Arm Reviews | Glassdoor

Arm Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
92%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Arm Chief Executive Officer Simon Segars
Simon Segars
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working on technology that is transforming the world whilst maintaining a healthy work-life balance(in 174 reviews)

  • "amazing location and work environment(in 94 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very Cambridge-focussed, but Manchester's growth is changing that(in 68 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance might be tricky in some positions although may not be a problem if you enjoy what you are doing(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Challenging work at a company that cares about its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At Arm we have the benefit of working interesting problems and pushing to deliver into competitive markets, while in a culture that earnestly strives to invest in people and their development and happiness.

    Cons

    Sometimes the company still struggles with its rapid growth and can be a bit Cambridge-centric

    Arm2019-10-02

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We appreciate the review and your observations on the infrastructure of a rapidly growing business.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Spring Lake, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love everything about it great job

    Cons

    Not getting my 40 hours in

    Arm2020-02-18
  3. Helpful (33)

    "Really good people and strong sense of community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Arm has a good sense of community and the core beliefs are strongly regarded by employees and leadership.

    Cons

    Because Arm is growing fast we are feeling some of the pains of change. The way we work and determining who to contact or partner with isn't as simple to define as it used to be.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Still a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits 4 week sabbatical every 4 years 4 weeks starting vacation, 5 weeks after 4 years 26 weeks of maternity leave, 8 weeks paternity leave Brilliant engineers that are genuinely helpful Strong advocate of Diversity and Inclusion Internal social network service allows us to be expressive Great stepping stone towards higher paying companies

    Cons

    BURN OUT. If you are an RTL/Verification/Performance Engineer, then you now have to balance between working on multiple projects. When I first joined, engineers talked about life outside of Arm. Now all they talk about is how busy they are with no end in sight. A team that used to do monthly team lunches completely stopped and less time is spent improving the processes when we need it more than ever. Going away lunches for engineers who have been at Arm for 15+ years are more common than team lunches. ATTRITION. Top engineers are leaving including fellows. All of them are leaving to higher paying companies and HR and upper management said they have no plans to change our compensation because “people leave managers” and “no one mentioned compensation on their exit interview.” INNOVATION DECLINE. That feeling of starting work on a new project is gone. Projects are now just adding features on existing designs. There’s no time to rewrite things that are out of date or to revisit things that could be worth improving upon.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (23)

    "Great people, great culture, great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Arm for about a year now. I've been given the opportunities needed to make significant contributions to the projects I've been involved in. Everyone in the office is friendly. The hours you are in the office are quite flexible. The building is great and is located 30 minutes from downtown Cambridge/Boston.

    Cons

    The Boston (Waltham) office is a bit of a satellite office (~50 employees), so that could be a downside depending on what sort of workplace you prefer. There are fewer female employees working here than I would like to expect (~15% of total).

    Arm2019-07-25

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your working environment in Boston – it’s important we hear from everyone. We couldn’t agree with you more on the gender diversity point – globally it’s an industry-wide challenge. The good news is, we are committed to ensuring Arm is both a diverse and inclusive workplace for everyone. As a result of this commitment 36% of all new starters in the USA so far this fiscal are women. We continue to focus on attraction and retention initiatives in support of this. Recently, one of our female Senior Software Engineers from Arm Boston joined us at the Grace Hopper Conference in Florida – supporting our attraction efforts. We are also working together on an internal engagement programme to support the active Women’s Network and build on our Inclusion Matters Programme, where we provide unconscious bias training. Whilst we have a great ambassador network, we are always keen to have others join us. We are all responsible for contributing to an inclusive and diverse working environment- If you’d like to learn more about how you can contribute, please take a look at the Community and Inclusion posts on Yammer for more details :)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good work, Low pay, Mediocre benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonably good technical work for RTL design

    Cons

    Pay and bonus is very low

    Arm2019-10-22
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Little value for people who are working here currently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good balance, lots of vacation and flexibility.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive, no stocks. Bonus is like peanuts. Other benefits are okay at best. They seem to only hire when there are layoffs in other companies (Oracle/Qualcomm/Samsung etc.). Not a good sign. Experienced folks have been leaving left, right and center. Managements solution is to hire new people. Nothing is being done to reward the people who have been here. Yes new folks are good but don't forget the employees who made arm what it is. Vacation/flexibility is being offered by every company nowadays, not something to tout about. This is all I hear management talking about. These are no longer incentives. Don't see any growth career wise, some teams seem to be preferred over others when it comes to promotions.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-01

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We are sorry to hear you don't feel valued based on your contribution. We certainly don't believe reward and progression are based on tenure. Arm's promotional guidelines are available on the intranet and these can be helpful in preparing you to have a conversation with your line manager, around what is needed in order to achieve your promotion. For further support on this topic, please don't hesitate to reach out to your local Talent Development Team.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (15)

    "A cutting edge tech company that cares about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People want to do their best work Great office designs Management is engaged in employee growth and development

    Cons

    Fast paced environment Growing pains associated with rapid ramp-up in headcount after Softbank acquisition

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-08-13
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Stay away from PDG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Except for PDG. from my interaction with engineers from other departments,It's a pretty good place to work with a decent pay and best in Industry benefits. Highly recommend ARM excluding PDG.

    Cons

    There were highly inefficient processes and flows. Being in an automation position only manual procedures were handed out. You are expected to just follow orders rather than engineer holistic solutions. There was constant workplace bullying, verbal abuse, threats, humiliation, and intimidation. Toxic and hostile work environment. Swearing and usage of foul language is considered very normal. You are expected to get used to it. Working weekends and late nights are every normal. Projects deadlines are scheduled near the holidays and you are expected to work. There was a lot of racism. H1b employees are preferred. They are considered more compliant. There was hesitation to sponsor green card. Not to mention the racist remarks often made.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-24
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Too many toxic managers in Physicle Design Group (PIPD/POP, etc.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would recommend this company to a friend but make sure you avoid the PDG organisation at any cost. Majority of other organisations have the British culture and are reasonable.

    Cons

    In PDG, constant workplace bullying, verbal abuse, threatening, humiliation, and intimidation. It is common for leaders, managers and leader-favorite employees to speak dismissively and abusively. It’s a thing that most managers (especial middle layer managers) have two faces, one for sucking up to upper, one for abusing peers or their direct reports. Quality line manager is nonexistent. How many more lawsuit (arbitrations/litigations) does it take for Arm to take steps to address the toxic cultures in PDG? By the way, HR by nature is against you and is to protect the company being sued at all cost. You should prepare for an exit route if you plan to stand up to your line manager for his/hers bullying/abusive behavior in this physical design group organisation. Seems like majority of the dissatisfy reviews are referring to PDG based on the job titles.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-08-12
Found 643 reviews
</>Embed