BCU Reviews | Glassdoor

BCU Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
BCU CEO Mike Valentine
Mike Valentine
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The only downside is the location in Vernon Hills is somewhat far from Chicago for commuters(in 4 reviews)

  • "If you like working for a mid-sized company, where everybody knows everybody there are no cons(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "member relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Anasco, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BCU is a family oriented company. The humanity that most of the management has makes you feel comfortable in the work environment.

    Cons

    We didn't used to open on weekends and now we do.

    BCU2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Love working for BCU. Don't love working in the department I work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Good people to work with. The company makes you feel valued.

    Cons

    Only thing consistent in the department I work in is inconsistency. Activity is confused with accomplishment. Favoritism is rampant. (Which would be a "pro" if you're one of the favorites.)

    Advice to Management

    It doesn't look equal, or fair when management of a certain gender/race/ethnicity internally promotes people only of that same gender/race/ethnicity, and only offers those same people of that same gender/race/ethnicity overtime, and doesn't internally promote, or offer overtime to others in the same department of a different gender/race/ethnicity. Don't have different rules for different employees. Be fair. Stop trying...

    Show More
    BCU2019-04-02
  3. "BCU Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, clean offices, positive atmosphere, "family" oriented. I had a positive experience while working here. They push the "family" environment fairly hard. My coworkers were generally happy and made for a positive work environment. Generally there was free food and drink provided in the kitchen. The gym was a nice surprise perk.

    Cons

    Most perks seemingly only applied to senior members, such as working from home when sick or needing to take care of personal things. I didn't mind going to the office, so it wasn't a huge disadvantage to me.

    BCU2019-03-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best of the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture makes for a welcoming and approachable environment, from entry-level employees all the way up to the CEO. Work-life balance is strongly encouraged. Benefits are awesome and creative (free ice cream truck and cookouts hosted by senior management in the summer).

    Cons

    It would be nice to have more growth opportunity for those working outside Vernon Hills HQ.

    BCU2019-02-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Competitive and fair salary compared to similar positions. All companies preach a "work/life balance". This is the first organization I've ever worked for that followed through on a commitment to a work/life balance for its employees.

    Cons

    People are happy and enjoy their jobs, if you prefer to work quietly alone you may not enjoy the friendly environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! All levels of management are transparent, approachable, and helpful. Upper management actually invests their time into getting to know and assisting new employees.

    BCU2019-02-06
  6. "Great place to work! Awesome culture. Friendly staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is so refreshing to work at such a fantastic company with such a great culture. -Everyone is super welcoming and friendly and many have gone out of their way to introduce themselves. -I have never worked at a place where the President/ CEO of the company goes out of their way to introduce themselves, gets to know you plus remembers your name. It shows that he truly cares, appreciates that you are there, and values...

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can't think of any..

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    BCU2019-02-06
  7. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people who work hard and truly care about their work. Strong work/life balance Casual Dress attire Fun environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    There is a still a strong sense of favoritism here. It would be nice for senior leaders change their mindset on who they view as top talent.

    BCU2019-02-06
  8. "BCU is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Representative, BD Ops in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees at BCU feel like family. Everyone has the best intentions and wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    BCU2019-02-05
  9. "Best Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work-life balance. Your opinions TRULY matter. You get to meet and talk to the senior leadership quite often. Great growth opportunities. BCU has great values and they really care for their employees and members.

    Cons

    I just wish we had a HUB office in Minnesota.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing.

    BCU2019-02-05
  10. "A company that listens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BCU listens to where you see your self in 5 years. They build with you and help strive to have you reach your goals. You feel like Family and feel Valued. A job that values you is extremely hard to find. BCU on the other hand has mastered not only having members feel valued, but the employees.

    Cons

    I personally have no cons with working with bcu.

    BCU2019-02-05
Found 63 reviews