Sentry Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Sentry Chairman of the Board, President and CEO Pete G. McPartland
Pete G. McPartland
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company Good benefits great training(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for, I was just too far away then I wanted to travel for work(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Trust of you as a professional doesn't exist, upper management bully individuals to get work done(in 16 reviews)

  • "The gap between home office/support & the field is a challenge at all national insurers and Sentry is no different(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Experience, Great People, Comfortable Everything"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Developer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - easy pipeline of communication/lots of room to grow as a developer - youth focused and accepting of young developer culture - lots of opportunities to experience the company

    Cons

    - if any, it would be that they were not clear on some tasks and when switching teams you are not given a lot of responsibility right away. Which is to be expected

    Continue reading

    Sentry Response

    October 17, 2019Sentry Insurance Employee

    I’m glad you had a positive experience. We’re dedicated to investing in our IT systems and helping our associates develop their skills. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions—we appreciate them. Jim Frank – Chief Information Officer

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Wonderful Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sentry offers great benefits and additional incentives throughout the year to keep associates motivated. The management teams that I've worked for so far actually care about associate feedback and changes are usually implemented based on this feedback.

    Cons

    Some practices are a little outdated. For example, working remotely isn't a widely accepted option. Additionally, each department has its own set of rules and way of running things. For example, some things that may be posted on the company web page (Intranet) as company policy may not apply to your department because the department has the final call on most policies. This makes the transition to positions in other departments somewhat difficult. Finally, it would be nice if Sentry hired a more diverse workforce. Granted, Sentry is a top-rated company for hiring women, but you don't see a large representation of people of color.

    Sentry Response

    August 3, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for your comments. We strive to continually improve our practices by taking constructive feedback seriously. We also keep pushing ourselves and our company to be more inclusive. Sometimes our efforts are noticed. Sometimes they’re not. But that doesn’t mean we’ll stop working towards the goal of being a great place, including continually striving to become more diverse and inclusive. You also mentioned problems with accepting working from home. Since more than 95% of our associates currently work out of the office due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we’re all learning much more about the practice—and we aren’t rushing back into our buildings in the near future. Please talk to your manager or an HR representative for more clarification on long-term plans. Javier Sotelo – Director of Employment and Employee Relations


  3. "High volume"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster in Scottsdale, AZ

    I worked at Sentry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, management and culture

    Cons

    Can be stressful and high volume

  4. "Above average bartender experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Stevens Point, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice bar and some great perks

    Cons

    A lot of corporate oversee and involvement comes with large company.

    Sentry Response

    August 7, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    I’m glad you enjoyed working with us. We’re proud to offer our hospitality services in the central Wisconsin community and thank you for contributing to those services. Because SentryWorld is a company of Sentry Insurance, we do work very closely with the company and its leadership. While our relationship does lead to more corporate involvement, it also means they can help provide additional resources to help us continually improve and provide an excellent experience for our guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Mike James – Vice President of Sentry Services and SentryWorld General Manager

  5. "Good place to work with nice benafits."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good compensation, friendly management.

    Cons

    Limited remote work opportunities are available.

    Sentry Response

    July 7, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience while working with us. As we’ve responded to COVID-19, the majority of our associates are working remotely. We understand that moving forward, remote work will continue to be a topic on many associates’ minds and is something we’ll continue to evaluate. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. –Jim Frank, Chief Information Officer

  6. "This was a work from home position."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was nice to work from home.

    Cons

    Everything changed all the time, was hard to keep up.

    Continue reading

    Sentry Response

    June 30, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed working from home. We’re always looking for ways to encourage companywide communication and keep associates in work-from-home positions informed and connected, particularly through our intranet service. Your feedback is a good reminder that there’s always room to improve. Thank you again for your input. Javier Sotelo – Director of Employment and Employee Relations

  7. "Great work culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Opportunities to grow Open to ideas Manager listens to you

    Cons

    Not a global work culture Prefers everyone to be in office Office politics

    Sentry Response

    June 9, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    I’m glad to see you’re enjoying your position at Sentry. We strive to provide work/life balance and career advancement opportunities for all our associates. If you ever have any concerns about your work environment, please have a discussion with your manager or reach out to your HR representative. Javier Sotelo – Director of Employment and Employee Relations

  8. "Not all teams made equally"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Middleton, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Liked a lot of my coworkers, benefits were pretty good

    Cons

    Front-end teams get all the glory, prod support is a dumpster fire of incompetent management. The company also likes to give people a narrow set of responsibilities to the point that it becomes mind numbing work where your skillset will degenerate if you don't code as a hobby outside of work.

    Sentry Response

    June 9, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We take pride in the skills and capabilities of our Information Technology associates and teams. Our systems call for a diverse range of technologies, responsibilities and assignments. I’m sorry to hear that your experience did not match your expectations. As we work to continuously improve our teams, we’ll consider your feedback. Jim Frank – Chief Information Officer

  9. "Best insurance company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility with work/life balance. Pay. Volume of pendings and workload. Medical insurance. 401k plans

    Cons

    None. Claims is claims. But if you can handle the busy life of claim volume. Come work here. This company will treat you well.

    Continue reading

    Sentry Response

    May 19, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    I’m pleased to know you’re enjoying working with us. We recognize working in claims can be challenging at times, so I’m happy you feel you have work/life balance. That’s what we strive for. Thank you for sharing your comments. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

  10. COVID-19

    "My experience has been rewarding."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They take real good care of their work at home employees. They let us do our jobs without being micromanaged and they are there when we need them.

    Cons

    The challenge of working here is being on the front lines especially during this pandemic. The phones are ringing back to back with no breathing room in between calls. The calls start as soon as you log in until the moment you log out. People are upset with us because we're not offering discounts like other insurance companies are. We are being cussed out and being called names. It's pretty bad right now. Definitely out of the norm... Hopefully everything will be normal again sooner rather than later. It's mentally exhausting right now. They are begging and pleading with us to work OT but it's very difficult to to do anything above the 40 hrs per week. It's just too much on the psyche...

    Continue reading

    Sentry Response

    May 18, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for letting us know that, overall, you enjoy your work and feel supported. We share your concerns about the current situation and understand that our individualized approach to working with affected customers—waiving fees, offering extended grace periods for payments, or accepting nominal payments to ensure they have adequate insurance coverage—can still lead to a difficult conversation when a customer has a specific expectation. As a customer service representative, you are the first point of contact with our customers and I appreciate the support you provide our customers during this unique and difficult time. We understand it’s especially important to get breaks during times of high workload, and as much as the extra time on the phones is appreciated, signing up for overtime should only come after you have had the break you need. The program you mentioned is one of many pieces of a larger approach to engage, recognize, and reward associates. Thank you for your suggestion. Please feel free to communicate any additional concerns you have with your supervisor or HR representative. Thank you again for all you’re doing to help support our customers. Rob Yeiser - Assistant Vice President of Personal Lines Customer and Brand Development

Found 317 reviews