Synopsys Reviews | Glassdoor

Synopsys Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1423 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Synopsys CEO Dr. Aart J. de Geus and Dr. Chi-Foon Chan
Dr. Aart J. de Geus and Dr. Chi-Foon Chan
945 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nothing is bad as they permit good work life balance, WFH etc(in 39 reviews)

  • "Not for employees looking for personal career growth(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Outstanding company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synopsys full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Integrity, execution excellence, leadership and passion are their stated values. #1 in the EDA industry for 10+ years, because of the excellent employees and leadership throughout the company.

    Cons

    You'll be on the cutting edge of technology, so expect a fast-paced challenging environment that is quite rewarding, but changes rapidly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what made you #1 in the industry and remember your employees are your most important assets.

    Synopsys2019-03-21
  2. "Perfect blend of compensation, work and life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synopsys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is challenging yet well paced so we are not expected to spend 12 hrs a day at work. Most people in my group work between 8-10 hrs a day 90% of the year and our group is Synopsys' biggest source of revenue so I'm sure we're not outliers! The compensation is decent if you had a competing offer to negotiate with before accepting the offer. It's a stable company and the management at the top knows fully well... what they're into and what the industry trends are and is well equipped for change!

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a stable environment with a relatively older crowd of employees (avg age might be 40?) so the culture isn't as fun and dynamic as other companies like Facebook or Google.

    Advice to Management

    Introduce some more fun and team bonding events! Have an annual Gala where everyone dresses up and put on a show! Events like that raise morale, build team spirit and show the world that your company and employees are content and happy! If nothing,

    Synopsys2019-07-16
  3. "hi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I worked at Synopsys full-time

    Pros

    it's a great place! To work!

    Cons

    I wanted to interact with people more.

    Synopsys2019-09-09
  4. "Synopsys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synopsys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wide exposure to various levels of expertise. People with lots of experience to make rich base for knowledge

    Cons

    Average age too high. Not a good place for freshers. Company culture too isolated.

    Synopsys2019-09-08
  5. "Was a great place to work, but undergoing a lot of management changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Synopsys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally stable, good products, established processes

    Cons

    Undergoing management changes so lots of layoffs lately

    Synopsys2019-09-17
  6. "Great company, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - QA Engineer II 

    I have been working at Synopsys full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work at

    Cons

    Not all managers are good

    Synopsys2019-08-22
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - R&D Engineer in Hillsboro, OR

    I worked at Synopsys full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good technical people. Adequate infrastructure. Management doesn't make unrealistic schedules.

    Cons

    Slowly moving jobs overseas. Too "lean and mean"

    Synopsys2019-09-04
  8. "Fair choice for new grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synopsys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    not too many chance for promotion

    Synopsys2019-08-12
  9. "Great company, very stable, promotion is a bit slow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research Analyst in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synopsys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High integrity, low stress, great team and amazing people to work with

    Cons

    Slow and bureaucratic, promotions are slow

    Synopsys2019-08-11
  10. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Consultant in Dulles, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synopsys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, great benefits, friendly work environment, anyone is willing to help you

    Cons

    For my particular work I have no cons

    Synopsys2019-08-09
Found 1423 reviews