Smartling Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Smartling Founder & CEO Jack Welde (no image)
Jack Welde
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smartling cultivates a great culture that encourages work-life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "smart people and constantly innovating (engineering releases weekly)(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Anyone looking for a sales and marketing position(in 3 reviews)

  • "nothing to report(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great place to kickstart your career

      Oct 15, 2020 - Sales Development Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hopefully this isn't too premature since I'm only a couple weeks into the role, but it's clear to me how much our management team cares about turning us newcomers into sales studs. The culture is dynamic, supportive, and refreshingly authentic. Beyond the formal training (sales process, tech stack, etc.), we get pretty thorough insight into the Sandler Selling model (something I've never learned until now). Above all, I know I made the right decision to kickstart my sales career with Smartling.

      Cons

      Working from home, eager to see everyone at the NY office

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Smartling Response

      Thanks for this review. Our Sales team is lucky to have you! More Sandler training to come soon :) - HR Team

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Taking care of people

      Sep 23, 2020 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at the company for two and a half years. One thing sticks out, Smartling has developed a culture where taking care of its people (employees, customers, and partners alike) is paramount. I'm lucky to have a manager who is helpful, approachable, and very driven to ensure our team has whatever it needs to be successful. There is a very "human" element to working here. Smartling expects high performance but understands that attaining is only possible when people understand they can be trusted to help each other when the need arises.

      Cons

      The industry is close-knit, which can be a pro, however, a lot of times it makes it difficult for clients to think outside the box.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Smartling Response

      We are delighted to hear you are having a blast at Smartling! - HR team

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Changing Company

      Apr 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are the best part of working here. We have the best talent!!

      Cons

      The company is going through some major changes at the moment with management and company direction. Optimistic about the future, but there are some serious growing pains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company! I love working here!

      Sep 23, 2020 - Sales Development Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Incredible leadership that prioritizes employee well-being -Work hard, play hard

      Cons

      -No longer being in the office!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Smartling Response

      We really appreciate the love you share for Smartling. We miss the office too! -HR team

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      All Around Great Experience

      Mar 24, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smartling was a fantastic experience. Everyone there is friendly and will always treat you with respect. Management is transparent for the most part and will do their best to continue your learning and skill development throughout your time there. Salary is competitive as well as the benefits. Overall, it is a great place to work with plenty of opportunities for advancement despite being a smaller company.

      Cons

      It's difficult to think of any cons. Just be prepared to work hard as an SDR! They do thier best to make the atmosphere enjoyable and energetic though.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Smartling Response

      Thanks so much for sharing your experience! Our Sales Dev team is awesome indeed.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not optimistic about future

      Sep 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great startup culture, intelligent and friendly coworkers, flexible opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      Poor management, stressful workloads, burnout.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Smartling Response

      Thank you for the feedback. If you're open to it, I respectfully ask that you reach out to a member of our HR team, who will keep your name in confidence. Our objective is to make every employee's experience a fantastic one that enables their growth and that of the company. - HR Team

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture and Growth Opputinities

      Oct 1, 2019 - Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smartling cultivates a great culture that encourages work-life balance. Benefits like unlimited PTO, bagel Monday's, company picnics, and quarterly trainings foster a positive environment. The company has motivating leaders that use their in-depth SaaS and business knowledge to support their teams. Throughout my career at Smartling, I have had three managers. Each has created a motivating and positive work environment and I have respected them immensely. Senior management is invested in the growth of Smartling employees. I started in an entry-level position at the company and with hard work, I was given the opportunity to grow and join a team that I can see myself working with for years to come. I feel very fortunate to have joined Smartling so early on in my career.

      Cons

      I have nothing to add here.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great software engineering start-up

      Oct 14, 2019 - Vice President, Software Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smartling is a very much software engineering oriented start-up. The engineering culture is outstanding, supported by the team of the smartest software engineering professionals I've ever met. The service-oriented architecture approach ensures there is a minimal amount of legacy maintenance and dated technologies we have to deal with. All new services are implemented using the most recent technology and frameworks. There are no limitations to any particular stack. Although most of the services are Java, we also have Ruby, GoLang, Node.JS, and Scala-based services. A lot of various databases from MySQL to ElasticSearch and Cassandra, all utilized at a massive scale and load - in my opinion, it's like a toy store for the curious engineer. DevOps culture, continuous deployment, and test-driven development - this is all just a baseline, everything else is built on top.

      Cons

      There are none I can think of.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Oct 21, 2019 - Senior Marketing Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great commitment from company and team leadership on workplace culture and employee values - Valuable product that fills an existing need in the marketplace - Smart approach to product roadmap and development - Respectful and healthy work environment - Willingness to invest in employees who are invested in the company - Smart leadership, smart team members - One of the best CEO's I've had the experience of working with when it comes to general CEO <> team relationships

      Cons

      - alignment between teams is still a work in progress (but it is a work in progress)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive and uplifting company to work for

      Oct 12, 2019 - Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Smartling has helped me grow and expand my knowledge and sales acumen. Besides all of the perks, I love coming to work every day and collaborating with truly some of the smartest people I’ve ever met. With that comes genuine mutual respect where everyone’s opinions and ideas are given equal weight. The work-life balance is unmatched, the flexibility to recharge when you need it (unlimited PTO) is especially needed in a sales career when things don’t always go to plan.

      Cons

      Sometimes feel like there are too many “cooks in the kitchen” which can slow down certain internal processes.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 105 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Smartling Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Smartling? Share Your Experiences

    Smartling logo
    or