The Hanover Insurance Group Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Hanover Insurance Group President and Chief Executive Officer John C. Roche
John C. Roche
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work environment, great benefits(in 46 reviews)

  • "Everyone works very hard while maintaining a strong work life balance(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The traffic in Worcester can be a nightmare from time-to-time(in 21 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is completely gone for those employees who take their career seriously(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Hanover Insurance Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Great Company

      Feb 22, 2021 - Analyst in Howell, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love this company. Has a lot of opportunities within the company. Good pay. Keeps up on new technology. Promotes from within. Ability to work from home. Flexible

      Cons

      No cons at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      May 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities for professional growth and development.

      Cons

      Nothing that stands out to me. “The grass is always greener” has never applied based on my experience with the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place To Work

      May 11, 2021 - Business Analyst in Worcester, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People and benefits are great

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It took me a long, long time to come around to writing this!

      Apr 15, 2021 - Bookroll Specialist in Worcester, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive coworkers, flexible schedule.

      Cons

      I experienced racial discrimination when I worked here in 2010, and the company did not take it serious. I spoke with an HR representative who agreed that there seemed to be racial discrimination going on. The solution was to put the manager in classes that taught him to be a better manager. One day I was sitting at my desk and decided to just up and quit. HR called me to ask why, but I felt like they weren’t taking it serious so I never returned their phone call. Sadly, I recently looked up this manager, and I see that he is now a director at the company. My coworkers (of various races) were very supportive and backed many of my claims to HR. Again, of course things were different then and I wasn’t taken serious. Luckily, I was able to file for and receive unemployment when I quit. In hindsight, I wish I fought harder to expose this manager because who knows what else he’s gotten away with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Hanover Insurance Group Response

      Social Media Manager

      The Hanover is committed to creating a diverse and inclusive culture, one where every employee feels welcome and valued. When we foster an inclusive work environment, research shows that our company will achieve stronger business results and foster greater employee satisfaction. The Hanover is an equal opportunity employer. We do not discriminate on the basis of race, color, gender, disability, ethnicity, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, sexual identity, veteran or marital status, or on any other basis prohibited by law. The Hanover is committed to providing an inclusive and diverse work place for all of its employees. We are open to hearing your feedback and encourage you to contact Human Resources @ HRFirstContact@hanover.com or 800-221-2285 if you’d like to discuss further.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The company that CAREs

      May 1, 2021 - Instructional Designer in Worcester, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Hanover lives its core values of CARE - collaboration, accountability, respect and empowerment. They really support their employees and help them thrive

      Cons

      In the year that I've worked here, there are none.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very good

      May 6, 2021 - Market Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience and very rewarding

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      May 7, 2021 - Underwriting Technician in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a good entry level job to learn and gain experience in the industry

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company to work for

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Litigation Specialist in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company allows remote working.

      Cons

      Salary a bit lower than industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      One of my worst career moves

      Apr 4, 2021 - Other 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent salary and benefits, although the benefit costs are not the cheapest.

      Cons

      Poor management culture that will attempt to motivate employees by holding them accountable to shifting standards. You will work hard here, and your reward will be more pressure. Many talented folks came and went in the short time I was there, and it's clear their treatment of employees causes good talent to leave. Everyone in the management group seems to look after their own ambitions rather than those of their employees. Don't waste your time trying to pour yourself into a career at this place, it's not worth all the headaches and heartaches.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Apr 29, 2021 - Senior Data Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great manager,flexible about get time off

      Cons

      things moving slowly especially IT infrastructure change

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 539 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Hanover Insurance Group Job Seekers

    Claims Adjuster
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Small Commercial Sales Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Hanover Insurance Group? Share Your Experiences

    or