Casper Reviews | Glassdoor

Casper Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
51%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Casper Co-Founder & CEO  Phillip Krim (no image)
Phillip Krim
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Since retail is new there are lots of growing pains that need to be figured out by corporate to properly run a retail environment(in 7 reviews)

  • "self-taught extremely fast paced environment that wouldn't suit someone that needs their hand held every step of the way(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Comfortable Enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Specialist (Retail Associate) in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Casper part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty relaxing environment, manager is fair and nice and everyone working there is friendly; fun, drama free environment.

    Cons

    I have no vices about the location i work for.

    Casper2019-10-29
  2. "Slow Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Casper

    Pros

    -Easy Job -Not hectic -Slow Pace -Coworkers

    Cons

    -Growing faster than it needs to, stores are under stocked in product but company continues to open stores. -Huge communication issues from corporate to retail. -100 different programs that don’t work together. -Creates busy work because of down time but busy work is insulting to any intelligent human being in there. -Employee discount is a great percentage but they don’t let you buy the actual good stuff with it. -it’s Team Corporate vs Team Retail -Doing returns is a nightmare. -No empowered leadership. They decide everything for you, no thinking required.

    Continue reading
    Casper2020-01-29
  3. "This company is going down the drain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Casper full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, wonderful people to work with. Fun culture.

    Cons

    Senior management makes rash, thoughtless decisions and only cares about the well-being of senior management. There is no direction. Overall, huge gaps in communication. No room for career growth.

    Continue reading
    Casper2020-01-07
  4. "Great people, cool company - needs direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Casper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, big budgets, and a lot of room for testing and learning. Office is great, and the stocked kitchen is nice. Lots of happy hours and events - and Casper’s swag is the best.

    Cons

    Regularly changing direction, the company is definitely experiencing growing pains as it looks to a potential IPO, trying to balance profitability with topline revenue.

    Casper2019-12-03
  5. "Great company to work for! Weird bonus system!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sleep Specialist 

    I have been working at Casper part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of snacks, quarterly outings, big bonuses, better pay

    Cons

    bonus structure works off a random goal set with no previous history or established base

    Casper2019-11-22
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Casper full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and exciting start up environment

    Cons

    Since retail is new there are lots of growing pains that need to be figured out by corporate to properly run a retail environment

    Casper2019-10-26
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Ghosted after interviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Casper

    Pros

    Free mattress after 6 months of employment

    Cons

    I had three interviews which all went really well. During my final interview I was told I’d be notified on a decision by the end of the week. Which never came. I sent a follow up email to the recruiter, and still nothing. I completely understand if I wasn’t the right fit for the position. But it’s common courtesy to respond to a potential candidate rather than ghosting them. This was all incredibly unprofessional, and a waste of time. Setting up the interviews was like pulling teeth because the recruiter would respond so sporadically. One of the interviews was through video chat with the store manager. Who was late for the interview, and in their pajamas... in bed! The irony... Don’t waste your time with this place, very unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Casper2019-11-11
  8. "Nutty, but great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Casper full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot. Open communication from the top down. Fantastic benefits. Great people!

    Cons

    Lots and lots of meetings. Priorities constantly shifting.

    Casper2019-10-08
  9. "Okay for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sleep Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Casper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product is a genuinely good product that you feel good about recommending to customers. You also receive a good amount of free product working for the company including pillows and a mattress, the occasional branded swag items, and sometimes free products when the company launches something new. There are a few really great managers in this company that genuinely care about their staff and store, if you find one the experience working for Casper is great. If you land a full time position you can sign up for benefits and you receive PTO and sick time.

    Cons

    This company is focused on burnout culture. They give kudos to employees that are available and working 24/7 on a public scale, instead of hiring more people. If you don’t also do the job tasks of the employee above you along with your position and don’t actively ask for more responsibility all at the same time you are treated like a bad employee. This company brags about paying their employees well enough to not have to be on commission, but in reality are paying pennies more than average retail. But at the same time expect so much more from their employees than normal retail. The sales bonuses are ok but they are pro rated based on hours so if you’re part time you won’t see much of a bonus. Most stores aren’t receiving bonuses due to not meeting goal anyway. There is little to no promotion inside the company and only happens in cases of dire need for staff.

    Continue reading
    Casper2019-10-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Started off great..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Casper full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    2 Free pillows after 1 month of employment. Free Mattress after 6 months of employment Can be a fun environment. Benefits. Bonuses.

    Cons

    At times it can feel like you are micro-managed. Sometimes you feel like you get so much praise if you make big sales but when you don't perform well it feels like you get picked on. Pay could be better... Most sleep specialist either are working a second job, looking for a second job or just looking to replace this job all together. You kinda get sucked in with the bonus. You don't want to leave before you get a bonus check because you worked so hard for it, but you are also ready to leave. Sometimes the VP sends emails with 2 sentences of praise then the rest of the email is negative. The VP is more negative then he is positive. We also get beat out by our third party retailers (Costco, Amazon, Target & QVC). Sleep specialist get directed to lie to customers (by store managers) about products that are sold outside of the store to make a sale. Honestly it just feels like high school all over again.

    Casper2019-10-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 73 reviews