AutoZone Reviews | Glassdoor

AutoZone Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2530 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AutoZone CEO Bill Rhodes III
Bill Rhodes III
1167 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% discount (30% at select times)(in 84 reviews)

  • "There is also an awesome employee discount program that applies to many things other than just merchandise in the stores(in 78 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disconnect with upper management , Pay(in 192 reviews)

  • "Part time can expect a lot of random 4 hour shifts in the middle of the day even if the whole day is open(in 126 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Warehouse Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AutoZone part-time

    Pros

    Laid back facility, Management is fair to employees

    Cons

    Not flexible with shift schedules

    AutoZone2018-06-20
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone full-time

    Pros

    Treat you like family.

    Cons

    Weekend work hours interfere with family time

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with customer service

    AutoZone2019-06-13
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, advancement opportunities, and a fun work environment

    Cons

    Work every weekend, sometimes had to be outside in the rain installing wiper blades

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better

    AutoZone2019-06-13
  4. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Sales in Denton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible easy educational fun understanding

    Cons

    Tiring annoying customers people don’t know what they need

    Advice to Management

    The job itself isn’t hard but the way we have to deal with customers and help them no matter what is irritating

    AutoZone2019-06-04
  5. "Great place to help people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love being able to help people daily, network with established local businesses, and solve problems that otherwise I may not have the oppurtunity to.

    Cons

    Other than the normal pitfalls of retail work, middle and upper management suffer a disconnect from day-to-day interactions in the store, which complicates work. Maybe my least favorite part is the fact you have to upsell every one who walks through the door, but don't get a penny extra when you do it well

    Advice to Management

    Return focus to Customer Satisfaction, like our name badges say, and actually listen to the people in the stores. That's where the bulk of your money comes from.

    AutoZone2019-06-04
  6. "DIY Counter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Haleyville, AL

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good pay, easy to work for

    Cons

    No commission, bi-weekly checks, climbing

    AutoZone2019-06-02
  7. "fast pace lazy employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Sales Manager in Daytona Beach, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work experience managing a parts store

    Cons

    no real leadership....employees do what they want. no accountability!

    Advice to Management

    step up or get out

    AutoZone2019-06-15
  8. "AutoZone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Customer Satisfaction 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty easy to get ahang of it.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the pay isn't that good and lots of people have been quitting of late.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to make their employees want to stay and not search for a new place if employment

    AutoZone2019-05-31
  9. "Nice people, not so good corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Sales Manager in Palmyra, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Like the job itself. Learned a lot and met some awesome people

    Cons

    It's typical corporate. Money money money and don't care about the employees

    Advice to Management

    Try realizing that you were once here, and remember what that was like trying to make it on that salary.

    AutoZone2019-06-13
  10. "Autozone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Sales Manager in Ankeny, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People I worked with were all great including the store manager

    Cons

    Always price matching because it was always higher and territorial managers look at one area and expect the same results despite different demograhics.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They are the ones on the front line facing the customers every single day

    AutoZone2019-06-13
Found 2530 reviews