concerns and then work with you to improve things where I can. Kind regards, Gary N

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Hastings, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people although when your being worked so hard you don’t get a chance to interact with them

    Cons

    Management are awful No one cares Low morale No job security Unrealistic expectations Low salary Low commission

    Advice to Management

    Sort it out or give up

    Saga Group2019-07-21

    Saga Group Response

    July 31, 2019Recruitment Lead

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to read that you didn't get a chance to interact more with all of the great people at Saga when you were with us. I definitely care and I would be free to have a conversation with you about your experience if you wish. You can reach me on saga.careers@saga.co.uk Kind regards, Gary N

    Show Less
Found 136 reviews