CalAmp Reviews | Glassdoor

CalAmp Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Michael J. Burdiek
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "IT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CalAmp full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance good pay good tech company

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    keep communication clear and proactive

    CalAmp2018-10-08
  2. "Good & Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CalAmp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Flexible work environment, work from home, hours. Benefits. Unlimited vacation and sick time. Challenging work. Potential for growth. Open communication with management.

    Cons

    Restructuring and lay offs have hindered the company. Have lost a lot of great, loyal employees, and put 2-3x the work on those that are left, without relief in sight. If you complain or can’t keep up, you are out and will be replaced. A lot of knowledgeable staff with long term relationships in the industry were removed. Overall strategy moving forward is not communicated and kept secret. Employees are left in the dark...

    Show More
    CalAmp2019-06-13
  3. "Fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CalAmp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and enjoyable environment

    Cons

    Has its challenges especially with remaining relevant in the industry

    CalAmp2019-06-12
  4. "Great place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CalAmp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, coworkers, team atmosphere is awesome

    Cons

    Frequent restructuring hinders growth

    CalAmp2019-01-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at CalAmp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Somewhat of a decent work environment

      Cons

      extremely horrible upper management. In the two and a half years I have been here, there has been 4 restructures

      Advice to Management

      Be better

      CalAmp2019-01-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Not Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at CalAmp full-time

        Pros

        Growing company with flexible PTO. Pretty flexible with scheduling.

        Cons

        No promotion from within or career growth.

        CalAmp2018-12-18
      • Helpful (5)

        "Sales in IoT"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Remote, OR
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at CalAmp full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        401k match Flexible PTO Work from home

        Cons

        Communication from Sr. Mng is lacking Departments do not work together Difficult to see or understand the strategy to grow

        CalAmp2018-10-22
      • "Leader in telematics devices"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at CalAmp full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great engineering talent, never a dull moment, company in growth trajectory

        Cons

        Needs focus to be more successful

        Advice to Management

        Keep building the exceptional products :)

        CalAmp2018-09-18
      • Helpful (2)

        "Growing Opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at CalAmp full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Entrepreneurial type environment where your ideas will be heard and often implemented. Established company with a strong foundation for success. I have seen many improvements over the past few years and it keeps getting better.

        Cons

        I have none at this time.

        Advice to Management

        Continue listening to your teams. Be transparent. Play an active part in building your team culture. Corporate can only be the scapegoat for so much.

        CalAmp2018-09-04
      • Helpful (3)

        "Sales Director - Software Solutions"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Director in Atlanta, GA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at CalAmp full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The hiring process was fantastic. From the initial phone call I received by a terrific senior recruiter all the way through the interview process, it could not have been more professional. At every step of the way I was updated and prepared for next steps. No gaps in communications and everyone had my best interest in mind; GREAT experience!! Very well done!!!

        Cons

        No cons whatsoever, great company!

        Advice to Management

        We have a great sales leadership team whose vision is to accelerate growth; and that we will accomplish together!!

        CalAmp2018-08-31
      Found 110 reviews