UPC Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

UPC Insurance Reviews

Updated November 17, 2017
13 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Don Cronin
3 Ratings

13 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You're not just a number here. They really value their employees! Monthly luncheons and a ton of other activities sprinkled in between. Best company I've worked at. The work can be difficult, but the company and your coworkers make it all worthwhile.

    Cons

    Some of the people in the office need to have HR training on diversity topics such as race, sexual orientation, and gender identification.

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep up the good work.

    UPC Insurance Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    Thank you for leaving us this awesome review! We're happy to have you as part of the UPC family!


  2. "One of those rare dream jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    UPC to me has been a dream job. From the people to what I do, I can honestly say I love where I work. UPC has:
    -Great Culture
    -Fun Activities every month
    -Managers that care
    -Genuinely nice coworkers
    -Awesome Training Program
    -Ability to always move up within the company.
    -Great Company Incentives
    -Beautiful and secured campus

    Cons

    There aren’t really any cons other than the fact that you may gain some weight because they give us so much free food.

    On the plus side they do have a great Gym reimbursement program to help you out with that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! The support you give your employees is amazing and they truly appreciate it.

    UPC Insurance Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this 5-star review. We're proud to bring an exciting and enriching environment to all our team members.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent morale and upbeat atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time

    Pros

    I have been with UPC for a little over 2 years and it’s been refreshing to come to work and enjoy not only what I do but the people I share 9 hours of my day with. When the CEO says, “Go After It UPC” it definitely gives you the boost and motivation to do just that! The culture as well as the Morale at UPC is like no other company I have ever worked for. To all those deserving; the recognition, the appreciation, the gratitude never goes unnoticed by Management. Proud to say that UPC Truly has been the “BEST COMPANY” I’ve worked for!!

    Cons

    Lots of cookies, candies and cakes... OH MY!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep Doing what you're doing!!! IT WORKS!!

    UPC Insurance Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    Thank you for this review! We love to see that you feel appreciated, and supported, especially by our management team!


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fast-Paced Company with Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can't beat the location! The Company has a fantastic vision and truly values their associates. This is the only place I've worked where 90% of the people you walk by will always smile or ask you how you're doing. The company is growing quickly, so there's a lot of new faces but you can get to know people outside of your department very easily. UPC plans tons of events such as luncheons, holiday parties, annual picnics at the beach, 5ks, etc.

    Cons

    They have multiple Keurigs on every floor and I'm drinking more coffee than ever!

    UPC Insurance Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    We're so happy to have you as a part of the UPC family. Thanks so much for this stellar review!


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Company Focused on Culture & Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Allows me to do meaningful work without bureaucracy. Company provides a great environment, recognizes employees, and has very good benefits. Downtown location is fantastic!

    Cons

    It's a fast pace environment - it's not for everyone.

    UPC Insurance Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this amazing review! We're happy to provide a work environment that you feel as though you can grow in!


  6. "A diamond in the rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Vibrant culture where individuals can have a direct effect on change. Fast paced environment with consistent expansion of product offerings so the work is never stagnant. Competitive salaries.

    Cons

    Insurance experience is generally required

    Advice to Management

    Continue hiring free thinkers and individuals with positive attitudes


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Positive environment. Promotes growth. Competitive pay and best benefits I've had in related industries. Lots of fun company paid events - plus monthly "luncheons" catered at work and monthly "All hands on deck" meetings with catered breakfast. Opportunities for career advancement training and schooling that is reimbursed upon completion. Advancement is clear and encouraged. Yearly bonus, raises and increase in PTO. The best insurance company I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    Can be challenging with many changes, so you need to be the type of person not afraid of change and improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job.

    UPC Insurance Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    Thank you for sharing insights! We're so glad to have you grow with us!

  8. "Mindfulness of the end result"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at UPC Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Note the prior reviews regarding micro management & employee respect

    Cons

    Putting in will not be what you get out - beware

    Advice to Management

    Remember what the focus is, toward the actual goal. Respect people and their time.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Growth with Great Opportunities for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunities for promotion within. Fantastic culture with strong values.

    Cons

    Explosive growth presents natural challenges such as creating new procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with improvements and developing new systems and procedures.

    UPC Insurance Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    We’re so happy to have you as part of the UPC Family. Thanks so much for this stellar review!


  10. Helpful (8)

    "Micro-management to the point of gross mismanagement of the claims dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Claims in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPC Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay was good, maybe a little better than average, many great people to work with. A beautiful new office in a great location.

    Cons

    The claims handling process, as well as every other part of the job was severely micromanaged making easy, simple parts of the job into needlessly time consuming tasks. Employee input is met with arrogant, condescending responses that reflect the attitude of distrust and disdain that the upper management has for the employees. The micromanagement, unreliable claims handling software and very inefficient work flows made even the simplest of claims into long drawn out situations and became so bad that it became impossible to complete my job and provide a level of customer service that I wanted to be associated with.

    Advice to Management

    The current management style is perfectly suited for a correctional facilty, or maybe a school for behaviorally challenged children but is ineffective and toxic to a good claims department and will not be tolerated by professional, experienced claims handlers.

    Empower the employees to make decisions, create a culture of respect and trust for the employees. Loyalty requires reciprocity. Claims work can be tough enough without taking friendly fire from those who should have your back.


Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset Filters