ACT Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
ACT CEO Marten Roorda
Marten Roorda
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits like health insurance and staff bus(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, great people to work with and a great mission statement(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "The pay, lack of variety in the work, upper management disconnected from workers' needs and pain points(in 14 reviews)

  • "Very top heavy with Directors and Senior leadership(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Proctor"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Test Proctor 

    I have been working at ACT part-time

    Pros

    Technologically advanced and flexible scheduling available.

    Cons

    none that I can think of.

    ACT2019-12-28
  2. "Does this department exist anymore?"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ACT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues who were helpful and kind

    Cons

    The pay, lack of variety in the work, upper management disconnected from workers' needs and pain points

    ACT2020-05-14
  3. "Transforming Non-Profit Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of transformation taking place-keeps its exciting! Leadership has a vision for the future & a strong history Mission Driven- purposeful industry Talented People Making transformation changes for future Flexible culture WFH Focus on Employees Good benefits Talent Strategy and orientation was smooth

    Cons

    some politics - but overall, leadership is doing the best they can to address job insecurity given market test industry shifts

    Continue reading
    ACT2020-05-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "layoff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Iowa City, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ACT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great physical location, mission driven

    Cons

    constant layoffs and chaos made it impossible to get work done

    ACT2020-05-12
  5. "Respectful working environment"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Vice President in Iowa City, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ACT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great campus, nice people, good salary, reasonable working hours

    Cons

    Difficult to innovate , stodgy, slow

    ACT2020-04-25
  6. "So So"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ACT full-time

    Pros

    especially since the covid 19 we are working from home and after will have the continued opportunity to work from home

    Cons

    numerous offers to volunteer for work, mostly ignored, underpaid given my profession

    Continue reading
    ACT2020-05-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content in Iowa City, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ACT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits Hardworking colleagues Pretty campus Great location Respected history

    Cons

    Agile being imposed from above Inefficient Wandering from mission Top heavy Poor communication

    Continue reading
    ACT2020-05-17
  8. "Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in Iowa City, IA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ACT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are caring, great to work with

    Cons

    Frequent org changes make it challenging

    Continue reading
    ACT2020-04-14
  9. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Proposal Manager in Iowa City, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ACT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workplace, benefits, and colleagues

    Cons

    There was a fair amount of organizational restructuring during my time there, which created periods during which things felt quite unstable

    ACT2020-04-11
  10. "Good work-life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist in Iowa City, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ACT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provide flexibility in hours for a good work-life balance

    Cons

    Little to no opportunity for career advancement

    Continue reading
    ACT2020-04-02
Found 269 reviews
</>Embed