Bitly Reviews | Glassdoor

Bitly Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Bitly CEO Mark Josephson (no image)
Mark Josephson
30 Ratings
  1. "A dream come true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time

    Pros

    Snacks! Dog friendly Unlimited PTO Unlimited work from home

    Cons

    None to mention at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! You've created something pretty special here and continue to put an emphasis on employee happiness.

    Bitly2019-11-08
  2. "Good Leadership Questionable Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership and over all team.

    Cons

    Nice to have too but not need to have tool

    Bitly2019-10-04
  3. "Great culture with strategically-minded leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Product in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture with strategically-minded leadership who care deeply about listening to employees in order to grow as a team and listening markets to provide the best possible value to customers.

    Cons

    As a startup, there can be shifting priorities but that's to be expected. A con to some but embraced by others.

    Bitly2019-08-28
  4. "Small Company, Big Bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are all amazing. Mid-level management has our backs. Leadership can admit when they're wrong. Company has a strong vision.

    Cons

    For a company with less than 150 employees, there is a major bureaucratic attitude at the top. Mid -level managers and below are all fantastic and have a team oriented mindset, but with VPs and above coming from large companies like Salesforce, there is way to much of a hierarchal mentality. While they can admit when poor decisions are made, many of these decisions would be avoidable if they took all opinions into... account. With a company this size, that shouldn't be difficult to do. Likewise, decisions are all made excruciatingly slowly. It seems as though no one in leadership is very decisive, and the lack of decision making impacts everyone in the organization. The culture is dropping at a substantial rate because not only is the revenue org being negatively impacted by changes, but because we have an "I told you so" mindset after being completely ignored.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It happened- there was too much confidence in our product and the sales team was inflated way too quickly with a lack of demand. The people on the bottom saw that coming. Self service was put up after we said it would hurt revenue, we saw that coming. Have faith in the people that you hire to have worthy opinions. It is not too late to turn things around, but senior management needs to start listening. We have a... town hall meeting and are talked AT without the ability to discuss. We have dreams and are talked AT with 2 minutes for questions. We've been right twice and two mistakes could have been avoided had we been listened to. Your people feel undervalued. The easiest way to fix that is to show you trust them and listen.

    Show More
    Bitly2019-09-03
  5. "Diverse and welcoming staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Coordinator in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very organized and professional. Managers make a conscious effort to help employees succeed in and outside the office.

    Cons

    N/A. I've really enjoyed my time at Bitly thus far.

    Bitly2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The majority of the people are great.

    Cons

    The company appears to have realized they needed to drive revenue and their solution was simply repackaged a freemium product as "enterprise" offering. Despite searching for senior talent, they allow for zero autonomy and insist on Sales Engineers being involved at every touchpoint. Bitly also made the classic mistake of growing a sales team rapidly and in an unsustainable fashion. Like many companies before them,... the hiring was done without a need. As a result, almost all the hires are no longer at the company. These issues aside, the most troubling aspect was the passive-aggressive nature of specific people on the sales team. This is not common in the tech world and took me, and other members of the team, by surprise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are some great people at Bitly but I worry about the companies future. The product appears to be the same as it was 5 years ago and throwing bodies at sales isn't going to change that fact. I think management needs to take a realistic approach to grow the business and maybe product could develop new functionality (i.e. a social publishing tool etc) to make the platform more holistic.

    Bitly2019-08-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Life At Bitly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome product, awesome management, awesome on boarding, awesome company! This is place where you are in charge of your own work flow, get the job done and you'll be good!

    Cons

    It gets pretty silent at times... that's about the only con!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your thing!

    Bitly2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company going through changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture and people are like no other. Unlimited PTO. Multiple Health Insurance options to choose from. 4% Matched 401k. Work from Home. Cool modern offices filled with snacks, games, and such.

    Cons

    The only con currently is there are multiple changes happening at once in the Sales team. With the release of the Self Service product leads have been very low. This is causing a lot of people in the sales org to be a bit frustrated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep a clear line of communication and listen to the current employees. We can turn this around, and will.

    Bitly2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Top-notch interviewing and on-boarding experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at much larger tech companies that had nowhere near the level of professionalism, efficiency, and comprehensiveness as Bitly for both the interviewing process and the on-boarding experience. For the interviewing experience, I knew up front exactly what the process would look like and what to expect and the team followed through exactly as promised. End-to-end the entire process took about weeks. ... On-boarding is incredibly polished and thorough. You understand the mission, core values, culture, and how things work right out the gate. Talk about making a good first impression. Bitly delivers.

    Show More

    Cons

    Spread out a bit with folks in NYC, Denver, and San Francisco, but there's great respect for the fact we're working in different timezones and the teams make it work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great visibility, thoughtful decision-making, and commitment to living our the core values every day.

    Bitly2019-05-02
  10. "SDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bitly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good working environment for sales. Upper management is effective and has your back. As long as you're a go-getter, you'll thrive here. They do not baby-sit or micro-manage here. If you need someone to hold your hand through everything, go work at yelp. Overall vibe of salesteam is supportive, kind, and humble.

    Cons

    No major Cons that I can think of at this time. Capped commission for SDR's though.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Bitly2019-04-16
Found 37 reviews