Stout Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Stout CEO Craige L. Stout
Craige L. Stout
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "We deliver superior client service; it can require long hours at a high pace at times(in 13 reviews)

  • "Demands create work life balance issues - basically expected to be ready to drop everything and answer emails or calls at all times(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stout full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture and people are great

    Cons

    Need more upside mobility in terms of progression.

    Stout2019-12-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Help desk analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stout full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, so you learn a lot in a short amount of time.

    Cons

    They could do raises more often.

    Stout2020-01-07
  3. "Solid place to start"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Stout full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Develop good modeling skills. Exposure to different management types

    Cons

    Lot of grunt work. Long hours

    Stout2019-12-17
  4. "Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stout full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - decent work life balance for industry - lots of engagement variety, so you won't be doing the same thing all the time - great opportunities in a fast-growing firm

    Cons

    - can be stressful managing many deadlines from many different projects at once

    Continue reading
    Stout2019-10-26
  5. "Great firm poised for continued growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stout full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaged senior management. Highly competent professionals across the firm. Growing international presence. Strong execution capabilities on the M&A side.

    Cons

    Need to grow sponsor coverage and capital markets capabilities. These are opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Stout2019-10-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 

    I worked at Stout full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team/family atmosphere among colleagues. Most people have very long tenure.

    Cons

    I felt I was a bit underpaid and there wasn't a clear path to advancement.

    Stout2019-10-09
  7. "Awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stout full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mobility, challenge, growth, smart coworkers, vacation time, culture

    Cons

    None really, super environment to work in.

    Continue reading
    Stout2019-10-10
  8. "Review"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Stout full-time

    Pros

    great people and opportunities for experience

    Cons

    sometimes work could become monotonous

    Stout2019-08-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Quite Average"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stout full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managing directors and upper level management are genuinely nice and care

    Cons

    Comp is low, hourly rate is depressing to think about. Mid-level management very hit or miss

    Continue reading
    Stout2019-07-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Bland"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stout full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance, learn excel, some managers are pretty chill

    Cons

    Training is poor, low level of respect / care for employees, very quiet office environment, cliquey, not a good place to start your career.

    Continue reading
    Stout2019-06-28
Found 89 reviews