Amscot Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

Amscot Financial Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 257 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Amscot Financial CEO Ian MacKechnie
Ian MacKechnie
158 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great starting pay vs our competitor, 401k beenefits , Opportunity to grow & learn from great leaders, bonus opportunity(in 33 reviews)

  • "Awesome training, great pay, great hours(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "moving into management requires working more hours, no sick leave (must use vacation hours)(in 29 reviews)

  • "Some stores on Saturday have very long hours with only three people working all day long(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A rare gem of a place in the financial services industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amscot possesses an undeniable culture of integrity, ethics and compliance where doing the right thing and looking out for customers and employees alike is the standard. They invest in their people and provide incredible opportunity for growth and advancement if you are driven, hardworking and ambitious.

    Cons

    No true cons to report.

    Advice to Management

    Management communicates well and expects a lot. Keep the standards high.

    Amscot Financial2018-08-15
  2. "Great place to work! Amscot promotes within."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, paid lunch, overtime when needed, easy to move up in position, great benefits, 401k matching, good management. Amscot promotes within, if you set your mind to it you can grow with the company. They care about their employees job security. Not only does Amscot focus on their customer but they also focus on their employees. You get a paid lunch. Pay rate is much higher than other financial institutions.

    Cons

    So far so good. None!

    Amscot Financial2019-06-14
  3. "Great place to make a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amscot gives associates the ability to move up quickly and make a genuine career. Within a year I was a branch leader and continue to move up in my career. Great place to work and awesome associates and upper management.

    Cons

    Love it here - none to really mention

    Amscot Financial2019-06-13
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amscot provides every associate the opportunity to grow with the company with formal training programs for each step, in every department. A lot of companies talk about promoting from within, but we practice it every day, in every branch and every department. Great compensation package: Even in today's competitive job market, Amscot's pay scale and compensation package stand out. Amscot is very proactive in trying...

    Show More

    Cons

    Amscot sets high standards for all associates. No sick time or paid time off for the first 12 months.

    Advice to Management

    Review PTO policy.

    Amscot Financial2019-06-13
  5. "Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Collections Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a person who requires a high pace / multi tasking job. I fit right at home 5+ years and growing - learning something new everyday and also teaching. Promotions come frequently and pay is unbeatable. 5 stars!

    Cons

    from experience / No Cons.

    Amscot Financial2019-06-13
  6. "Great pay, great benefits, good place to work and gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Collections Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team in the Corporate Office with strong values, and strong work ethic.

    Cons

    Cash Advance/ Check Cashing companies are frown upon in the business world, so is hard sometimes to change that mindset with some clients and businesses we come across.

    Amscot Financial2019-06-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Flexibilty is key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Don't need a college degree to make over $50k a year. Opportunity for growth is there if you are willing to work towards it. Work location and proximity to where you live . Health benefits. Ongoing training. Job stability as long as you do the right things.

    Cons

    Unpaid sick leave. Confined to a secure area throughout your shift. Work life balance, however, this area has improved over my tenure.

    Amscot Financial2019-05-15

    Amscot Financial Response

    May 17, 2019Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are happy to have you on the team! We are diligently working on work life balance and we are looking forward to continued improvement.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "No Balance between family and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fair pay. Rapid advancement. Sometime even if you don't want it.

    Cons

    Outsiders are hired at higher pay than existing employees. Poor wage increases. Average is .10 per hour unless you are a brown noser. High cost insurance. Times when you work 16 hour days. No sick time. You are not allowed to get sick. If you do, you get a write up for causing a hardship.

    Amscot Financial2019-05-24

    Amscot Financial Response

    May 28, 2019Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. If an associate is getting a .10 per hour increase, it is typically because they are not eligible for pay increase but exceptions are made. We also understand that associates get sick and if associates do call out sick, they do not automatically get a ...

    Show More
  9. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Co Leader in Sanford, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amscot Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    amazing pay, great staff, always room for managment

    Cons

    hours are long 1st week of the month, need to have better bonus, and hire people with no set schedules

    Advice to Management

    keep climbing

    Amscot Financial2019-04-05

    Amscot Financial Response

    April 10, 2019Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your tenure with us and would love to hear your ideas on how we can continue to improve as an employer. If you would like to discuss further, please call Human Resources.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "If you need a job to pay the bills and do not mind work ruling your life go here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amscot Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -good training -good learning experience -helpful coworkers -good pay to start -has and promotes integrity -the actual job is kind of fun because you do something different every and meet new people each day.

    Cons

    -cannot leave behind the glass wall the whole shift. which makes no sense since banks are allowed to and have more money than they do. -schedule up to 15 hours per day one day and then 5 hours the next with no overtime -paid lunch but you have to get up to help if gets busy, so no break some days -no work life balance -hard to get a decent raise -no sick days -vacation on fiscal year and you only earn one year...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -start a program that allows feedback and suggestions to enable employees to have a work/life balance.

    Amscot Financial2019-03-03

    Amscot Financial Response

    April 10, 2019Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. I see that you are a former associate of ours but I wanted to take the time to address some of your cons. Not leaving during your shift is for the safety of our associates. We understand the long shift which is why we try to keep other days short for you. ...

    Show More
Found 257 reviews