Shutterstock Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Shutterstock CEO Stan Pavlovsky
Stan Pavlovsky
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Fresh leadership is steering the ship in the right direction."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platform Solutions in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great people, great team - office is the Empire State Building - Lunches - Fair compensation

    Cons

    - old company with dusty old bones. It can cause headaches, but fresh new leadership is changing that (well done L team). I’ve seen a huge improvement in open minds, risk taking, and strategic thinking, as well as new hires with technology and marketing backgrounds.

    Continue reading

    Shutterstock Response

    July 8, 2020Shutterstock

    Thanks for the feedback! We’re so excited that you are having a great experience at Shutterstock. We’re so excited about the opportunities in front of us and proud of the progress we’re making every day to transform our business and create a better experience for our employees.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of improvement over the past year"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people at Shutterstock are some of the most talented I've worked with in my career. The work is challenging and rewarding - I've hit some big milestones with my team over the past few years. I've had the ability to try new things, experiment - even if it didn't always work out. The benefits and perks are great too - hackathons, open mic, generous 401k, breakfast/lunch/snacks. One thing I've been impressed with over the past year is how the company is really trying to make improvements in the culture and be more transparent in communication. There's been a lot of change (there always is at Shutterstock) but it's evident that leadership cares about employees and their efforts are making a difference.

    Cons

    While change can be exciting, it also leads to uncertainty. It's sometimes hard to know if you're working on the right things - you don't always get the best direction from managers (depends on who your manager is but real manager training is definitely needed across the board).

    Continue reading

    Shutterstock Response

    April 23, 2020Shutterstock

    Thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Shutterstock and have been able to grow in your career. We agree—our people are our most valuable asset and we are grateful to work with the best! We appreciate your advice and will continue to strive to communicate transparently and productively to all of our employees.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Nice people, nice perks but turbulent times with unclear direction"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time

    Pros

    Nice people for the most part nice office (empire state building) Competitive salary Good benefits Summer Fridays

    Cons

    PTO is pretty average, especially considering that it includes sick leave but this year we do have summer Fridays which is nice It is unclear where the company is heading and the vision, this creates unnecessary friction, misalignment and confusion on what's truelly important.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "A company with management and leadership issues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Marketing Specialist in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work within teams; highly collaborative office environment

    Cons

    Executives are not doing their job well. Company doesn't listen to actual customers and contributor demands

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Toxic environment, more and more politics with no stability and clear strategy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive compensation, catered breakfast and lunch and free snacks. Some very cool and smart individuals.

    Cons

    No clear strategy, Management turnaround is what you would not imagine could be possible, and the people who care about the culture and why this business had been so successful until now get fired sooner or later for voicing their opinion.

    Shutterstock Response

    July 9, 2020Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. Shutterstock is on a path of transformation to offer new value to our customers and sustained growth for the company. The best companies know they must continue to evolve to remain relevant and successful. With transformation comes change, and we understand that it’s not for everyone. At Shutterstock we value a mindset that welcomes change and the fresh perspectives and innovation that inevitably follows. Seek Diversity and Productive Communication are among our core principles. We encourage candid conversation that advances our business and our culture, and actively seek to provide avenues for meaningful employee feedback. We are proud of our collective ability to continuously evolve, commit to new priorities and move forward.

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Lacking leadership from executive team"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineers, product and qa team very smart and wonderful people to work with, office is really nice

    Cons

    Leadership lacks good communication and transparency

    Continue reading

    Shutterstock Response

    July 15, 2020Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. Shutterstock is on a path of transformation. With transformation comes change and we know that change can be uncomfortable for some people. But change is also necessary in order to bring new value to our customers and sustained growth for the company. We have gone to great lengths to communicate this message through various channels, including at our all-employee Company Updates, team meetings and regular communications from leadership. We have also created Office hours with many of our leaders, including our CEO and our CTO, who are making themselves available to answer questions and have productive dialog with employees on any topic. We know employees want information, and we are constantly communicating to keep them informed, but some decisions cannot be communicated until they are made - and that isn’t a transparency issue. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  7. Helpful (17)

    "Stay away!!!!!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office, free lunch, best 401k match I have heard of, some of the most talented people I have worked with

    Cons

    Toxic environment, continuous layoffs, unrealistic deadlines, constant change of plans, no strategic direction, extreme friction for a mid cap company, nothing ever gets done.

    Shutterstock Response

    July 8, 2020Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you aren’t having a great experience at Shutterstock. We hope you are tuning into our company updates and other communications where we talk about our strategy and how we are evolving our product to bring new value to our customers. We are transforming - and transformation isn’t easy. It requires you to embrace change and reimagine new ways of doing things. We encourage you to share your concerns with your manager, HR business partner or in one of the feedback channels available to you.

  8. Helpful (13)

    "Poor strategy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The peers in sales are good people

    Cons

    They talk about strategy and new products but are cannibalize their own products and the simple answer is “sell more”.

    Continue reading

    Shutterstock Response

    June 1, 2020Shutterstock

    Thanks for the feedback. We’re confident that we have a strong strategy in place and we’re already seeing great results driven by new offerings such as Asset Assurance and by delivering creative solutions to support our customers in new ways as their needs are evolving. But we’re just getting started -- our customers can look forward to more offerings coming this year!

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Best years are behind it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Lead in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are genuinely some of the best I have ever worked with. One of the few places I could say life long friendships were developed. Free snacks

    Cons

    Upper management and beyond. Many do not come from tech industries and it shows in their decision making.

    Shutterstock Response

    June 1, 2020Shutterstock

    Thanks for your feedback. We agree - Shutterstock has the best employees in the business! Working at Shutterstock provides the opportunity to work with and learn from the most talented people. In reference to your comment about management coming from different industries, we feel this is a positive. Diversity of expertise and perspective is a powerful driver and what makes us stronger. In fact, this diversity of thought is exactly what is driving our transformation. That and the hard work and willingness of our employees to embrace change and adapt to an evolving marketplace. And we’re already seeing the positive results! Our best years clearly lie ahead of us.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work! Room for improvement? Yes, but that is true for any growth company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Delivery in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Transparency, Access to Leadership, Profitable Digital Business, Tremendous growth Potential, Smart & Respectful Environment.

    Cons

    You have to manage your own career, General growing pains for a growth company mostly around prioritization leading to change in direction , Chaotic at times.

    Continue reading

    Shutterstock Response

    April 23, 2020Shutterstock

    Thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you have a positive experience at Shutterstock. We will use your advice to continue to drive improvements in the performance management process and to how we get valuable feedback to the top levels of leadership.

Found 348 reviews