Software Technology Group (UT) Reviews | Glassdoor

Software Technology Group (UT) Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
44 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Software Technology Group (UT) CEO Jeff Soderberg
Jeff Soderberg
33 Ratings

44 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Mainframe COBOL developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time

    Pros

    They took good care of their employees. A very good trusting leadership team.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about here............................................

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the goooooooooooooood work.


  2. "Good guys for consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time

    Pros

    Great Leadership and great opportunities to do different things

    Cons

    A program to help train consultants would be good, but they are greaf5

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a great experience at STG. We have developed a training program for our employees called a "career development plan." It allows employees to grow... More

  3. "STG Does the Right Thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Software Technology Group (UT) part-time

    Pros

    STG is a great company to work for. It is a people-oriented company that values its employees and treats them well. I appreciate the feedback I receive to help in my overall career development and plan. I love working at STG!

    Cons

    We have a lot of company lunches - good thing STG also promotes its wellness program.

    Advice to Management

    Keep giving valuable feedback and continuing to do the right thing for your employees and clients.

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    May 15, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    We are so happy that you are having a good experience at STG! We are also glad you are taking part of the wellness program. :) Thank you for your feedback!


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have loved working with STG. From top to bottom they are a great company to work for. The open door policy with everybody in the company is a refreshing experience from other companies that I have worked for. I also like that they give me real feedback on how to improve my career and be a better developer. The career development plans that they help you setup were a huge benefit to me in helping steer my career that right way to maximize my marketability and my earning potential. I have worked with other companies that you just wander along wondering if you are doing well or not, that is not a problem with STG. The dev center was an incredible opportunity for me to sharpen my skills between projects. I love the ability to bank OT to PTO.

    Cons

    Consulting requires adapting to change and different environments. STG does a great job trying to find you the right thing, but if you struggle with change, it might not be a great job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep giving the productive feedback that you are! I don't think you have any plans of stopping, but it was very crucial for me improving my career.

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    May 22, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so happy that you have had a great experience here at STG!


  5. "Keeping it real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time

    Pros

    I love what I do and the flexibility is amazing.

    Cons

    The leadership has lost connection with the culture they pride themselves in. Putting people first is now becoming profits and numbers. A drop in top numbers for a few weeks and you are given the opportunity to find new employment...with a smile of course. They claim it's not political but it is. The current executives have lost touch with what it means to care about the people.

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback! It takes courage to talk about your concerns! STG always tries to make sure that our employees are marketable and can be on any engagement with our clients. We... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company shows great interest in the development and lifestyle of their employees. Wonderful to work for.

    Cons

    May give up on you on a down turn if your skills don't match what they can find for you.

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate your comment - we are always helping our employees to grow their skills and help them stay marketable for projects. We would love to talk more to you about any feedback you have. Please... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Software Technology Group (STG) is wholly dedicated to the success of its employees. Work/life balance is a primary concern, which is unusual in the field of consulting. Unlike other consulting firms, STG does not cut employees loose between assignments. After an engagement concludes, your salary and benefits remain at 100%, and you are only expected to learn and make yourself more marketable while the wonderful folks in the sales department line you up with a new opportunity.

    Cons

    The gray cloud of the consulting career's silver lining is that there is little room for upward mobility. While STG always pays its employees what the market will bear, the assignments and responsibilities of each engagement (ie, the things that populate your resume) are solely controlled by the company to whom you're assigned. This is true of the consulting industry as a whole, though; it is not particular to STG.

    Advice to Management

    Pro: Keep reaching! The management team sets realistic but ambitious goals every year, and they inspire their employees to reach them.

    Con: Unfortunately, there is some perceived nepotism on the part of many employees. Indeed, there are a few common family names on staff. They are all nice folks, and (from my experience) capable and hard-working. But the perception lingers, and I don't know how to address it without looking for talent among non-relatives.

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We will take a look at all of the suggestions you gave and see where there are areas of improvement. We are also very glad that you are enjoying your time at STG!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome people-focused company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Software Technology Group (UT) full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive salary, good benefits, great people! There's a program for banking overtime worked as PTO hours. Atmosphere of improvement and growth. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Since you're a consultant, it's all about billable hours (understandable) which means no sick leave. If you're sick and can't work, you use PTO or make up hours. Makes sense, but for some this could be a turn-off.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! As you grow, work hard to keep the same spirit and care you have today.

    Software Technology Group (UT) Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that things are going well and that you are enjoying the atmosphere at STG!


  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Family oriented company with a great work/life balance. High energy and a solid emphasis on training and mentoring consultants and staff alike.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of. :)


  10. "One of the best places I have worked and plan/hope to stay a while."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Culture, people, benefits, flexibility and reputation.

    Cons

    Sometimes too much going on to track it all, but better than nothing going on!

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain small business attitude, while growing.


Showing 44 of 46 reviews
Reset Filters