KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

TinyCo

Part of Jam City
Is this your company?

TinyCo

Add a Review

TinyCo Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 69 reviews

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
TinyCo Chief Executive Officer Chris DeWolfe (no image)
Chris DeWolfe
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Catered dinners and periodic lunches/events(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great community of talented people that like to get stuff done(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management 'encourages' the implementation of ideas from other games without checking whether it's even apt for the game(in 10 reviews)

  • "It's hard to make a real impact on the decision-making for the games that are made (but small effects are easy)(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good, passionate people trying to make great games.

      Nov 11, 2017 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There’s catered lunch a few days a week and catered dinner. Work life balance is mostly good other than understandably right before a big game release. Best coworkers you will ever work with!

      Cons

      401k marching is non existent. No bonuses or equity or any other structure exists to make me feel like I have a stake in company success.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This is Hard Work!

      Sep 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I believe that TinyCo doesn't hire just experienced people, or "good" people, or "bad" people, I think they try to hire the right people to make F2P mobile games, and sometimes experience doesn't mean results, I like that the culture is results driven. - I've learned a ton, maybe I'd even say a crap load. - I feel like I matter here, and that people want me to actually give me opinions and thoughts directly and its not encumbered by red tape or dumb managers - The people are amazing here. Everyone is positive, bright, helpful and there are almost no politics. People have fun and like to spend time with one another and no one is left out. - Great pipeline of game projects that we are very excited about.

      Cons

      - I wish there was more of a management structure and that the company was organized in general, it's a bit of a mess and sometimes the lack of structure creates craziness. I guess its better that there isn't too much management like other companies, but more would help. - Projects are a bit unstructured as well, but I think they are getting much better. I think if we keep having hits and investing in teams and management the company could get there. - Management is a bit slow to act... Decisions feel like they take a lifetime to be made and trickle down even for simple things. - The office is kind of craptastic, but its not bad, just not... pretty.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      No faith in the company, very superficial upper management

      Nov 18, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great art folks, late night dinners and snacks and happy hour times.

      Cons

      Upper management has this "fratboy" mentality, So many unnecessary drinking parties. Very stingy with raises no matter how hard you work for the company. They don't have an idea with what they want creatively or what kind of identity they want for the company. Tribal mentality amongst workers, it almost has a high-school mentality of socialism. Mostly young, very few people with many years of experience. People's ideas are shot down just because they don't meet the company's status quo and instead will only go with what works with other companies or whoever kisses up the fastest

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Culture and Career Experience in a Chaotic Industry

      Apr 22, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Awesome team. Very little politicking and a close-knit, almost familial culture. If you want to, you'll make some great friends at TinyCo. - Good product slate. It feels good to work on live games that are currently successful in the market, and there is a lot of internal excitement around new projects. - Execution-focused culture. Nobody is hanging out in middle-management land telling others what to do. Everyone is focused on getting their work done. - Meaningful work. Relatively small company size means your contributions actually affect the success and future of the company. - Relatively good perks. Great location, free dinner, company outings, etc.

      Cons

      - Day to day work can be chaotic. You'll have to be able to create some emotional distance from your work in order to keep a cool head when when things get changed or cancelled, which will happen. Burnout is a real possibility if you do not actively manage yourself and your work/life balance. - Lack of executive personnel has limited company's ability to scale, and must be addressed if we're going to significantly scale up the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing talent pool hindered by poor decision making and lack of vision

      Apr 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * All the usual goodies for tech startups: catered dinners, outings, fun people who are passionate about their work, etc. * Get to work with exciting 3rd-party IPs * Great benefits * The people are amazing * The culture is welcoming to all kinds of people * Beautiful views

      Cons

      * Development processes are overly focused on the short term. * Little effort is made to prevent recurring issues with the games, development workflows, or project management. * Innovative products nearly always evolve into slight variations of their older games, or are cancelled entirely. * Peer bonus system for "above and beyond" seems set up to reward unpaid overtime more than anything. "Above and beyond" varies wildly by department. * High turnover means frequent desk shuffles and exacerbates project management issues. * Quality of the live product is hampered by short release cycles and last-minute changes. * Few opportunities for advancement. * Open office plan is an obstacle when you need to focus, and working from home is actively discouraged.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Difficult place to work. Very limited resources. Incompetent upper management.

