Cover image for Sentry
Logo
See All Photos

Sentry

Engaged Employer

Sentry

Add a Review

Sentry Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 504 of over 526 reviews
3.6
78% Recommend to a Friend
Sentry Chairman of the Board, President and CEO Pete G. McPartland
88% Approve of CEO

Found 504 of over 526 reviews

3.6
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Sentry Chairman of the Board, President and CEO Pete G. McPartland
Pete G. McPartland
244 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sentry and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company amazing benefits

    Nov 16, 2022 - Claims Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company has great benefits and good management

    Cons

    Lots of time behind a computer

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased to see you’re enjoying your time at Sentry and have a good relationship with your leadership team. Many of our positions at Sentry do involve time at a computer. However, we encourage our associates to ensure they step away throughout the day to take breaks. I encourage you to use that relationship you have with your manager to have a conversation about your situation. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Hybrid work environment

    Nov 17, 2022 - Sr. Claims Adjuster in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sentry as a whole has moved to a hybrid program, work from home Monday and Friday and in office Tuesday-Thursday. The benefit package is great and Sentry has considered employee feedback.

    Cons

    The environment/climate is determined specifically by your team and who you report to. Some have the best experience and some struggle to connect or engage.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We encourage and facilitate feedback with all of our employees at Sentry. It’s an important part of our culture and plays an integral role in providing the best benefits package and environment possible for our employees. I acknowledge there are different personalities within teams. However, we have numerous pathways built in to encourage engagement across our organization. If you have additional ideas to help foster that connection, please have a conversation with your manager. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

  3. Join the Sentry team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Yikes…

    Nov 10, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good compensation & benefits. That is the extent of the good

    Cons

    Field Leadership is almost laughable. Nothing wrong with external talent, but bringing in people with zero sales or insurance knowledge is an embarrassment. Quote volume is all they care about. Regional business is growing much faster than DW. It won’t be long before that is Sentry’s primary distribution channel for mid-market mfg , which completely replaces DW’s purpose. No transparency

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Oct 24, 2022 - Associate Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good IT department for an insurance company

    Cons

    Insurance is boring sometimes, work can get dull.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in having an innovative and award-winning IT department that works with the latest technologies. As in all industries, workloads and type of work can evolve to meet business needs. I encourage you to reach out to your manager if you have specific questions regarding projects and assignments. Jim Frank, Chief Information Officer

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Insurance

    Nov 7, 2022 - Claims Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hybrid schedule Benefits Provided equipment

    Cons

    Lack of training Not a welcoming environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Thank you for providing feedback about your time at Sentry. I’m glad you enjoyed our hybrid work model and our Total Rewards benefits package. I’m sorry you felt our environment wasn’t right for you. As we do for all of our employees, we take great care, time, and pride in providing proper training and support for all of our claims team members. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Can’t say enough stuff about how great the company is

    Oct 20, 2022 - Claims Service Representative III 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Management is supportive and caring. Can’t beat the retirement plan.

    Cons

    Medical benefits are pretty basi. Nothing to write home about.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’m glad to hear about your experience. When we talk about our Claims team, we’re truly talking about a team—co-workers available to help solve problems, provide tips, and share laughs. As far as benefits, we strive to offer a competitive package and quality amenities for our associates, and we’ll continue to invest in these important programs. Thanks again for your feedback. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good Company

    Oct 27, 2022 - Field Sales in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sound company financials, market presence in target markets

    Cons

    Turnover, low morale in field and home office service departments, company is slow to make changes, field sales/service teams tend to be frustrated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Thank you for sharing this review. I’m glad that you recognize and appreciate the financial strength of our company—it’s certainly one of the key differentiators that I’m sure you talk about with customers and prospects. I appreciate your feedback. Customer orientation and desire to be successful are important aspects of our sales roles. Sentry is a great place to work as a sales professional. That said, we’re always looking for opportunities to do better by our associates, including managers, by investing in them in ways they can thrive and grow professionally and personally. Thank you again for providing this feedback, and for the eight years you’ve spent at Sentry. John Hyland President, Direct Writer and Life & Annuities

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great

    Oct 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company to work for and they take care of you

    Cons

    busy day to day duties

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback. At Sentry, we take the same care in serving our employees as we do our customers. We offer a complete benefits package while empowering our associates to maintain a positive work/life balance. We encourage you to reach out to your manager to discuss any additional tools, learning, or process improvement ideas that you may have to assist with daily tasks. Javier Sotelo – Senior Director of Talent

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall good

    Sep 19, 2022 - Corporate Trainer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mutual company that invests in themselves. Manageable growth. Stability. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Bigger than they used to and can be a little slow to move/change. Fell behind on wages and benefits as of recently.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It’s good to see that you view Sentry as a growing, stable company that provides a positive work/life balance. We strive to offer a competitive benefits package and quality amenities for our associates, and we’ll continue to invest in these important programs. Thank you again for your perspectives. Sarah Hundt, Sr. Director – Corporate Learning

  11. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Role consolidation: Bargain Employment Costs

    Sep 27, 2022 - Claims Technician II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great schedule flexibility, decent benefits

    Cons

    They're continuing to consolidate roles within and across departments. What used to be the job of 3 people is now done by one associate. And they haven't changed their metrics to match that, so you better be ready to be overworked.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sentry Response

    Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you taking time to share this review. I’m pleased to see you’re enjoying our flexible work schedule and our Total Rewards benefits package. I’m not clear on the background relative to comments regarding role consolidation. We do look to create more efficient workflows, and also to cross-train associates to ensure professional growth opportunities and coverage for our customers. We also monitor workload impacts to keep workloads manageable and create a positive work/life balance for our associates. I encourage you to discuss your workload concerns with your manager. I appreciate your feedback. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

Viewing 1 - 10 of 504 Reviews
</>Embed

Sentry Reviews FAQs

Sentry has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 526 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Sentry to a friend and 71% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sentry employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sentry. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

78% of Sentry employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sentry 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Sentry to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be workplace, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Sentry Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sentry? Share Your Experiences

or

Sentry Careers

Cover image for Sentry

More than insurance At Sentry, we truly are more than business insurance. We’re driven to serve our customers—and our associates and...More

  • Culture
  • Careers
  • Students
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Sentry

286 days ago

Company News
Being named one of America’s best employers is especially meaningful because the recognition comes directly from our employees and those in our industry. We focus on relationships, helping our colleagues, customers, and communities thrive.
Shared image - Forbes names Sentry one of America's best employers | Sentry Insurance
Forbes names Sentry one of America's best employers | Sentry Insurance
www.sentry.com
See all

Sentry Photos

+ Add Photo
Sentry photo of: Division Street
Sentry photo of: Division Street
Sentry photo of: Division Street
Sentry photo of: Division Street
Sentry photo of: Division Street
Sentry photo of: Division Street
Sentry photo of: Division Street - Training Room
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Sentry Job Seekers Also Viewed

American Family Insurance Logo
American Family Insurance

3.7

1,839 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 526 Sentry reviews submitted anonymously by Sentry employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Sentry is right for you.