Splunk Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Splunk President and Chief Executive Officer Doug Merritt
Doug Merritt
430 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product even if most people have zero idea of what Splunk does(in 48 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance and employee-care emphasized at all levels of management(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The typical growing pains when the TAM is so big, leaving teams to develop their own stories at times that can fracture the corporate message(in 27 reviews)

  • "High growth means constant change(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing place to work

      Feb 1, 2021 - Principal User Experience Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Emphasis on diversity, flat organization, empathetic leaders, 3 yr vesting periods.

      Cons

      Cant really come up with any.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing

      May 7, 2021 - Marketing Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great morning breakfast and stall space in MB

      Cons

      not enough time to eat breakfast

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unbelievable Company! Best place I’ve ever worked.

      Mar 11, 2021 - RSM in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can’t say enough about the culture of this company. Very much a work hard, play hard mentality. If you want to learn how to grow your sales muscle and how to work with customers and solution sell on value, this is the place. Had a baby in my first year, and company provided 20 weeks of paternity/maternity leave. Full base pay and job security. Incredible! ~5 extra company holidays just because so you can invest in your family. Crazy good retirement/401k options. 3% match up to 6% plus an additional $2,000 provided by the company once a year. Comp plan structure to promote the right kind of behavior and aggressive spiffs/multipliers. Leadership promotes accountability from the top down. Not sure if this is normal, but my boss sent out a “welcome” email to an alias list across the regional team, and our CEO took time to send me a personalized welcome email joining the team. What CEO of a 6,000+ employee company does that? Truly set the tone for an incredible culture.

      Cons

      Much more administrative/account plan work required throughout the year. However I can see that it was helpful in executing successful account activity and penetration. Some internal processes create layers of sales prevention but company seems to be trying to remove those barriers. Shared engineer resources. 2:1 sales to engineer.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ok for a short stopover on the way to a better company

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company if you are political minded, and able to work within the confines of your job description (nothing more). If you are more ‘process oriented’ than ‘results oriented’, you will also be a good fit. Decent 401K, mobile phone reimbursement, and community (over slack).

      Cons

      Very difficult to make changes/improve the organization – (1) everyone knows they need to change, but no one wants to make the decision or absorb the pain of change (2) managers are not willing to delegate/mentor decision-making to their teams and are not familiar enough with the nuances to make informed decisions.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, very fast paced

      Jan 26, 2021 - Sales Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Splunk has been a wonderful wimp at to work for. This is the longest I have been at a company thus far and I don’t intend to leave anytime soon. It is a very positive and team-focused mentality. My colleagues make the work much easier and more collaborative than other companies I have been at. The benefits are a HUGE plus as well. I’m confident I wouldn’t find such great benefits elsewhere. Lastly, I know I’m being paid what I am worth. Other companies have played games with promotions and pay scale amongst people working the same job/same title. Splunk is dedicated on highlighting women and people of minority in its work force. It is such a relief to have details like pay inequity removed from the work place and be able to focus on how to close business and be successful in the role I am at.

      Cons

      Splunk is VERY fast paced. Having been here for many years, it’s hard to feel like you can get in a “groove” with anything because once I feel proficient at one thing, there are a million others to focus on OR the one thing I was proficient at changes/upgrades. It’s a constant learning environment and sometimes hard to keep up. But that’s when having such a supportive team helps, because they can share expertise and experiences to speed up that learning time.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Started work as a consultant during the pandemic, became an employee

      Apr 3, 2021 - Senior Business Systems Analyst in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive, fun, smart, and helpful coworkers. Competitive total comp package. The company has competitive products and seems to have a good roadmap for the future. Generous days off during the pandemic.

      Cons

      Could use more diversity to better match the local population. Integration and ERP teams are understaffed and rely too much on consultants for critical business processes.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good overall company

      Apr 28, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Splunk handled the pandemic better than any other company that I know of. They gave us 30 days of "pandemic" PTO on top of our PTO and sick days for us to use for mental health, helping children with virtual learning, etc. We are also allowed to stay full time remote if we want even when offices reopen.

      Cons

      There has been some shuffling of C-levels recently, stocks are down, some lack of direction at the product level for my division.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Working at Splunk has been a career capstone

      Apr 9, 2021 - Professional Services Architect in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some amazingly talented, passionate people here. I have done hands-down the best work of my life here. It's challenging and the pace can be fast, but I've also built more work friendships than all my previous work experiences combined. The core product was the reason I took the job, not the culture. After 7 years I still find it an amazing technology to work with and there's always some new thing to learn.

      Cons

      If you are looking for a startup, this isn't it. There's all the normal stuff that comes with being big, but after 7 years I'm still amazed at how tight most of the community is.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      Apr 22, 2021 - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Splunk has gone above and beyond take care of its employees, especially during the pandemic. From wellness days off to mental health assistance, not to mention they made extremely easy to work from home. They truly care about their employees and encourage them to use their voice.

      Cons

      As a company we’re growing fast, so there are a lot of growing pains along the way. But nothing too much for us all to handle together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 4, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great work life balance - Talented individuals

      Cons

      - Things can move a bit slowly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 752 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Splunk Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Splunk? Share Your Experiences

    Splunk logo
    or