SurveyMonkey Reviews | Glassdoor

SurveyMonkey Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 265 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
SurveyMonkey CEO Zander Lurie
Zander Lurie
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "work / life balance is a real thing(in 63 reviews)

  • "SurveyMonkey also provides great benefits and treats it's employees wonderfully which makes it easy to stay here for a long time(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with any growing company there can be some growing pains - not every process is scalable so at times things need to change(in 16 reviews)

  • "Commuting to San Mateo could be tough if you're not based nearby(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place, awesome people, fun tech challenges and strong corporate moral compass."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Engineering in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work atmosphere is very collaborative, with people always ready to jump in, help and mentor people. The company has high ethical standards and sets the bar for it's focus on diversity and isn't afraid to speak out on social issues. It's a place you can be proud to work at, while at the same time having an interesting and challenging work life with plenty of growth available.

    Cons

    N/A - I genuinely love working here, if I didn't i'd be somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-11
  2. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Before I joined SurveyMonkey I was thinking of having to leave tech. Most companies claim to have great work/life balance, but once you get there you find out that it isn't true. But then I joined SurveyMonkey and my outlook has changed completely. I didn't know there was a tech company out there that treated people with respect, invested in their growth. - Benefits are insane. I'm sure they rival 99% of companies out there. - Work/life balance is the real deal. Prioritizing health is in our company's values and it isn't just lip service. - Leadership is professional, transparent, warm, and friendly. They definitely make an effort to get to know folks. No orders from ivory towers here. Zander and the leadership team are class acts! - No drama! I've never worked at a place with so little gossip, politics, or BS to deal with.

    Cons

    Some legacy code exists but there are active efforts to upgrade older codebases.

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great workplace to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - project - technologies - perks - management

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share.

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-11
  5. "Truly Employee Centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are few companies who take care of their employees the way that SurveyMonkey does. It’s HR department is world class and not just because of the rockstars on the team, but because from Zander down leaders use feedback and action to improve the lives of the troop. Besides the great benefits, solid leadership, and lovely people SurveyMonkey provides actual value to its customers through its products. It’s extremely fulfilling to work for a company who’s offerings provide real impact to businesses across the globe.

    Cons

    A public company can’t always be transparent about the direction the company is taking.

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-07
  6. "Great Culture, Great Products, Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CIO in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A terrific culture that is supported from the executives across all global teams Industry leading products that are core to many organizations success w/ customers and employees A team that truly supports one another and believes in diversity/inclusion of all employees

    Cons

    None at this time -

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-07
  7. "Great company culture with amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Financially secure with strong sales outlook leveraging massive install base

    Cons

    Lots of new faces, still trying to figure out what everyone does

    SurveyMonkey2019-10-04
  8. "So far, so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Ae in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, leadership, office vibe, culture, career growth

    Cons

    Commuting to San Mateo could be tough if you're not based nearby. Not exactly SM's fault.

    SurveyMonkey2019-10-04
  9. "A Healthy Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Marketing in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team *really* cares about the people here. The diversity, inclusion, and focus on all kinds of growth (personal, functional, company) is pretty unique in my experience. Particularly for a company this size.

    Cons

    I don't know if SM has "cons" as much as "growing pains". The company clearly scaled in the SMB/self-service space and is now expanding into the Enterprise/sales market. I've been through a fairly similar shift before at a different company and it can be hard - but if you pull it off the results can be market-changing.

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-04
  10. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge product, great team members, great perks

    Cons

    There's always room for improvement!

    Continue reading
    SurveyMonkey2019-10-04
  11. "Challenging, Rewarding and Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SurveyMonkey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Attitude! People here are very giving, open to new ideas and encouraging when you suggest another way of doing something or trying something new. San Mateo campus is a bit far for me to get to but I love it there. Feels like an R&D facility with the best cafeteria ever.

    Cons

    The location can be a challenge for many. Affordable housing is nowhere close by.

    SurveyMonkey2019-10-04
Found 265 reviews