SevOne Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
SevOne CEO Jack Sweeney
Jack Sweeney
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "A lot of great people worked here and it was ultimately a positive mark on my career(in 15 reviews)

  • "It is still a great place to work(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Is currently going through growing pains(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management is a total disgrace: self-centered, egomaniacal jerks(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Change is constant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SevOne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working with world class customers and peers, hired by some of the best people in the world. I now know them as friends and that experience is available to everyone at Sevone.

    Cons

    Sevone will be challenged by the shift in buying patterns in the top tier customers which are Service Provider and Enterprise accounts, the impact of the transformation is not unique to Sevone.

    Continue reading
    SevOne2018-02-06
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Just hanging on!"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SevOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed all the people I worked with. They did a good job of hiring quality individuals.

    Cons

    SevOne in a nutshell. Hired a lot of skilled and intelligent people to try and move the company forward with a new direction. Which was just a façade to only prop it up to try and sell the company, which ultimately didn't happen, so they let everyone go. Just hanging on to existing accounts with an old stack. Sad!

    Continue reading
    SevOne2019-09-01
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great people, sloppy direction"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Newark, DE

    I worked at SevOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The engineers are all smart and talented and for the most part giving and easy to work with. The work environment is very laid back and modeled after California tech startups. Card games and beer fridge. Engineers are afforded some say in product direction.

    Cons

    Poor product management results in engineering providing much of the product direction, but with insufficient oversight. Strange division of labor in engineering leadership with some instances of conflicts of interest. Uninspiring benefits. "Unlimited PTO" in practice does not lead to more time off. Up and down profitability and risk of layoffs.

    SevOne2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (4)

    "It was okay."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Business Development in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SevOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of great people worked here and it was ultimately a positive mark on my career.

    Cons

    Not so great executive leadership

    SevOne2019-05-13
  5. "Good and Getting Better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SevOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly, collaborative, work environment. Employees are empowered to take ownership and drive success in their functional areas. Fantastic facilities. Sevone is using the latest, state of the art, software, cloud, and analytics technologies for its new solution. Very interesting solution space. Sevone has evolved, adapted, and overcome its problems from years past and is well positioned for rapidly growing new markets. Stable customer base.

    Cons

    Total addressable market is large and growing quickly. Sevone needs to very selectively define the path it wants to take and the customer base it wants to conquer. It doesn't have the resources to be all things to all customers in its market space.

    Continue reading
    SevOne2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Product Support"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Engineer in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SevOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment with good professionals and good to boost troubleshooting skills.

    Cons

    Very poor training on the product. No training provided at all for NMS or other appliance solution. Must learn the product by self learning facing lots of challenging situations. Can feel the pressure

    Continue reading
    SevOne2019-01-09
  7. "Former Employee"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SevOne full-time

    Pros

    A challenging and fast-paced environment.

    Cons

    Not many to recognize. Maybe more interactions with other teams.

    SevOne2018-08-23
  8. "Windows System Administrator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SevOne full-time

    Pros

    Great place to have fun and learn alot

    Cons

    Shifting back into gear needs a bit of work

    Continue reading
    SevOne2018-07-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Growing pains"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Newark, DE
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SevOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are very smart.

    Cons

    Management has no experience at all.

    Continue reading
    SevOne2018-06-21
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Disappointing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SevOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free snacks, coffee, and lunches a couple times a week. relaxed atmosphere. kid-friendly (meaning adults who act like kids).

    Cons

    poor training on the product, which had many issues. difficult to support. direct supervisor was incompetent as a leader or manager. condescending attitude from some higher-level management. open workspace. circus-like atmosphere. defensive CFO

    Continue reading
    SevOne2018-06-14
Viewing 1 - 10 of 167 Reviews