Sevatec Reviews | Glassdoor

Sevatec Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Sonny Kakar
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "This company generally hires good people(in 5 reviews)

  • "Customer Satisfaction, Employee Satisfaction and Completion of tasks/projects with excellence are the norm with this aggressively growing company(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior leadership is about the shortest way to make as much money as possible as quick as possible and move on to the next client(in 4 reviews)

  • "Upper Management at client location doesn’t carry the Seva culture and generally doesn’t seem to care a lot(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to Work At!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sevatec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Free lunches and BBQ’s Very generous Paid Time Off (PTO) and paid holidays

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Sevatec2019-04-29
  2. "highly Recommend as a great place to work! Thumbs Up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sevatec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sevatec is a great place to work with wonderful people. The office keeps up with the latest technology so there is always something cool to learn. The benefits are fantastic and there is plenty of work/life balance.

    Cons

    government contractor, contracts end. However, they go the extra mile to find you other another project to work on.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and continue to listen to the professionals who work in the field every day. We appreciate the acknowledgement from leadership!

    Sevatec2019-04-29
  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sevatec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, generous PTO and meaningful work. The executive team is top-notch and values the employees!

    Cons

    It can be tricky to work in a complex government environment

    Advice to Management

    Great place to gain a lot of experience

    Sevatec2019-04-01
  4. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sevatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company hires very smart and talented people. The culture is energetic and collaborative.

    Cons

    There aren't many cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow stay focused on the employees and company culture.

    Sevatec2019-03-15
  5. "Pretty Typical DC-Area Government Contracting Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - SCRUM MAster/Business Analyst 
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sevatec full-time

      Pros

      This company generally hires good people. Smart, good attitudes, generally these people try to do the right thing.

      Cons

      At least some of the contracts and programs do not have Federal leadership who really "get" Agility - nor do they provide adequate workspace or the kind of working conditions that are conducive to those who need a little quiet in order to be productive. And, not all program managers understand much about leadership.

      Advice to Management

      You have done some good things to succeed as an Agile organization. But at least for some teams, those efforts have limited meaning because the Federal customer has only bought into the methodologies but not the mindset. To really stand out, find innovative approaches to educate and win over the Federal bureaucrats.

      Sevatec2019-03-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Inexperienced and Deceptive Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sevatec full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      My pay was at market rate.

      Cons

      Most of the managers didn't seem to know what they were doing. They would hire staff that were not qualified for the job just to put people in seats. Management would make rash decisions based on knee jerk reactions which generally led to more problems and more rash decisions. Toward the end I gave up trying to follow the new policy and procedures that seem to come out weekly and just focused on my job.

      Advice to Management

      No advice. I am glad I no longer work for this company.

      Sevatec2019-03-28
    • "Great Place to Grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Developer in Fairfax, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sevatec full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The environment at Sevatec is innovative and fast paced. Lots of opportunity to work on new things and grow my career. I’ve been an employee at the organization for two years and have supported multiple projects and HQ staff through proposals. I also can’t say enough about the employees – who are all focused on doing a great job and producing awesome results for our customers.

      Cons

      So far, my experience has been overwhelmingly positive. Office space at HQ got a little tight as a result of growth, but managers are becoming more flexible on work location which has helped out a lot.

      Sevatec2019-02-20
    • "A great place to learn and grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Fairfax, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sevatec full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Challenging but not overwhelming. A great place to learn and grow. I love my coworkers.

      Cons

      Obviously no job is perfect, but overall I’m very satisfied at Sevatec

      Advice to Management

      None

      Sevatec2019-01-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Stay Away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sevatec full-time

      Pros

      Everyone shares the same concerns but they all remain ignored.

      Cons

      The company hasn't won a contract in over two years! All current contracts are coming to an end and many employees are furloughed due to the government shutdown.

      Advice to Management

      Demonstrate your commitment to "Seva" and get serious about winning new work. Those at the top should take pay cuts before furloughing employees as the fat cats sits back and continue to collect 200-300k a year pay checks.

      Sevatec2019-01-22
    • "Great company and great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sevatec full-time

      Pros

      I value their service to the community and country.

      Cons

      Nothing negative. I would work there again!

      Sevatec2018-11-28
    Found 71 reviews