3M Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a little difficult at first but you get a rhythm(in 55 reviews)

  • "The full time program is a 4 year commitment(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (17)

    "Did aquisition of M*Modal better than expected - great employer."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Speech Technology in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Surprisingly agile for such a large company. Able to listen. Great team, both in Pittsburgh and at 3M HIS - also on the corporate level where I had interactions. Health plan got better through acquisition by 3M. The general feeling is that they really care about their employees and try to do the right thing.

    Cons

    3M is a BIG company. There is, by necessity, more administrative overhead than for small companies. Acquisitions and mergers are always a bit rough, so it's hard to judge even 11 month in. But they managed to keep disruptions to a minimum while actually making progress on integration. Integration goes both ways, which is always nice to see.

    3M2020-01-20

    3M Response

    January 24, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy working for 3M and really appreciate your feedback.

  2. "Technical Aide"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Aide 

    I have been working at 3M part-time

    Pros

    Good people, nice people, diverse company

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes a little boring

    3M2020-03-09

    3M Response

    March 16, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoy working for 3M and really appreciate your feedback.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, caring attitude"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Concerned for employees well- being

    Cons

    Not always as quick to respond as you may need sometimes

    Continue reading
    3M2020-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good pay - terrible management - hazardous conditions"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Some really good people still work there and are under-appreciated.

    Cons

    Terrible management - no matter how good you are at your job or how loyal you've been to the company, they will turn on you in a heartbeat if you speak up about ethical issues - no backbone to stand up for what is right. Human Resources has no oversight and actively targets employees that refuse unethical behavior. Chemical exposure there is high in certain areas.

    Continue reading
    3M2020-05-20
  5. "Interview"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Good working environment

    Cons

    Routine work. You don’t have a lot to work. Job duties are messy.

    3M2020-05-06

    3M Response

    May 8, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that overall you enjoy working for 3M and really appreciate you sharing your feedback.

  6. "ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Trainer in Murray, UT

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    Hard for promotions and pay raises.

    3M2020-05-12

    3M Response

    May 15, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.

  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to work there your whole career

    Cons

    Need to be on the good side of your manager to move up

    Continue reading
    3M2020-04-27

    3M Response

    May 1, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that overall you enjoyed working for 3M, and really appreciate your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working at 3M HIS"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The benefits are decent very good in terms of stock purchases. The medical benefits are awesome, in terms of the cost per paycheck very low.

    Cons

    Very tough to get promoted in a management role. It's all about who likes you and who knows you and you must play the politics role. Extremely hard for African American men to get promoted to management roles.

    Continue reading
    3M2020-04-23

    3M Response

    April 24, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoy working for 3M, but are very disappointed to hear that you feel as though minorities aren't as present in management roles. We’ve established a goal to double the pipeline of diverse talent in management by 2025 across all countries. We’ve made progress, and we’re committed to doing even more. To date, more than 50 percent of our top 100 leaders are diverse, and 30 percent of our board members are women. For more information about diversity and inclusion at 3M, please visit the Diversity and Inclusion page on 3M.com/careers. We really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

  9. "Awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Great management and career growth

    Cons

    Difficult to enter right out of school

    3M2020-04-20

    3M Response

    April 24, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that overall you enjoy working for 3M and really appreciate your feedback.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Job for Right Temperament"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Aberdeen, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, professional and respectful treatment from management, good and comprehensive training, good system of P.T.O., excellent communication, great help from mechanics and technicians when needed. High value and focus on safety. It is the kind of job where you can show up and put in your time then leave work at work when you go home.

    Cons

    Very monotonous work with no variety, periods of mandatory overtime both regularly during the week and occasionally on weekends depending on product demand; I worked about 64 hours per week over several weeks in a row over several stretches and compounded with rotating shifts, this left me burned out. There was also occasional frustration with the machines. In my department on my crew, there were some employees who slacked off and I had to pick up the slack more than I’ve experienced at any other job (though talking to people in other departments, this seemed particular to my crew than the rest of the factory). On feet during whole shift on hard surface, but a good pair of shoes with supportive insoles took care of this for me.

    3M2020-04-17

    3M Response

    April 20, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed working for 3M and really appreciate your feedback.

Found 2507 reviews
</>Embed