Smartling Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 of over 121 reviews

4.4
94%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Smartling CEO, Founder and President Bryan Murphy, Jack Welde
Bryan Murphy, Jack Welde
88 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Tech

207K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Smartling~816924
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "smart people and constantly innovating (engineering releases weekly)(in 18 reviews)
  • "Truly making an effort to ensure the culture is strong and people are enjoying working for Smartling & staying productive/motivated(in 12 reviews)
  • "Great Team.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Flexible PTO(in 6 reviews)
  • "Great benefits; gym, healthcare, meditation apps, etc(in 6 reviews)
Cons
  • "The company is going through some major changes at the moment with management and company direction.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Work-Life Balance

    Jan 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great company mission & product - leading the translation industry - Fully remote company now, opportunity to work with people all over the world - Leadership is open to new ideas - Good compensation - Great work/life balance

    Cons

    - no 401k match - hard to get to know people outside your own team

    1 person found this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thank you for the feedback. Upd: we do have a match in place! -HR Team

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Culture, Amazing Tech Product, Flexible & Accommodating Employer

    Jun 22, 2021 - Senior Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Smart, innovative co-workers: you really can feel like you are a part of a company that is re-shaping the industry and given so much opportunity to learn - Flexible/Remote environment: Smartling is hiring globally. Great opportunity to bring in talent from wherever. Not back in the office currently but looking forward to a hybrid approach in the coming year. - Pay & benefits are great: If you are interviewing be upfront about what you're looking for and explain how you can bring value to the company! - Leadership makes an effort to get to know those on other teams, and is very approachable. Truly making an effort to ensure the culture is strong and people are enjoying working for Smartling & staying productive/motivated - Exceptional product: Smartling is truly the leader in this space and is growing rapidly. It has been exciting to follow along as the company evolves in the Saas space. - Company will invest in you if you invest in the company (retention, quality work, innovation)

    Cons

    - no 401k match - some turnover - Smartling as a tool is a very complex product, which can sometimes make some roles challenging

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thanks for such thorough feedback. Smartling is lucky to have you on board! -HR team

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong company in small niche

    Apr 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strongest software in the translation space.

    Cons

    The total tam is fairly small

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I

    Dec 17, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Eugene, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is really great and knowledgable

    Cons

    Nothing. This company has been great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thanks for your review! -HR Team

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Aug 3, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The cafe! Definitely the people as well, everyone is very supportive

    Cons

    Technical sales can be tough so you should learn as much as you can quickly

    1 person found this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thank you for your feedback. Our people are the most collaborative, supportive, and smartest out there! P.S. definitely miss the cafe -HR team

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Taking care of people

    Sep 23, 2020 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at the company for two and a half years. One thing sticks out, Smartling has developed a culture where taking care of its people (employees, customers, and partners alike) is paramount. I'm lucky to have a manager who is helpful, approachable, and very driven to ensure our team has whatever it needs to be successful. There is a very "human" element to working here. Smartling expects high performance but understands that attaining is only possible when people understand they can be trusted to help each other when the need arises.

    Cons

    The industry is close-knit, which can be a pro, however, a lot of times it makes it difficult for clients to think outside the box.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    We are delighted to hear you are having a blast at Smartling! - HR team

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to kickstart your career

    Oct 15, 2020 - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hopefully this isn't too premature since I'm only a couple weeks into the role, but it's clear to me how much our management team cares about turning us newcomers into sales studs. The culture is dynamic, supportive, and refreshingly authentic. Beyond the formal training (sales process, tech stack, etc.), we get pretty thorough insight into the Sandler Selling model (something I've never learned until now). Above all, I know I made the right decision to kickstart my sales career with Smartling.

    Cons

    Working from home, eager to see everyone at the NY office

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thanks for this review. Our Sales team is lucky to have you! More Sandler training to come soon :) - HR Team

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    May 17, 2021 - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Close knit company, ability to learn from others

    Cons

    If you're not in translation management prior to joining, the product can be challenging to sell

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Changing Company

    Apr 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the best part of working here. We have the best talent!!

    Cons

    The company is going through some major changes at the moment with management and company direction. Optimistic about the future, but there are some serious growing pains.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thanks for your review. Hope you stayed, as we just got the best news ever, and there is definitely an optimistic future for us! And we do have the best talent 🙌 -HR Team

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    All Around Great Experience

    Mar 24, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smartling was a fantastic experience. Everyone there is friendly and will always treat you with respect. Management is transparent for the most part and will do their best to continue your learning and skill development throughout your time there. Salary is competitive as well as the benefits. Overall, it is a great place to work with plenty of opportunities for advancement despite being a smaller company.

    Cons

    It's difficult to think of any cons. Just be prepared to work hard as an SDR! They do thier best to make the atmosphere enjoyable and energetic though.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Smartling Response

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience! Our Sales Dev team is awesome indeed.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 114 Reviews

Smartling Reviews FAQs

Smartling has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 121 reviews left anonymously by employees. 94% of employees would recommend working at Smartling to a friend and 81% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Smartling employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Smartling. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

94% of Smartling employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Smartling 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Smartling to be management, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Smartling Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Smartling? Share Your Experiences

or