      Mar 27, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There are a handful of genuinely good people at TinyCo who are passionate about making a good, high quality games. Unfortunately, none of them are in a position where they can bring about significant change. - Good benefits. Health/Vision/Dental all taken care of. Free dinners and snacks.

      Cons

      - Almost all departments within the company are stretched extremely thin and hiring is extremely slow or frozen. Many games simply lack the resources needed to be high quality. - Depending on what department you join - your pay can either be very competitive or extremely poor. Regardless, it is very difficult to get promotions or raises. - Several members of upper management are poor communicators, who are highly inexperienced, unorganized, and extremely lacking in knowledge of their own field of expertise. Their poor leadership abilities cripple the company and prevent it from growing into the truly dominating force it could become.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great People but Deceptive and Cut Throat Management

      May 3, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -always on the lookout for new people so a great place to get started in an interesting and fun industry -Really fun IPs to work with -The Business Development team at this company is really impressive. They keep getting great opportunities for TinyCo to work with. -So many great people work here! -There is a lot of work to be done so you can get involved in a variety of things

      Cons

      -Fires people regularly without communicating it to the remaining staff. (Someone will eventually ask, "Where is so and so?" then, after some awkward glances between upper management, someone will admit "they were let go") (This has happened to 3 people over a 6 month period) -There will be no discussion as to why people were let go, leaving the office open to gossip and suspicions that there wasn't a just cause (there can't be just cause if they can't give a reason right?) -People who fall out of favor (even those that have worked at TinyCo for a long time) will be pushed into a corner and given a terrible job title until they leave. (I have been at the company for less than a year and this has happened to two people) -People in management positions have little management experience or training which makes it difficult for their staff to do well (of course they only blame the staff, not the management when people "fail")

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Team, but a Tough Road Ahead

      Sep 23, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Team: Some amazing people at the company. Smart, fun, talented, and creative. - Perks: Dinner every night, gatherings, good benefits, a relaxed atmosphere. - Tech: Great engineering team and engineering leadership. - Strategy: I think the company strategy seems to be shifting a lot to something that will work but this is also a potential Con. - Learning: Still a lot of opportunities to learn a ton of you are aggressive and want more responsibility

      Cons

      - Indecisiveness: A lot of chaos, things going in a lot of different directions, too much change and without order. - Management can be very heavy on product side and doesn't really motivate or lead strongly enough - Teams don't have enough say in products or chance to shine enough. - Could be more aggressive on salary

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pros

      Incredibly talented people who really care about their work. You have the chance to be the person that makes a difference. Most down to earth engineering team I've ever worked with. Every day I wake up and I'm excited to go work with the people around me. Best environment I've ever worked in. No one is sitting behind a closed door in an office behind a big desk. Everyone, including the CEO, is extremely approachable and open to a conversation. (People communicate across levels & departments) With smaller teams, decisions can be made quicker. Generous vacation time & great work life balance I've seen the company go through growing pains but fully believe things are changing and 2014/2015 looks bright.

      Cons

      - Leadership should focus more on/ allow more time for future planning

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Product Team

      Apr 22, 2015 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There is a ton of free flowing information and hard work to accomplish. People learn a ton here. - Free flow of ideas and thoughts on how to improve the business or the products. - Great community of talented people that like to get stuff done. No politics. - A solid strategy that has put us on a path for differentiation in a very difficult market. - Everyone loves games

      Cons

      - We still aren't as organized as we could be and there can be a lot of chaos, but that is also a part of making games. - Sometimes aren't able to get the resources we need quickly enough and have to prioritize a bit too much sometimes. - The CEO has his hands in a lot of things very directly which can be really great, but sometimes feels unnecessary.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TinyCo Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TinyCo? Share Your Experiences

    TinyCo logo
    or