3M Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "3M offers a great work environment(in 167 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, life/work balance, tools for innovation(in 147 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a little difficult at first but you get a rhythm(in 58 reviews)

  • "Lack of diversity in upper management(in 51 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of 3M and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Great Company

      Mar 6, 2021 - Advanced Product Development Specialist in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome collaboration, access to market oportunities through 40+ divisions and to 100s of technology platforms keeps inocation and new product pipeline strong. There is no better place to work as an engineer.

      Cons

      It's inner networking is so strong that newcomers can feel like outsiders for a while.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      3M Response

      People and Culture Advocacy Specialist

      Hello, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      3M- Diverse Company

      Apr 8, 2021 - Sales Operations Director in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Diversity in career path -Competitive salary

      Cons

      -Lay off prone -Lacking diversity -Unclear organization structure

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company - currently in organizational flux

      May 12, 2021 - Project Manager in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Several different business units with multiple divisional verticals in each, so many opportunities to explore different technologies / markets / product families * Terrific people * Great salary and benefits

      Cons

      * Large matrixed organization can be unwieldy to navigate * In middle of initiative to streamline org structures & role definitions to create consistency across business units and functions -- many occurrences of the concept of the new orgs / roles not working in practice and/or not enough headcount allocated to some of the new roles...so frustration in some business pillars with the new approach * Recently eliminated ~3K positions, so many folks juggling much heavier loads

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company.

      May 9, 2021 - Production Operator in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Pay is competitive -Culture is a 4/5 -Management really cares about their work -Operations morale is generally okay to low, but the pay is good, and people are decent to work worth which makes it worth while -A lot of companies will get bad-apples, fortunately 3M does a great job at filtering them out so your colleagues will generally be good to work with. -Highly recommend for women to apply.

      Cons

      Inclusiveness: -I met "zero" (none) black managers during my time here -If you are a person of color applying here I wish you the best because you will face harsher challenges to advance your career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It could be better

      May 2, 2021 - Bio Statistician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company provides a good salary, retirement plans and medical insurance. Co-workers are helpful and willing to support each other. During the pandemics, employees receive enough resources to work remotely.

      Cons

      Due to the recent acquisition, the whole changing of work instruction and process are in a mess that comes with more record-keeping tasks. This is in addition to the reorganization that occurred in early January, where many were laid off. Micromanagement is also another problem within the small Biostatistics team. Employees were given only 10 days of vacation for the first 4 years, which is below industry standard compared to other device/pharmaceutical companies. Since the team is small, it is impossible to take a longer vacation as you constantly have time-sensitive tasks assigned to you. Some of the above would not visible until you join the company so trust your gut feeling and decide what is important to you. In my opinion, working for a famous company with great compensation is always good. But these are inadequate for a long-term career, an experienced supervisor and a stable environment will make it last.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      3M Company Review

      May 6, 2021 - Patient Support Specialist in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      3M is a great company to work for and has treated me well. The most competitive advantages compared to other employers are as follows: Sales reps get a company car, high base salary, great benefits (ex: pet insurance plan covers spaying/neutering a dog which is unheard of in my experience), and they prefer to promote within.

      Cons

      Although 3M is a great company it of course has some disadvantages. In my opinion they would be as follows: Really difficult work/life balance, difficult navigating such a large company, you'll hear "things move slow here" often, impossible to take a vacation without your work phone having service (ex: you realistically cannot go off the grid for a week to camp or travel across the globe. You must have service to pass along emails/calls as they come in to people covering for you), and incredibly competitive internal work culture that more often is a fault rather than an advantage.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent company to work for as long as you have good management.

      May 12, 2021 - Senior Laboratory Technician in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are massive. Pay is competitive. Tons of room for advancement on either scale as long as you work for it.

      Cons

      3M scouts from top universities around the world, with the highest degrees, so it can be intimidating, however, if you prove yourself you can still make it to the top regardless.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Large Company, Small Impact

      May 4, 2021 - Technical Aide in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love being able to work so closely with a department within 3M. I get to know my coworkers fairly well.

      Cons

      Very repetitive, monotonous tasks. Don't get to see the impacts of your work. Complete experiments that are the very early stage of any new product, where almost no true impact comes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Meh

      May 6, 2021 - Engineer in Maplewood, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, pay and brand name

      Cons

      -Management has no human factor. It’s coldness and scorecards. Stockholders are held in higher regard. Managers are chosen by being known for 20 years, not that they have the skills. This does not help the culture. -It’s the first time I’ve experienced age discrimination for being younger (in my 30’s-not that young!) I’m not taken seriously. I was hired for my experience! -3M claims they were streamlining things. I still see an incredibly manager thick matrix, old software, and processes that are very difficult and complex compared to similar companies. -Starting vacation is not adequate.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      Jan 4, 2021 - Design Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      3M has a great company culture. Everyone seems to uphold the companies values and in my two years working there I have not met anyone I wouldn't want to work with again. It is a large company so there is some "Bureaucracy" but I have never found it to hinder my job. The thing I like most about 3M is their flexibility in working and their willingness to do what is best for the employees and company rather than just the shareholders like many other companies in todays world. They are very "conservative" in their approach so don't expect crazy high salaries and crazy new world perks(like unlimited PTO, drinking at work, constant parties) but I have found everything about my job and its benefits to be fair or better than average. The most surprising thing to me about 3M is how many employees have been there 20, 25, 30+ years and still love their job, I think that is a testament to how well 3M treats their people.

      Cons

      I really cant think of very many cons. As mentioned before it is a large company so somethings are slower to move and you are usually defined by your role so if you want to do a lot of random unrelated things it might be tough too. Vacation is probably very industry appropriate but can feel like less compared to some other companies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,122 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with 3M Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at 3M? Share Your Experiences

    or