KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SunPower

Engaged Employer

SunPower

Add a Review

SunPower Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 522 of over 595 reviews
3.9
75% Recommend to a Friend
SunPower Chairman and CEO Peter Faricy
84% Approve of CEO

Found 507 of over 595 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
SunPower Chairman and CEO Peter Faricy
Peter Faricy
38 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, not as good prospects as its competitors, sales(in 25 reviews)
  • "No work life balance here(in 15 reviews)
  • "Annual layoffs which destroys morale(in 12 reviews)
  • "there is so much noise in the system that is compounded by management creating more noise (e.g. annual restructurings) and no leadership through bad times.(in 10 reviews)
  • "SunPower is so big even Managers get lost in the ocean that it is.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SunPower and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent company

    Jul 6, 2022 - Residential Electrician in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    41K Health insurance vision insurence Dental insurance

    Cons

    They are a great surprise

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your review. We strive to offer a competitive total rewards package and appreciate the recognition of the benefits offered!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Easy Job

    Aug 8, 2022 - Solar Advisor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy Work Life Balance Good Benefits

    Cons

    Slow paced culture could be better not too challenging

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Demanding, but gratifying. Good work culture. Good people.

    Jul 20, 2022 - Project Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Recruiter was very up front in the very first phone call about salary range. When the offer was finally made, it matched that range she told me. That was very nice. SunPower really has found a way to create a positive work culture. There's no bullying, needless competition, etc. People are nice and helpful and everyone wants everyone else to succeed. You get to have a hand in many different parts of the solar install. After some time in this position, you will have an excellent overview understanding of a solar project from beginning to end. The supervisors work tirelessly to support their teams. They go to bat for us when working with upper management. Very work from home friendly. Rarely have to go into the office. Flexible PTO.

    Cons

    Huge work load. Once you are settled in, you will have a very large workload. It will keep you super busy. Angry, entitled customers will be emailing you all the time. Everything is changing all the time. People mention SOP, but good luck figuring out what SOP is for lots of things. Every project manager, every team in every region is doing things a little differently. Can be frustrating figuring out what different PMs expect of you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your review, and for your recognition of the tireless work of our supervisors. Please provide feedback directly to your supervisor and manager on the workload. We are committed to providing all of our employees with the resources needed to be successful and engaged as we change the way our world is powered!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great in Solar

    Jul 11, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Legacy in solar - Technology - long term potential

    Cons

    Challenged industry but adjusting to environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your review and enthusiastic dedication to changing the way our world is powered!

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Safe Company

    Jul 8, 2022 - Solar Site Surveyor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety is top priority meaning the number one goal is getting you back to your family healthy at the end of every day. Direct management is very positive and every member you run across is willing to help you out in learning and adjusting to the company. Benefits are quite nice and pay is average but it does seem like the company focuses on retention and hiring throughout more than anything.

    Cons

    Sunpower is still a newer leader in solar energy and hasn't had enough time to grow it's structure and network to support it's size and individual divisions as well. Company needs more time to focus on restructuring and thorough communication before being perfect. Hours can be over demanding if boundaries are not set.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your insight and for highlighting Safety as our number value! Open communication is a key part of SunPower's culture and we will continue to strive to maintain open lines of communication with all our employees. Our upcoming engagement survey is an excellent way to provide feedback!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Jun 22, 2022 - Project Manger II in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair work and life balance

    Cons

    The equity options are the lower side.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Honest company, excellent quality, reliable and efficient products

    Jun 22, 2022 - Senior Product Line Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company has exec leadership that really cares about the employees. They recognize that employees are one of it's greatest assets

    Cons

    The industry is pretty rough. Although with democrats' return to leadership position, it should help the solar industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your commitment to changing the way our world is powered!

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Intense and forever startup

    Jun 6, 2022 - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Feel empowered and contributions make a difference Being part of a company stands by the belief Lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Intense work environment Constant stress lot of attrition in senior management

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your tenure and commitment to change the way our world is powered! Our actions are driven by our values and we strive to offer development opportunities throughout your career. We are focused on taking actions to improve work-life balance and will continue to make this a priority.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Benefits

    Jun 2, 2022 - Scheduler in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible company. understanding culture, amazing hybrid schedule and growing! Management listens and implements ideas, so share your ideas! Great competitive benefits. Business is booming.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your review and for your enthusiasm in changing the way our world is powered!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall good - lots of work

    May 31, 2022 - Project Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Nice team and company

    Cons

    Heavy work requirements Complex knowledge needed Need to be in constant communication with customers

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SunPower Response

    Senior Director, Talent & Culture

    Thank you for your review, and for highlighting the opportunity to improve the workload. We are committed to being the best employer and appreciate feedback that allows us to continually improve as we change the way our world is powered.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 507 Reviews
</>Embed

SunPower Reviews FAQs

SunPower has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 595 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at SunPower to a friend and 70% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SunPower employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SunPower. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

75% of SunPower employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SunPower 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SunPower to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with SunPower Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SunPower? Share Your Experiences

or

SunPower Photos

+ Add Photo
SunPower photo of: We believe in the power of the Sun
SunPower photo of: SunPower Sales
SunPower photo of: SunPower Installation Team
SunPower photo of: Residential Install Team
SunPower photo of: SunPower Storage
SunPower photo of: SunPower Sales
SunPower photo of: Install Team
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 595 SunPower reviews submitted anonymously by SunPower employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if SunPower is right for you.