Cover image for Bitly
Logo

Bitly

Engaged Employer

Bitly

Add a Review

Bitly Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 64 of over 71 reviews
4.0
78% Recommend to a Friend
80% Approve of CEO

Found 55 of over 71 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Bitly CEO Toby Gabriner (no image)
Toby Gabriner
6 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

562

78 Comments

Tech

641.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Bitly~800313
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Bitly? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Bitly employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong Product, Strong Culture, and Strong Leadership

    May 24, 2022 - Digital Marketing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The people: every person I have worked with shows respect, passion, and care for Bitly and for others. - The product: the product team and growth team are constantly experimenting and launching new features, edits, etc. which shows the passion! - The culture: as mentioned above, the culture focuses on respect, growth, and recently accelerating the initiatives in DE&I. There is an strong work/life balance, and mental health benefits with unlimited PTO. The management is respectful of your time, and skills and will help you succeed in your career. - The leadership: the leadership team is transparent, and respectful, and you can tell that each person on the team has a positive outlook for Bitly and the people.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the time, honestly.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic and Top Heavy Leadership

    Jan 25, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote environment Time off for recharge

    Cons

    Back to back meetings with no time to get work done. Very slow to make decisions. They keep hiring more and more senior executives from large companies without staffing for key junior and mid level roles. Feels like the culture moved from one of accountability and getting things done towards one of just pushing the tactical work to overworked junior people so they can get the spotlight. Back office employees are treated like second class citizens and GTM and Tech are held to a much lower standard and get all the glory. I have never seen a company with so much turnover in HR over the past couple of years and is very concerning. Toxic white male leadership at the top that rule by favoritism vs facts and exclusion vs inclusion no matter what they say they’re doing for diversity. Very fake culture - you have to act like everything is great and that you drank the kool aid or they label you as problematic. They’re not looking to actually improve anything with their culture other than surface things that get them great place to work awards for bragging rights instead of addressing causes for turnover.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Bitly Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We continuously strive to make Bitly an amazing place to work and are sorry to hear that was not your experience. Bitly is committed to continuously seeking feedback from employees and welcomes your outreach to our HR department to discuss your concerns so that we can learn how we can improve. Please contact us at glassdoor@bit.ly if you would be open to sharing additional feedback with us directly.

  3. Join the Bitly team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    NA

    Jun 29, 2022 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company. incentives. work culture.

    Cons

    not flexible. long hours. distance for me.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Bitly review

    Nov 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart and talented colleagues, plenty of opportunities to build, create, have autonomy, flexible fridays all-year round, unlimited PTO, now more focus on DEI and mental health. new leadership that actually cares and communicates. we have a company all-hands every other week. After too many years of being complacent, Bitly finally seems to be on a growth track that people are excited about. new leadership is a big reason for that.

    Cons

    Growing quickly and all the pains that go along with that. Can't hire fast enough but they are trying.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    n/a

    Apr 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    positive, happy, fun, enjoyable. entertaining

    Cons

    time consuming, intensive, challenging, long hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Been around for a while but still on the up and up!

    Jan 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great compensation/benefits, making real efforts to keep us united while a lot of us work from home, haven't worked with anyone who i don't like. making genuine attempts to improve DEI.

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Thanks for your help

    Jan 3, 2022 - Costumer Service in Canada, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good job they're offering to us thanks

    Cons

    They're doing well ,and let them continue

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Bitly

    Nov 16, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, proper compensation, good managers/leadership team

    Cons

    Can't think of any at this time

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ups and downs

    Dec 15, 2021 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brand recognition and significant use of freemium accounts enabled easy entry to enterprise customers.

    Cons

    Organizational stability, strategic leadership, product/market fit

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible culture and leadership. No trust and terrible approach to DE&I.

    Oct 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively high salaries to try to keep people from quitting.

    Cons

    Terrible culture and leadership. Pretty much entire white leadership team who undermined meaningful DE&I efforts. Patronizing and untrustworthy.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Bitly Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is our highest priority to ensure that Bitly is a safe and inclusive place to work for everyone. The majority of our leadership team is new to Bitly, including our CEO, and we are working very hard to build an environment in which we respect and value each other. To achieve this, we have emphasized inclusion and diversity and we will continue to seek meaningful progress in these areas. Although we have much work to do, over the past year we have formed a DEI Core Committee which is focused on driving key DEI initiatives and goals across the company, launched our second ERG, and are in the process of hiring a VP of DEI who will report directly to our CEO.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews
</>Embed

Bitly Reviews FAQs

Bitly has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 71 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Bitly to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Bitly employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Bitly. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

78% of Bitly employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Bitly 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Bitly to be management, culture, benefits and the cons to be career development, diversity and inclusion, senior leadership.

Work at Bitly? Share Your Experiences

Bitly logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Bitly Photos

+ Add Photo
Bitly photo of: Volunteer Day in NYC!
Bitly photo of: San Francisco Volunteer Day 2019
Bitly photo of: Volunteer Day in Denver!
Bitly photo of: Volunteer Day!
Bitly photo of: Keep Slinging Links Team!
Bitly photo of: Friday Fun
Bitly photo of: NYC Volunteer Day 2018
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Bitly Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wunderkind Logo
Wunderkind

3.6

229 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 71 Bitly reviews submitted anonymously by Bitly employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Bitly is right for you.