Wickes Reviews | Glassdoor

Wickes Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Wickes CEO Simon King (no image)
Simon King
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Discount at multiple places all travis Perkins stores associates up and down the country(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount and perks scheme(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage so hard if you're trying to support a family(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long hours, some unsociable, but could definitely be a lot worse(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes for less than a year

    Pros

    there were great staff mangers owners it was an overall great work experince would do it agai n

    Cons

    there were none the company was great

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Wickes2019-01-14
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Man in Niles, IL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wickes

    Pros

    It was a very excellent work experience. The people there were very nice to work with. The management i felt, cared for no only their customers but there employees as well.

    Cons

    Some customers were not very friendly which made my job more difficult to perform. Working on commission could be very trying.

    Advice to Management

    The furniture needs and should be better quality. Make salesmen salary more competitive so that they are more motivated and worker turnover is decreased.

    Wickes2012-03-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Wickes part-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues and good customers.

    Cons

    A bit too rushed for the amount got paid.

    Wickes2019-10-23
  5. "Good Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Harlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Workplace, happy to work around my needs as I worked there whilst at college

    Cons

    No cons I can think of

    Wickes2019-11-04
  6. "Godd if you're a student or semi-retired.. not so much for a long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at Wickes part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    . Flexible rota . Approachable management . Physically active role . Good banter

    Cons

    . Minimum wage so hard if you're trying to support a family

    Wickes2019-10-18
  7. "Good but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Crewe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wickes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people in a decent working environment

    Cons

    Too few staff. Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Consider personal effects on staff from long hours

    Wickes2019-10-15
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Assistant in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Atmosphere Culture Team Flexible working Work life balance

    Cons

    Red tape and lack of growth opportunities in some positions

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive culture Promote the right people, based on talent not tenure

    Wickes2019-09-26
  9. "Bad culture and always overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The store I worked for has a tight group of workers which made life bearable

    Cons

    Store manager keeps hiring the wrong kind of people with the wrong kind of attitude and not reprimanding them for . So frustrating when

    Advice to Management

    Pay colleagues based on job scope and responsibilities. It's not fair when colleagues with bigger responsibilities (deliveries, stock management, forklifting, - heavy manual labor) gets paid the same as those that work exclusively on tills.

    Wickes2019-10-03
  10. "Great culture, poor rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insight Analyst in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wickes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has a great culture. The head office is relatively small for a large retail business (c. 300) and it's very friendly and open to new ideas. It's not hierarchical and has quite a flat management structure. The offices are pleasant with good car parking and shuttle bus services into Watford town centre (about a mile away). Hours are flexible and there is no rigid dress code

    Cons

    The flat structure does mean there is little opportunity for progression. Also because they are a lean organisation salaries are not great.

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff more

    Wickes2019-09-25
  11. "Enjoyable workplace, hard physical work at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - enjoyable with people i worked with - physical work was easy

    Cons

    - management had a gang mentality at times

    Wickes2019-09-09
Found 190 reviews