UserTesting Reviews | Glassdoor

UserTesting Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Andy MacMillan
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product in a hot market, benefits (catered lunches, massages, yoga), career growth, great cultures(in 16 reviews)

  • "Work from home or where ever you are(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "All of tests are available only on a first come first serve basis(in 28 reviews)

  • "They are so specific that no one would ever qualify to actually test the website(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stellar place, getting better every day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It's awesome to be with the leader in the UX space, and growing to Product, Marketing, etc., and to have 98% of your customers genuinely appreciating what you're doing for their business. New management is awesome, and the team keeps getting stronger and stronger. Great product continues to improve.

    Cons

    With great growth, comes change. If you can't handle change, that's a con.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. :)

    UserTesting2019-03-05

    UserTesting Response

    April 17, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the nice review. We've been a'changing for sure. Thanks for hanging in there with us!

  2. "Website Testing From Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Work From Home User Acceptance Tester 

      I have been working at UserTesting part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      This is a very good way to gain some basic user acceptance experience while testing websites from home.

      Cons

      All of tests are available only on a first come first serve basis.

      Advice to Management

      N/a

      UserTesting2019-05-01
    • "Potential could be good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tester 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very flexible, $10 per test and the scenarios instructions are very clear and easy to understand.

      Cons

      * It’s hard to get a website to review, seems like the screening questions can go on and on to boot you out of being able to do it. * Sometimes it seems like you get the same ones because the screening questions are exactly the same.

      Advice to Management

      It would be easier to have the qualifications listed on each assignments, it’s very time consuming to keep answering question after question just to say I’m not qualified. There should be a system that can match up assignments with our qualifications.

      UserTesting2019-04-23
    • Helpful (6)

      "Dreadful and tiring"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Colleagues are great and we always try to lift eachother up

      Cons

      Morale is dropping and upper management keeps letting people go so now people are leaving on their own as well. I don't see a future here anymore and I don't know where the company is going. It seems like it's becoming more 'sales ' and no one cares about the professional service group anymore. Everyone just keeps working hard for nothing so its dreadful and tiring to go to work now. Some people on the PM team doesnt...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Have a plan when you lay someone off and be transparent about it and guide the team if you're a leader. Don't just have us figure it out ourselves, although its challenging to do that but some guidance would be nice.

      UserTesting2019-04-11

      UserTesting Response

      April 17, 2019Chief People Officer

      Thank you for being open in your review. I've shared this with the best people on the team to work with you and look at what happened. We're sad that the changes made impacted you and your team this way.

    • Helpful (3)

      "Offer feedback"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Stay At Home Mother in Rockville, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at UserTesting part-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Its good to check new or current websites and give my feedback. I love that others values my opinions, and suggestions. You can make$10 easily if you qualify for a test.

      Cons

      If you think you can count on this as a full or part time job, look somewhere else. Occasionally you come across a task that you are qualified for. Furthermore, you do not always get a task to screen of you are qualified or not. Even so, you try to honestly or what you think they are looking for and it says, " unfortunately you do not qualify." I just wish more task would show up on my screen.

      Advice to Management

      Try to give more tasks to stay at home moms because full time parenting prepares our mind to do any job description you can think of. Moreover, do not judge someone for not having any job experienced in a field because many people are fast learner and they can often times fullfil the job better than those who says that they have experienced. I have four degrees: two Masters and 2 Bachelors, but being a stay mother means...

      Show More
      UserTesting2019-02-27

      UserTesting Response

      April 17, 2019Chief People Officer

      Thanks for the commentary. It's hard for us to gauge what our customers are looking for in a tester -- this isn't in control of the company. With the addition of our UserMuse acquisition, we hope that we will have dramatically more opportunities in the near future -- particularly ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (3)

      "This is the place to be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great product, strong leadership, employee-first culture, management really cares about developing the team.

      Cons

      Not enough urgency in a few groups

      Advice to Management

      Stay on your path. Great moves so far.

      UserTesting2019-02-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fantastic engineering culture. Well executed product."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Fantastic engineering culture. Smart employees. Values growth, kindness, and customers. Great product. Very remote friendly.

      Cons

      Some tech debt. Outdated frameworks in use.

      UserTesting2018-11-20
    • Helpful (6)

      "No Money, No Tests, Not Worth IT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tester 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      None. I have nothing positive to say. If the process worked as it claims, it might be okay.

      Cons

      There are rarely tests you qualify for. You will spend time taking screeners , but rarely qualify for an actaul test. Your hourly wage will be horrible considering all the time you waste taking screeners only to find out you don't qualify.

      Advice to Management

      Give users tests.

      UserTesting2018-12-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "All my friends wish they worked here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Marietta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Very flexible, and responsive to my scheduling needs. An unusually caring group of people that is strong on empathy and communication over hierarchy.

      Cons

      Structure keeps changing, and culture rewards the outspoken over the shy.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up, I've been increasingly impressed with the choices made by the (changing) executive team over the past few years.

      UserTesting2018-11-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Growing company - amazing perks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at UserTesting full-time

      Pros

      UserTesting is a leader of the industry. The culture is more than enticing! Free lunch 2X a week, stocked break room, bi-weekly happy hours, weekly yoga sessions and massages. New executive team is exactly what UT needs to get to the next level. Big things are on th horizon and I am excited to be part of the journey!

      Cons

      Not a great work life balance. Many employees commutes take up to an hour +. Work from home 1-2x a month would alleviate a painful commute.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to listen to employees and let them know they are being heard.

      UserTesting2018-07-31

      UserTesting Response

      August 16, 2018Chief People Officer

      Thanks for the feedback. As you know, we're looking at our offices and how we work. Please talk to your manager about working from home occasionally -- this is something we support if it is possible!

    Found 131 reviews