Tile Reviews | Glassdoor

Tile Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tile CEO CJ Prober
CJ Prober
6 Ratings
  1. "Good Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IOS Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere and friendly coworkers. The company is doing pretty good as well.

    Cons

    Usually no bonuses at the end of the year.

    Tile2019-05-28
  2. "Great company, very promising business value proposition and fantastic teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solving a worldwide need. Track and connect your most loved items in an integrated community

    Cons

    Like any start up, things move fast and Tilers just need to quickly adapt to changes and be bold!

    Advice to Management

    CEO and executive leadership are awesome!

    Tile2019-04-19

    Tile Response

    April 19, 2019VP, People

    Thanks for the great review! I love your statement about being bold! So true!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    The team actually cares about the product and about helping each other Interesting challenges across hardware/backend/frontend/mobile Founding engineers continue to lead their areas and help others grow

    Cons

    Shakiness after leadership changes and layoffs from early 2018 (this is actively being improved by execs)

    Advice to Management

    Continue being transparent and honest about company goals and challenges

    Tile2018-12-13

    Tile Response

    December 14, 2018VP, People

    Thank you for the great review!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Fulfillment and Logistics in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great small company! Excellent team and leadership is really top notch. This company is going to do big things.

    Cons

    It's a small company still trying to bootstrap and many people are stretched too thin. It's not a place to work if you aren't OK with a lot of interruptions and if you aren't willing to do whatever it takes. We are all over worked!

    Advice to Management

    I think the last year has been navigated with skill and an eye toward culture improvement. I really can't say anything negative.

    Tile2018-11-13

    Tile Response

    November 18, 2018VP, People

    Thanks for the candid review and mostly for being part of the team that saw us through this transitional year. The sky is the limit!!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Bright future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic week last week that included new software and hardware launches. Great press and consumer response. New CEO brings great experience to Tile. Team is tight and really cares.

    Cons

    Like any place in the valley we need more engineers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. It’s working!

    Tile2018-10-07

    Tile Response

    October 8, 2018VP, People

    I agree last week was great! Thanks for the awesome feedback. We hear you on engineering hiring and will continue to make that a top priority.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    - They have intelligent people working on the team - Building a great culture

    Cons

    - Haven't seen anything major so far.

    Tile2018-09-26

    Tile Response

    October 1, 2018VP, People

    Thanks for the positive review! Glad you are having a great experience at Tile!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Making strides towards success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    Tile has been working hard in the past few months to define new goals for the company and create a solid vision of its future. HR has implemented plenty of great culture-boosting activities and delivered multiple training sessions to ensure people-leaders/managers and all employees are on the same track and feel cared for.

    Cons

    Still affected by recent layoff in a lot of people turnover, team cohesiveness can be lackluster

    Tile2018-09-12

    Tile Response

    September 24, 2018VP, People

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Its great to hear the pros that you mentioned. I'm glad to see those areas are having an impact on your experience. If you are up for it, I'd love to hear your specifics around team cohesiveness and ask if you'd like to join our ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Big impact with your work, and even it is a startup you don’t work crazy hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IOS Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, a good product and the chance to have impact on a startup that moves quiet fast.

    Cons

    Unfortunately holidays are not unlimited. And it is 15 days per year, but on the other hand there is some flexibility to work remotely some days if necessary.

    Tile2018-08-20

    Tile Response

    August 20, 2018VP, People

    I love that you are having big impact. That is the most important part of anyone's role and something we strive for everyone to have at Tile. Thanks so much for the positive review and thank you for all you contribute to Tile!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    A positive work environment where management and employees work in synergy towards shared goals

    Cons

    The pros outweigh any small cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive momentum!

    Tile2018-08-23

    Tile Response

    August 27, 2018VP, People

    Thanks for the awesome review! We will definitely keep the positive momentum going!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Resilient team working hard to define a new market and product category!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    - Talented, friendly team and great work environment - Creating a new product category never done before - Supporting progressive ideals such as diversity in the workplace and other workshops

    Cons

    - Attrition/turnover - Challenge of goals with small(er) teams - Challenge of communicating the value and function of a new category to customers

    Advice to Management

    - Maintain transparency with employees - Encourage ideas and feedback on goals from employees - Pursue staffing needs as much as possible to achieve goals

    Tile2018-07-31

    Tile Response

    August 7, 2018VP, People

    Its wonderful to see such a positive review. The leadership team has been working diligiently to create the best work environment possible for everyone. Thank you for your suggestions. As you know, we take them very seriously and look forward to continuing to make Tile an even better ...

    Show More
Found 40 reviews