KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Alarm.com

Engaged Employer

Alarm.com

Add a Review

Alarm.com Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 254 of over 294 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Alarm.com President and CEO  Steve Trundle (no image)
Steve Trundle
159 Ratings
Pros
  • "alarm.com(in 36 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is a major plus(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "alarm.com(in 15 reviews)

  • "Growing company has some cons for being so large(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Alarm.com and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Special Place to Work

      May 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have more career experience than many of my coworkers and can therefore appreciate what a truly special place this is. I've been very impressed over the last year with the handling and communications during covid, how the company has communicated and is adding offerings to support employees like recently adding Care.com and mental health offerings. They really truly care about their workers here like a family and I've NEVER experienced this with any employer. I am also impressed with the efforts around diversity and inclusion and especially loved a brown bag offered by a black female author and speaker as well as the Black History Month employee video and the Asian Americans video - so moving to see. I am happy to work for a company that supports hearing and uplifting the voices of the employees.

      Cons

      We seem to be growing so much and this is awesome. I just want us to keep the same great culture and family feel. Our management team has all been here so long that I trust they will keep it.

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company and great people

      Jan 17, 2022 - Technical Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Advancement, learning opportunities, teamwork feeling

      Cons

      No real cons during my time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Big fan of ADC

      Dec 22, 2021 - Training Manager in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Alarm.com has allowed me to plant roots and really develop as a professional. I find that company leadership allows our team freedom and flexibility to innovate and the resources to be an industry leader. I’ve had 3 other full time jobs and those experiences leave me a little shocked to see some of these negative reviews. Alarm is by far the most positive company culture and best benefits package I’ve had. I’ve received two promotions in 6 years and 4 pay increases. The handling of the Covid-19 response has been great and overall I have nothing but good things to say.

      Cons

      From reading other reviews, it’s obvious that your manager plays a big part in your satisfaction. I hope HR and management take a look at how we develop our managers and investing in leadership development. I would also advocate for better parental leave benefits, especially for non birth parents.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Community

      Jan 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A workplace that understands the needs of it's employees. Listens and fosters strong communications.

      Cons

      i left 5 stars, so i have no "cons"

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun and fast paced tech company

      Jan 5, 2022 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - intelligent colleagues - energetic culture - challenging problems - great healthcare coverage

      Cons

      - constant pressure to deliver

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sad to leave the company I loved so much, but I had no other choice.

      Jan 5, 2022 - Senior Quality Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Health insurance is excellent. Company HSA contribution is about $120 per month if you choose high deductible plan that’s free. 2. Nice office and location. Traffic can be brutal, but the metro and Tysons Galleria are just 5-10 minutes walk. Flexible work schedule is available for most roles. 3. Great co-workers. Everyone’s helpful and friendly, so you will learn quickly if you are engaged, hardworking individuals. However, I would not recommend Alarm.com to the engaged/talented individuals due to below reasons.

      Cons

      1. Below average salary: Fortunately, I was able to get pretty good amount of RSUs (Restricted Stock Units that will vest every year or two). However even after counting those that were being vested, my total pay was below average. Offers I received from other companies were about 15-30% higher than my total package at Alarm (Base + Bonus + RSU). 2. Workload varies extremely by the teams. Senior management and management didn’t seem to know that certain team’s workload is simply much higher than the others. It was a bit disappointed upper managements were not aware of our situation fully. 3. Not much of a reward even if you do a lot of work. Same as above. If you care about your project and work hard to get it out with high quality, no one cares and your promotion will be similar as others. I would suggest you to work bare minimum and don’t take any additional projects/tasks even if you have a tons of time. Your promotion won’t be affected, which is slow anyways for everyone.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good people but lacks innovation and talent

      Nov 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are friendly and the atmosphere is casual. The HQ office is nice with fun perks like having games, a greenhouse room, a cave, etc.

      Cons

      Unless you’re an engineer or at an exec level, the pay is extremely low compared to other tech companies considering our size. We also do not have free breakfast or lunch which other tech companies offer.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Dec 31, 2021 - Accounts Payable Specialist in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and company culture

      Cons

      Long hours while closing the books

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Part-time

      Dec 16, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work experience and challenges provided by employer

      Cons

      benefits and tech market challenges compared to other big companies

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great space to work!

      Dec 15, 2021 - Senior Event Coordinator in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, Benefits, Opportunities, Office Space

      Cons

      Location, Stuck in the old ways

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 254 Reviews

    Alarm.com Reviews FAQs

    75% of Alarm.com employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Alarm.com 4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Alarm.com to be benefits, career development, culture and the cons to be management, compensation.

    Popular Careers with Alarm.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alarm.com? Share Your Experiences

    or