Spring Venture Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Spring Venture Group Reviews

Updated February 9, 2018
59 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Spring Venture Group CEO Chris Giuliani
Chris Giuliani
40 Ratings

59 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Relaxed work environment in terms of speech and attire (in 13 reviews)

  • Also daily ping pong helps the hours go by fast (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Success can require long hours and hard work (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Inside Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time

    Pros

    Incredible culture and team atmosphere.

    Very transparent, you will always get a direct answer if you have a question about something big picture or even just the day-to-day.

    Support system that helps on a both personal and professional level.

    Most of the common challenges or issues people face are ones that develop mentally. When these get resolved or overcome, its not just a professional improvement, but one that you can carry on to the day-to-day activities on a personal level as well.

    Negativity gets shut down very quickly.

    The money is nice as well.

    Cons

    Job can be monotonous from the normal work day. It's important to be able to handle this professionally.

    Due to the line of work. It's a very sensitive environment, even with how fast it can be shut down, you will see a lot of negativity.

    From the outside in, it can very easily seem that those who are better at sales can be favored. (Ask questions about it and concerns will most likely go away)

    If you focus solely on the numbers, it can very easily be overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the transparency. It keeps people motivated.

    As the company grows, culture will be one of the biggest concern for present employees.

    Spring Venture Group Response

    Feb 21, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    We appreciate your feedback and are proud that our employees feel a sense of transparency and support, as this is very important to SVG. We are continually striving to engage our people through our... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Trustworthy Leadership, Excellent Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Architect in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Principal Architect in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spring Venture Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Leadership from C-level down genuinely cares about success of everyone at the company. Encourages innovation and progress. Concerted efforts towards open and strong communication across departments. Employees are empowered to create change.

    Company is profitable and financial forecast is good. Exploring various avenues for responsible expansion and growth.

    I left this company solely for personal reasons. It is an excellent group, and I am sad to go.

    Cons

    Still maturing as a company. It is not a startup, but speaking from an IT/development perspective, if you are looking for a well-established org/hierarchy with well-established processes, then look elsewhere. If you want to be involved in shaping the organization, then this is a great place.

    Benefits are a little weak, but they have been making steady improvements year over year as the company matures.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and don't lose sight of your employees as the #1 asset. Establish some processes around engaging IT in strategic discussions earlier.

    Spring Venture Group Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! Our employees are the drivers of our success and we will definitely continue to utilize employee feedback to enhance our workplace and business. We are so glad you had a... More

  3. "Sales Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time

    Pros

    Great salary if you do well

    Cons

    Talking to old people all day every day


  4. "An exciting and fulfilling place to work and advance a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of IT Operations in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Director of IT Operations in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Dedicated and passionate people, growing company, great mission

    Cons

    Slight growing pains related to occupancy, benefits are improving but still have some shortcomings

    Spring Venture Group Response

    Jan 7, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    We are excited to hear about your positive experience so far at SVG! We work hard to ensure our employees feel valued and connected to our mission and values. We will continue to make improvements to... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "This is gonna be a long one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Advisor in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Advisor in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spring Venture Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture they established is absolutely incredible, You get to go to work everyday and be with your friends, not employees, and , good coffee, Free month of classroom/hands on training, Free sales coaching, monthly happy hours, monthly company provided lunch, ping pong, flexible schedule, truly doing a job that allows you to help a lot of people, Excellent managers tailored to your personality they work hands on with you to develop strengths and weaknesses, 401K and health care benefits, base salary + commission, medium to high income, ping pong rooms and lounge areas, exercise room, opportunity for advancement, Jumping back to their fun culture, the CEO and COO see themselves as equal employees and constantly walk around trying to meet everyone.

