Skillshare Reviews | Glassdoor

Skillshare Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Skillshare CEO Matt Cooper
Matt Cooper
11 Ratings
  1. "Best Company I've Ever Worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Where to begin! Socially good mission. Our goal is to harness technology to make education more affordable and accessible for people all over the world. We're focusing on the creative space right now and allow people to change their lives, discover their passions, and love their work. If you want to go to work every day and feel like you're having a real positive impact, this is the place for you. Strong... business fundamentals. Business has been consistently growing since I've been here (over 3 years). Employees get competitive options with a very solid upside. Salary is in line with the New York tech scene. Unheard of Work/Life Balance. There are no such thing as "counting sick days." If you're sick, you just don't have to work or come in that days (which is how it should be). We have an unlimited vacation policy, because management knows that well rested employees are happier, more creative, and ultimately more productive. Management treats employees like adults. If you have to come in late for a doctor appointment, that's fine. If you need to leave early on a Friday, because you're going on vacation with your significant other, go ahead. We work hard, but as long as you get your work done you're allowed flexibility. The Perks. I mentioned the unlimited vacation policy above. Plus every in-office employee gets to work remotely for one month. At your 3 year anniversary you get either a one month paid sabbatical or an additional one month bonus pay. Catered lunch Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and work from home every Tuesday. Probably forgetting some things as well. The People. The people who work here are driven, empathetic, and collaborative. It's really a one-team mentality. They leave their egos at the door and are all laser focused on growing Skillshare and embarking on this journey. Transparency. Management is super transparent, laying down the rationale for strategic decisions and giving employees perspective on the company's finances. Again, sort of goes back to the "treat employees like adults" mantra. Plus the "no egos" thing applies to them as well. The CEO and the management team are open to feedback from everyone — whether you've been here for 5 years or 5 days. Whether this is your 20th year of work or your first. Every perspective is welcome and feedback is strongly encouraged.

    Show More

    Cons

    No 401(k) match policy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Skillshare2019-07-26
  2. "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, empathetic, transparent company. Management's focus seems to be on hiring creative, and engaged people and then letting them be themselves. In specifics: - Transparent pay structure - Great benefits - Lunch provided if you are in the office - Good stock options - Great leadership

    Cons

    If you aren't someone who can figure out what you should be working on, it probably isn't a good fit. There is a lot of trust in the org which means you can have a lot of freedom around how you structure your time.

    Advice to Management

    I would like more consistent feedback on how I can improve.

    Skillshare2019-06-27
  3. "Curious, Collaborative, Mission-Driven Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mobile Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teammates striving, not competing, towards the same goal - Mission-driven towards creating access to education - Lots of autonomy; you grow as fast as you want to - Transparency across the company - Company isn't perfect, but when there are issues they are identified and troubleshoot - Great remote work culture

    Cons

    Nobody holds your hand (if you need that support, it's probably not a good fit) - Not your "party" startup culture (if you expect that, also not a good fit)

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking it!

    Skillshare2019-04-01
  4. "Great online education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Tutor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    skillshare is providing all information about new technology within their many types of online courses.

    Cons

    There are no cons in Skillshare.

    Advice to Management

    Everything is perfect

    Skillshare2019-03-25
  5. "Mission Driven and Collaborative Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skillshare full-time

    Pros

    - Great team you get to collaborate with - Loads of room to grow and take on as much responsibility as you can handle - Amazing community of teachers and students you get to work with and impact on a daily basis

    Cons

    - Like any startup, there are ups and downs in terms of aggressive growth you want to achieve - This includes challenges with a clear focus, strategy, and communication - But nothing abnormal to any other startup you would work at

    Skillshare2018-12-29
  6. "Awesome colleagues, lots of autonomy, maturing product team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really love working on the mobile team at Skillshare. Our mobile team... * has a lot of autonomy - on everything from process to what we build * leadership lets us solve problems the way we think best serves our users * release often - every 2 weeks - our apps keep getting better * are working on high-impact projects * we have fun, work hard and get a lot done * have flexibility to work where, when, and... how we want The company... * colleagues are a lot of fun - there are no jerks here * is constantly trying to improve * doesn't take itself too seriously, we have fun * a very thoughtful, growth-mindset culture Leadership... * are nice people, no egos, a humble bunch * listens to the team, doesn't try to dictate or micromanage Also, we always have snacks. Like almost everyday there are baked goods from someone.

    Show More

    Cons

    We had to pay down some tech debt in 2018 and continue to upgrade services. We still have a ways to go as a product team, but it feels like we're making a lot of great progress - we're hiring really smart people, our process is maturing, and the product is starting to get a lot better.

    Advice to Management

    Give your A-players more to do / more responsibility. Make sure everyone feels included, not just an inner circle of favorites.

    Skillshare2018-12-18
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A bit of a hot mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New hire for product to help put this company that's lacking identity in the right direction. Hopefully.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between departments, sometimes long hours. HR are out of an episode of Fawlty Towers. We've received a lot in funding but that doesn't mean the company will grow because of it.

    Advice to Management

    Get more organized, there's potential for this company to do well.

    Skillshare2018-10-18

    Skillshare Response

    October 22, 2018Director, People Operations

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. As you note, we've been transparent with the team about our efforts to streamline communications to keep us all moving in the same direction. This will be something we constantly work on as we scale, so please do send us any suggestions you have! Fawlty Towers is one of my favorite shows - what a flashback! Besides our general klutziness, let us also know if you have ideas on how our team can improve.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Curious, Collaborative, Mission-Driven Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great teammates striving, not competing, towards the same goal - Mission-driven towards creating access to education - Lots of autonomy; you grow as fast as you want to - Transparency across the company - Company isn't perfect, but when there are issues they are identified and troubleshooted - Great remote work culture

    Cons

    - Nobody holds your hand (if you need that support, it's probably not a good fit) - Not your "party" startup culture (if you expect that, also not a good fit)

    Skillshare2018-08-29
  9. "Great team & opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time

    Pros

    - Smart, hard-working, collaborative teammates that really care about the work - Mission-driven product that is helping people improve their lives - Lots of transparency, autonomy and focus on empowering individuals to drive impact for the business - Growth in skills and impact is recognized and rewarded - Very flexible around remote work

    Cons

    - Communication across teams has gotten trickier as the company grows but management is aware and working on it.

    Skillshare2018-08-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skillshare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazingly thorow omboarding - The whole team is aligned on what the goals are and how to get there. - Management sets company vision, individual teams set goals to help it get there. - You get a lot of say on what you and your team will work on next. - Very transparent on every aspect - You get to work with really smart & fun people

    Cons

    - Not great if you like to be told what to do and need someone to hold your hand. - We are not a ping-pong table kind of start-up, but we know how to have fun. Everyone works hard and is very passionate about the product.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking it!

    Skillshare2018-02-02
Found 22 reviews