The RealReal Reviews | Glassdoor

The RealReal Reviews

Updated January 11, 2019
241 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The RealReal Founder & CEO Julie Wainwright
Julie Wainwright
164 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The Company Has Consideration Towards The Company By Preparing Free Lunch,Breakfast And Much More" (in 21 reviews)

  • "Free bagels on Fridays, catered lunch during overtime week," (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Its hard to maintain a healthy work-life balance when working here" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Similar to the environment of junior year in high school" (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "I'm proud to be part of the team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely positive and friendly staff, willing to act as resources for new employees and fellow teammates.
    Open and creative environment - people are open to express themselves, there is heavy communication across departments, and fun team-building exercises for the whole office
    SO much room for growth - managers are constantly encouraging internal growth and looking to colleagues for referrals and innovative solutions
    The CEO has an amazing story and her strength and mindset are portrayed through the company and its team.
    Work is administered to employees as they can handle - I have yet to work extensive hours because I handle my time wisely. There is a firm value of a work/life balance!

    Cons

    It's hard to meet all of the high-level directors or executives of each department because their plates are so full, but they are always open and friendly via email.

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write this, and we're delighted to know how happy you are. We are so glad you are part of the team!


  2. "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    flexible, friendly, fun, innovative, positive

    Cons

    lots of change to adapt to

  3. "Great if you can hustle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Copywriter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, perks, great founder and CEO, Hr is easy to reach

    Cons

    Training, work life balance, cliques, end of month goals leave less work to life balance

    Advice to Management

    More training readily available not just in fashion but the tech aspect, more realistic goals and expectations, stop doing end of month it’s exhausting.

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write this! We appreciate all that you do and are so happy you are part of the team.


  4. Helpful (5)

    "Extremely.... meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time

    Pros

    - The people! - $50 monthly food credit - Schedule (4 10 hour days) - Do not have to deal with customers

    Cons

    - MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i.e seniors/leads, not very personable at ALL, hypocritical) - nepotism - HIGH TURNOVER - tell people what they can/can not do during their break

    Advice to Management

    You guys have GREAT employees at this company. They work their hardest. But you act like nobody is good enough to move up or get promoted when you hire from the outside.

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 3, 2019

    Thank you so much for your feedback as we are always looking for opportunities to grow and develop. We truly value our employees career growth and our HR team has worked hard to build career paths... More


  5. "Warehouse Receiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Receiver in Brisbane, CA
    Former Employee - Warehouse Receiver in Brisbane, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice environment, everyone is friendly, and I had a pleasurable overall experience working there.

    Cons

    Management is a bit vague in terms of what is and isn't allowed. Given the casualness of the workplace, it's a bit ambiguous as to what is acceptable.

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to do better! We truly appreciate all that you do.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, very nice colleagues, everyone is willing to help. Groceries provided for the week! Great benefits, great PTO! Great place to work. It keeps growing and getting better! A lot of room for growth.

    Cons

    A lot of changes. If you can adjust constantly then this job is for you!

    Advice to Management

    Communicate! If someone is no longer part of the team communicate it. Write an email and let everyone know! Communicate the changes coming rather than giving a day notice and provide more guidance when changes do occur.

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback! That is great advice and we will definitely pass this along to our Management team for IS. Thank you for all that you do!!


  7. Helpful (17)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - IT Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people, good office location, laptop provided

    Cons

    This company is the most disorganized organization I have ever worked for. There seems to be a lack of leadership in my area and zero accountability. I sit and listen to my supervisors and managers talk about how they are worked too hard and can't take a vacation. I had high hopes and was excited about my new job position, which has turned out to be nothing like it was described to me during the interview process. Do not waste your time and efforts here.

    Advice to Management

    I was getting coffee in the cafe recently and was next to the founder/CEO, Julie Wainwright. She looked me up and down, gave me rude look and did not say hello when I said hi. Why would I or anyone want to waste hours of their life working for a CEO who clearly does not value employees and apparently rude. After seeing her in person, the dysfunctionality of this company now makes complete sense.

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 15, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. Our HR team would love to connect with you in person to address your concerns directly. Please feel free to contact Lynn or Heather if you are comfortable.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fashion Luxury reciever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    management-
    Always willing to help
    Good leadership

    $50 credit from eat club
    Ample parking space, free shuttle from Glen Park Bart
    Extensive OT offers
    Little lunch socials
    Security everywhere
    Two big break rooms
    Coffee machines, snack bar

    Refer new employees you get $500 bonus (minus taxes $280)

    Cons

    HR doesn’t care
    Most managers aren’t too friendly
    Pretty clicky Department’s
    pay— starting is $16.50.. you don’t always get a raise and if you do, it’s barely 50 cents every year

    Can’t really move up unless you’re highly liked by superiors

    The RealReal Response

    Jan 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback as we truly appreciate the opportunity to do better. Our HR team cares for all of our employees in Brisbane deeply, we are only here to support and represent YOU! Please... More


  9. Helpful (6)

    "Shop Keeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The RealReal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits - medical, therapy, pet insurance

    Cons

    Unorganized back room
    Managers don't talk to employees with respect
    A lot of drama
    Fires people with little explanation

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to talk to others


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Copywriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The RealReal full-time

    Pros

    Lunches
    Working with great people

    Cons

    Long hours
    Strict demands asked
    Shady managers