    Cons

    It's sales so you go through the hyper active wave of emotions from unhappy people throughout the day Very Sedentary Job, requirements to meet quota and the stress to go along with it, Min. 45 hour work week with daily unpaid lunches, work Saturdays, took up most of my personal/social life trying to hit numbers, the sound of a phone ringing forever sticks in your ear, constantly deal with some of the senial, ignorant, stubborn and play hard to get baby boomers, job requires insurance license

    Advice to Management

    I think skill exercises implemented into the Sales Coach Program would've helped a lot. Rather than have someone read you the training manual, have each person complete an exercise that proves their ability to overcome it. My manager promised us we got to choose his haircut but has been wussing out for the last 3 months, You stay classy SVG, it was a pleasure

    Spring Venture Group Response

    Aug 6, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Thanks so much for taking the time to provide this review. We work hard to create a one-of-a-kind culture that engages and energizes our people, and are so glad that you had a positive experience in... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spring Venture Group full-time

    Pros

    Fun company to work for

    Cons

    Compensation plan degrades year after year.


  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    1. Growing company that is trying to lead the way in the insurance industry
    2. Lots of opportunity to express ideas in my particular field(don't agree with them all)
    3. Lots of ways to affect how the company captures and gathers leads

    Cons

    1. Sometimes it seems like some change is for the sake of change;
    2. Not always clear on why the change is necessary or how it benefits the company and the employees

    Advice to Management

    Be more clear and up front on all things we do. It is important for some of us to do our job to stay up with everything.

    Spring Venture Group Response

    May 27, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We are so glad to hear that you feel valued and that you have a voice and impact in shaping the growth and success of our company - we are always... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to start - not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time

    Pros

    It is still a small company, so great fun things to do that are unique to a small company like free happy hours, all-company lunches, philanthropy events, golf tournaments, parties, etc. Great people around you that make the environment enjoyable. Relaxed work environment in terms of speech and attire. New softwares are introduced often, but they improve day-to-day tasks. They're not afraid of innovation. Great place to start and grow!

    Cons

    You are treated/viewed differently based upon if you're in sales or not, salaried or not, and if you're friends with upper management inside and outside of work. Many managers have moved up from rapid growth without proper training. Financial and health benefits aren't great (but I believe it's being improved). They hire young or cheap, so they can save money on your lower pay. It's not hard to find out that people are unhappy feeling unappreciated knowing they're making less than the average in this city for the same job. With growth seems to come more secrecy from different areas of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Properly train people before they're given promotions. More people will benefit and grow from that because they're not as effective right now.

    Spring Venture Group Response

    Jun 4, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Thanks so much for taking the time to provide this review. We are very proud of the unique and growth-oriented work environment we have here at SVG, and are always seeking to improve and get better... More


  9. "It's like working with all of your best friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Advisor in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Advisor in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Happy hours, beer fridges, ping pong tournaments, community service projects, and a work/life balance that can't be beat. Work hard play hard.

    Cons

    There really aren't any cons to working here. You're busy, but you're paid well and appreciated so there's nothing to complain about!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work. Thanks for all that you do.

    Spring Venture Group Response

    May 21, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    We strive every day to create a unique and positive environment for our employees to work and achieve, and we are so excited to hear you love working for SVG. We are glad you are part of our team!


  10. Helpful (4)

    "A great company that grew into a bad one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spring Venture Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fratty work environment, can work with all my bros. Some managers are cool, others aren't. You used to be able to make a ton of money here and have complete flexibility.

    Cons

    With growth, comes changes, and unfortunately my faith was misfounded in our CEO and CFO- Jeff and Chris. Hired too many people, didn't expand the leads, we are basically now cold calling (they will say they are web generated leads but it could be some lady that just searched health on google) people at 7 in the morning and up to 20 times a day. The money just isn't there. I am a senior agent and am SO disappointed in this company. Never any opportunity to move up comparatively to counterparts.

    Advice to Management

    Stop having such a big head about your company, there are a lot of non corporate cultures out there. What made you all so great is the money that came with it, but you chose profit over people. I think I'll be bowing out soon, but for now bashing my brains out on the phone for the next 7 hours.

    Spring Venture Group Response

    May 22, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We are sorry to hear that you are not happier with your role and the company, and encourage you to talk with your manager to ensure you have the resources you... More


Showing 59 of 61 reviews
Reset Filters