AspenTech Reviews | Glassdoor

AspenTech Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 306 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
AspenTech CEO Antonio Pietri
Antonio Pietri
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "AspenTech has really good benefits and they seem to get progressively better year over year(in 17 reviews)

  • "Everyone at Aspen are really good people(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work from home, but you can take once in a while(in 16 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't listen to staff and this is noted in every quarterly call(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

      I have been working at AspenTech full-time

      Pros

      good team , good management

      Cons

      overall there is no bad

      AspenTech2019-06-30
    • "Good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Consultant 

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good people and friendly.

      Cons

      Not easy to advance within. Not good team working environment.

      AspenTech2019-07-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not a long term home"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to start out and learn a lot very quickly, excellent stepping stone job; company provides excellent software; other consultants are great to work with; can leave your work in the office once you go home

      Cons

      salary always well below market value; management not proactive about anything; the only reason they have any talent is because they will sponsor visas for international students to stay in the US, but we all leave the first moment we get a chance; no flexibility in work schedule

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees. We constantly give suggestions and hear "we'll think about it" and nothing ever happens

      AspenTech2019-06-29
    • Helpful (5)

      "Pass on AspenTech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Bedford, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Not many. I would like to say the people - but then I'd be lying.

      Cons

      Vertical silo's, arrogant VP's in PM and disconnected goals. Hadn't ever worked in a company with solid products like this and a dysfunctional harsh work environment. It was like working in a caste system

      Advice to Management

      Good thoughts bringing new SVP's onboard. Need to work to change/exchange middle management.

      AspenTech2019-06-11
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Advisor in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great People, Awesome software that actually delivers demonstratable value to our customers

      Cons

      Sometimes unreasonable workload request requiring sacrificing vacation and weekends.

      AspenTech2019-05-20
    • Helpful (5)

      "Poor upper management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Bedford, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      None to speak about or can think of

      Cons

      childish, selfish upper management team, low pay, long hours

      Advice to Management

      Grow up and consider others once in awhile

      AspenTech2019-06-01
    • Helpful (7)

      "Stay away!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Support Consultant in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Generous PTO policy. Nice Houston office.

      Cons

      Sub-par pay and benefits Zero opportunity for growth within the company “Raises” don’t even keep up with annual inflation Poor training of employees Heavy-handed micromanagement High turnover Management takes credit for your contributions, and when things go wrong, they throw you under the bus to cover their own rear ends. Extreme favoritism is shown in deciding raises and promotions. I was told blatant lies two consecutive...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      At least try to value your employees and stop treating them like disposable commodities.

      AspenTech2019-05-07
    • "was a great company for me to start my career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Field Marketing in Bedford, MA
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      university hire program for recent college graduates competitive salary bonus program competitive benefits including healthcare and 401K match quarterly recognition awards annual evaluations

      Cons

      culture more old school but leadership team making noticeable improvements like establishing fun committee, planning social events at work, improving holidays parties

      AspenTech2019-03-11
    • Helpful (3)

      "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Analyst in Bedford, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits were okay. 3 weeks vacation.

      Cons

      Very rigid rules. Boring people. Not a great place to grow. No work from home days.

      Advice to Management

      Treat employees better.

      AspenTech2019-03-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Loved my time here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AspenTech full-time

      Pros

      Enjoyable people, and got exposure to upper management

      Cons

      Rigid rules and sometimes has slow decision-making

      AspenTech2019-01-30
    Found 306 reviews