White Castle Reviews | Glassdoor

White Castle Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 276 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Lisa Ingram
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food on breaks, 401k, decorating restaurant for different holidays(in 52 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, benefits for full time employees(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at White Castle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and safe work space.

    Cons

    Temp to hire through agencies

    Advice to Management

    Hire on employees directly

    White Castle2019-08-15
  2. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Certified Trainer 

    I worked at White Castle part-time

    Pros

    Easy work. Fast paced.

    Cons

    High turnover. Hard to get days off

    White Castle2019-08-21
  3. "Managing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at White Castle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is very good, good benefits

    Cons

    Scheduled 10+ night shift in a row

    Advice to Management

    Rotate management like your supposed to

    White Castle2019-08-03
  4. "Higher pay than most fast food jobs, still not that good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at White Castle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Higher pay than most fast food jobs - Very flexible and understanding when it came to co-workers trading shifts - Free meal when you get there, free meal for lunch, and free meal when you get off work (very unhealthy for you, but very healthy for your wallet) - Work that keeps you busy

    Cons

    - Rarely offers full-time or overtime - Scheduling is all over the place, you can work a night shift and then end up back in the morning - You can work more than 30 hours one week, and then less than 15 hours the next - No steady positions, you work what they tell you to regardless of what you want - Management was very biased and unprofessional for the two stores I worked at - The two stores I worked at had very...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the higher-up management, such as the district managers and regional managers, please keep a closer eye on the general managers and crew managers of your stores. I quit, and then four people quit right after me, and we all agreed it was mostly because of the management. The management at the first store I worked at was pretty bad, but the second store that they moved me to had entirely worse management. Horrible attitude,...

    Show More
    White Castle2019-07-18
  5. "Jerks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at White Castle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company needs to improve on their management and communication.

    Cons

    Most of the managers are as holes

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to get their life together and treat their workers better. They are disrespectful and very poor on decision makings. They are very unprofessional and unfair. Advice = do not work for this company. From experience I hate this company from the heart. They only choose favorites for certain positions. Detroit location.

    White Castle2019-08-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Merrillville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at White Castle full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and worked with me when needed

    Cons

    I enjoyed it very much. Clean friendly place

    White Castle2019-07-01
  7. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fry Cook 

    I worked at White Castle

    Pros

    Everything is awesome thank you

    Cons

    Nothing is wrong with them

    White Castle2019-07-02
  8. "Easy job if you like Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at White Castle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid every week. Flexible Schedule. Possible promotions.

    Cons

    Regular cons of fast food Example: Be prepared for rude customers.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time on proper and complete training with new team members.

    White Castle2019-06-27
  9. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Manager in Mokena, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at White Castle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    free food health insurance great pay

    Cons

    general managers and corporate don’t care about anything and get mad if you call off because you are seriously sick and literally in the ER. but they don’t care because it’s “unacceptable”

    Advice to Management

    want to actually hire people and keep them? start respecting your employees and being considerate

    White Castle2019-07-07
  10. "Stepping stone job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at White Castle part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay, free food while working

    Cons

    Bad management, bad upper management,

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your workers

    White Castle2019-06-26
Found 276 reviews